need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Do you have a question on how to do something.
Ask in here.
Reefbound
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:54 pm

need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by Reefbound »

Hey all I'm having difficulty getting my RA to work with my two Kessil a360's, I have tried the wizard and it didn't work. All I can do is control the whites and have them turn off and on without ramping.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by rimai »

Post your code, please.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 4
Roberto.
Reefbound
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by Reefbound »

Sorry I should have done that... Here it is as loaded by the wizard.


#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <Globals.h>
#include <RA_Wifi.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <RA_ATO.h>
#include <RA_Joystick.h>
#include <LED.h>
#include <RA_TempSensor.h>
#include <Relay.h>
#include <RA_PWM.h>
#include <Timer.h>
#include <Memory.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_Colors.h>
#include <RA_CustomColors.h>
#include <Salinity.h>
#include <RF.h>
#include <IO.h>
#include <ORP.h>
#include <AI.h>
#include <PH.h>
#include <WaterLevel.h>
#include <Humidity.h>
#include <DCPump.h>
#include <ReefAngel.h>

////// Place global variable code below here


////// Place global variable code above here


void setup()
{
// This must be the first line
ReefAngel.Init(); //Initialize controller
ReefAngel.AddStandardMenu(); // Add Standard Menu

// Ports toggled in Feeding Mode
ReefAngel.FeedingModePorts = 0;
// Ports toggled in Water Change Mode
ReefAngel.WaterChangePorts = 0;
// Ports toggled when Lights On / Off menu entry selected
ReefAngel.LightsOnPorts = Port1Bit | Port2Bit;
// Ports turned off when Overheat temperature exceeded
ReefAngel.OverheatShutoffPorts = 0;
// Use T1 probe as temperature and overheat functions
ReefAngel.TempProbe = T1_PROBE;
ReefAngel.OverheatProbe = T1_PROBE;
// Set the Overheat temperature setting
InternalMemory.OverheatTemp_write( 869 );


// Ports that are always on
ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port1 );
ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port2 );

////// Place additional initialization code below here


////// Place additional initialization code above here
}

void loop()
{
ReefAngel.PWM.SetDaylight( PWMParabola(7,0,18,0,5,100,5) );
ReefAngel.PWM.SetActinic( PWMParabola(8,0,19,0,10,100,10) );
////// Place your custom code below here


////// Place your custom code above here

// This should always be the last line
ReefAngel.ShowInterface();
}
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by rimai »

Code looks good.
Did you order your controller with analog dimming?
When you plug the cable into the kessil, can you still turn the knobs and dim them with the knobs?
Roberto.
Reefbound
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by Reefbound »

Yes, Ordered with analog dimming and the Kessil cable. I am unable to control the Kessil's with the knobs when plugged into the RA. Do I have to put a check in the dimming box within the wizard or is that only for expansion module?
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by rimai »

Try this code:

Code: Select all

#include <Salinity.h>
#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <Globals.h>
#include <RA_Wifi.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <rtc_clock.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <RA_ATO.h>
#include <RA_Joystick.h>
#include <LED.h>
#include <RA_TempSensor.h>
#include <Relay.h>
#include <RA_PWM.h>
#include <Timer.h>
#include <Memory.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_Colors.h>
#include <RA_CustomColors.h>
#include <RF.h>
#include <IO.h>
#include <ORP.h>
#include <AI.h>
#include <PH.h>
#include <WaterLevel.h>
#include <Humidity.h>
#include <DCPump.h>
#include <ReefAngel.h>

byte ap, dp;

void setup()
{
  ReefAngel.Init();  
  ap=0;
  dp=0;
}

void loop()
{
  if (ReefAngel.Joystick.IsUp()) ap++;
  if (ReefAngel.Joystick.IsDown()) ap--;
  if (ap==255) ap=0;
  if (ap>100) ap=100;

  if (ReefAngel.Joystick.IsRight()) dp++;
  if (ReefAngel.Joystick.IsLeft()) dp--;
  if (dp==255) dp=0;
  if (dp>100) dp=100;

  ReefAngel.PWM.SetActinic(ap);
  ReefAngel.PWM.SetDaylight(dp);
  
  ReefAngel.ShowInterface();
}

void DrawCustomMain()
{
  char text[10];
  ReefAngel.LCD.DrawLargeText(APColor, 255, 30, 30, "Actinic");
  ConvertNumToString(text, ReefAngel.PWM.GetActinicValue(), 1);
  strcat(text,"  ");
  ReefAngel.LCD.DrawLargeText(APColor, 255, 60, 50, text);

  ReefAngel.LCD.DrawLargeText(DPColor, 255, 30, 80, "Daylight");
  ConvertNumToString(text, ReefAngel.PWM.GetDaylightValue(), 1);
  strcat(text,"  ");
  ReefAngel.LCD.DrawLargeText(DPColor, 255, 60, 100, text);
}

void DrawCustomGraph()
{
}
Move joystick up/down and left/right to increase and decrease the dimming channels.
Does the kessil respond to the dimming?
Roberto.
Reefbound
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by Reefbound »

Only responds on the white channel.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by rimai »

What happens if you invert the physical connection on the relay box?
Roberto.
Reefbound
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by Reefbound »

Not sure what you mean. Do you mean switch the connections on the kessil cable at the dimming channels on the control box?
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by rimai »

yes
Roberto.
Reefbound
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by Reefbound »

I switched connections and there was no change except when whites are put to zero the blues stay on instead of shutting down.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by rimai »

Are you saying that even with the connection inverted, the white can still be controlled and the blues cannot?
With the connection inverted, you were controlling the whites with the actinic dimming channel and before was the daylight dimming channel, right?
Roberto.
Reefbound
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by Reefbound »

Yes, Even when inverted I still can ONLY control the white channel. One way the blues will stay on and when inverted the blues will shut off. No matter which way the wires are plugged I can only control the whites, with the only difference being, one way the blues shut down and the other they stay on.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by rimai »

Do you have more than one?
Are they linked to each other?
Try disconnecting them from each other.
Can you try plugging into the other one?
Roberto.
Reefbound
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by Reefbound »

I have two Kessil a360w's, they are linked with a cable between the two. Give me a few minutes and I will try reversing the cables and try one at a time.
Reefbound
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by Reefbound »

ok, I have reversed the outputs and inputs on the lights, I have tried one light at a time and reverse the kessil cable at the relay box and no matter what I do, I am ONLY able to control the white channel.
johniii
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 8:37 am

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by johniii »

On the 360s there is only one spectrum channel. The other channel is intensity

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 4
Reefbound
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by Reefbound »

Ok Johniii, with that said, the controller should be able to ramp up and down, turn on and off and Its not even doing that... I have the lights set to be off at 1900 and they are still 100%. guess I'm going back on the timer for tonight. will try again tomorrow.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by rimai »

Is it showing 100% on the screen of RA on AP and DP?
Can you measure the voltage on the dimming channels?
Just to be sure, does the relay box has a sticker "Analog Dimming" at the bottom of the box?
Roberto.
johniii
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 8:37 am

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by johniii »

Yes. 1 channel should control color. One should go 15%-100% intensity. Do you have a multimeter? Using robertos code we can check the jack at the kessil from the ra to see if its dimming properly.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 4
Reefbound
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by Reefbound »

rimai wrote:Is it showing 100% on the screen of RA on AP and DP?
Can you measure the voltage on the dimming channels?
Just to be sure, does the relay box has a sticker "Analog Dimming" at the bottom of the box?
Yes, all are showing 100%, sticker says Analog and no I don't have a multimeter, sorry.
I have learned since last night that even using the control knobs on the a360w tuna blues you are ONLY able to control the white and the dimming, So when I hook up the RA, I can control the white just like using the control knob and I can increase or decrease the dimming. if that makes sense to you. But, as of now the RA doesn't ramp the lights on its own.


johniii wrote:Yes. 1 channel should control color. One should go 15%-100% intensity. Do you have a multimeter? Using robertos code we can check the jack at the kessil from the ra to see if its dimming properly.
Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 4

You are correct Sir. One does control color. I do not own a multimeter unfortunately. I'm going to load Roberto's code in a few minutes as I was unable to last night.
Before I do, Do any modifications need to be made to the code now that I understand how the lights are suppose to operate?
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by rimai »

I thought you had loaded the code yesterday.
Just load the code as is...
Roberto.
Reefbound
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by Reefbound »

The code is loaded as directed. Both set to 100%, reread post and when I move actinic from 100 to 10% all lights out.
When I flip wires on relay box white light fades off leaving blue on and daylight has no effect on either.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by rimai »

Good.
So one channel is supposed to change the intensity and the other channel is supposed to change the color from blue to white, just like the knobs.
Roberto.
Reefbound
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by Reefbound »

Ok with your code loaded I can only dim all using the actinic side, daylight side has no effect. When I reverse the wires at the relay box the actinic side will dim the white leaving the blue on and daylight side has no effect.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by rimai »

If the daylight side is not responding, we will need to use a meter to test it or ship it back for repair/replacement
Roberto.
Reefbound
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by Reefbound »

I can go and purchase a multimeter if you would consider walking me thru the test process.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by rimai »

Yes, what you need to do is:
Put AP and DP to 70%
Set the multimeter to measure DC voltage
Place the leads of multimeter on actinic channel pins. It should measure close to 7V
Place the leads of multimeter on daylight channel pins. It should measure close to 7V
Roberto.
Reefbound
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by Reefbound »

I just tried it again to make sure I did right and now I get 7 on one channel and between 1 and 2 on the other.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by rimai »

Ok, so definitely something is wrong with one channel.
The problem is that it will take some effort to find out if it is the head unit or the relay box.
If you are willing to troubleshoot, I'll walk you through it.
Roberto.
Post Reply