Chiller and Exhaust fan linked

Share you PDE file with our community
smadascott

Chiller and Exhaust fan linked

Post by smadascott »

I am new to coding for the RA so anything new I discover gets a good 3-5min celebration lol........ :oops:

I have all my equipment for my aquarium under my stairs and when my chiller turns on I have an exhaust fan that routes the hot chiller air out of my fish room. I first set the RA to where both the chiller and the the exhaust fan were defined as ReefAngel.StandardFan() but I really wanted the exhaust fan to be more independent.... so I finally figured out that I can just have the controller look to the chiller port to see if its on and turn the exhaust fan on accordingly.

Code: Select all

//Chiller Fan
    if (ReefAngel.Relay.isMaskOn(Port1)) ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port2);
    if (ReefAngel.Relay.isMaskOff(Port1)) ReefAngel.Relay.Off(Port2);
I thought this way the chiller fan is not just functioning on the same temp gradient or definition as the chiller and can be activated by other events in the future like the fish room temp and overheat temp....

I dont know if anyone else has done this but I was quite satisfied with my meager two lines of code lol..

Can the RA interface with controllable fans through its dimming ports? If it can I would like to have my fans further control the temp of my fish room by speeding up or slowing down :)
lnevo

Re: Chiller and Exhaust fan linked

Post by lnevo »

Good job but that will only work if you manually turn on the chiller. You can use the Status function instead which will tell you the real status of that port.

Right now you are looking at the override bits to see if someone manually turn on/off the chiller.
smadascott

Post by smadascott »

Aww ok. It did work when I manually turned it on but I hadn't let it do it automatically yet. Is the Status fxn part of the Relay class? What is the proper syntax for the Status fxn?