need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Do you have a question on how to do something.
Ask in here.
Reefbound
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by Reefbound »

Ok the code loaded... and is now connected to the lights and they are on. When I connected the first wire to the light controller the blues came on first then, when the second wire was plugged the whites lit so it would seem its controlling them individually. by looking at your code it looks like you have them shutting down at 1800 and 1900 this pm is that correct?
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by rimai »

Yes, I just copied the same settings you were using in your post.
Roberto.
Reefbound
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by Reefbound »

Ok, the lights did not shut down, I want to try a timing change, as in, having them start and shut down at the same time using your code. When I get up in the very early a.m. I will load the code and see what happens.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by rimai »

Start and end at the same time will produce nothing.
You need to let it run for at least a few minutes.
I'm very confused on what is happening.. :?
The wizard code should work, since everyone uses it.
I'm gonna load the code into a test controller and see what is happening.
Does the AP/DP change though the day?
Roberto.
Reefbound
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by Reefbound »

No the ap/dp show a constant 100%. When I changed the times the first time the lights ramped up perfectly but did not shut down. that was with code generated by the wizard.

Last night when it did not shut down it was almost two hours past shut down time. Do I need to wait longer ? does it need more time.
I'll wait until I hear from you before I do anything.
Reefbound
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by Reefbound »

Can it be that these a360's work differently than the 350's. The 350's have two separate channels for white and blues, whereas the 360's have a color channel and a intensity channel?
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by lnevo »

I think your libraries are screwed up or your code is getting messed up somewhere...theres no way that your lights would stay on and your ap/dp show at 100/100 when they should be off and that has nothing to do with the kessils
Reefbound
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by Reefbound »

Thanks lnevo, Do you think I should uninstall the Audrino interface,delete the folders and try reinstalling?
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by lnevo »

Certainly a good move...

Do you have wifi? We can also try manually setting the ap/dp if you do to see if its doing what it should and take the kessil out of the equation.
Reefbound
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by Reefbound »

Arduino software has been removed and files deleted, and has been reinstalled. Libraries version reports 1.0.9, Before I uninstalled I tried to check the version and nothing but red letters and numbers show in the window. What should I try next? the wizard or Roberto's last code on page six.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by rimai »

Let's try the wizard code and see what happens.
You can change the time to end in something like 10 minutes from now to see what you get.
This way we don't need to wait until the end of the day.
Like this:

Code: Select all

ReefAngel.PWM.SetDaylight( PWMParabola(7,0,9,0,12,100,12) );
ReefAngel.PWM.SetActinic( PWMParabola(8,0,9,0,12,100,12) );
I'm on PDT, so it's almost 9:00am. Change it to your appropriate time zone.
Roberto.
Reefbound
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by Reefbound »

I set them to go off at 1:15pm e.s.t and they have not gone out as of yet. 1:21
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by rimai »

and what is the ap/dp on the screen?
Roberto.
Reefbound
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by Reefbound »

100% on both.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by rimai »

Did you use military time?
Can you post the code you used?
Roberto.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by rimai »

Also, can you double check what time your controller is showing?
Roberto.
Reefbound
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by Reefbound »

here ya go. I did use military time. Looking at the controller it's showing 02:28 pm...that's weird its not military.

#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <Globals.h>
#include <RA_Wifi.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <RA_ATO.h>
#include <RA_Joystick.h>
#include <LED.h>
#include <RA_TempSensor.h>
#include <Relay.h>
#include <RA_PWM.h>
#include <Timer.h>
#include <Memory.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_Colors.h>
#include <RA_CustomColors.h>
#include <Salinity.h>
#include <RF.h>
#include <IO.h>
#include <ORP.h>
#include <AI.h>
#include <PH.h>
#include <WaterLevel.h>
#include <Humidity.h>
#include <DCPump.h>
#include <ReefAngel.h>

////// Place global variable code below here


////// Place global variable code above here


void setup()
{
// This must be the first line
ReefAngel.Init(); //Initialize controller
ReefAngel.AddStandardMenu(); // Add Standard Menu

// Ports toggled in Feeding Mode
ReefAngel.FeedingModePorts = 0;
// Ports toggled in Water Change Mode
ReefAngel.WaterChangePorts = 0;
// Ports toggled when Lights On / Off menu entry selected
ReefAngel.LightsOnPorts = 0;
// Ports turned off when Overheat temperature exceeded
ReefAngel.OverheatShutoffPorts = 0;
// Use T1 probe as temperature and overheat functions
ReefAngel.TempProbe = T1_PROBE;
ReefAngel.OverheatProbe = T1_PROBE;
// Set the Overheat temperature setting
InternalMemory.OverheatTemp_write( 869 );


// Ports that are always on
ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port1 );
ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port2 );

////// Place additional initialization code below here


////// Place additional initialization code above here
}

void loop()
{
ReefAngel.PWM.SetDaylight( PWMParabola(9,0,20,0,12,100,12) );
ReefAngel.PWM.SetActinic( PWMParabola(9,0,13,15,12,100,12) );
////// Place your custom code below here


////// Place your custom code above here

// This should always be the last line
ReefAngel.ShowInterface();
}
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by lnevo »

And its still showing 100 for both channels?? Cause one should be 12 and the other should be something else.
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by lnevo »

Can you post your r99 output?

http://www.xxx.yyy.zzz/r99

Thanks
Reefbound
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by Reefbound »

lnevo, with that loaded code from above DP:92 AP:12 and the lights don't shut down.
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by lnevo »

I still want to see the r99 output but 92/12 is good to see some change...you kept saying 100...
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by lnevo »

One of your channels control brightness and the other is for color temp...so not being shut down is ok...
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by lnevo »

Btw, where did the 12 come from...have you tried putting 0 instead? The 12 is the min dim if your drivers flicker at lower percent..i dont know if that would be an issue with the kessil
Reefbound
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by Reefbound »

Roberto, It was pleasure talking to you this evening and thank you for trying to figure this controller out. Unfortunately, I have discouraging news. AP: 0 DP: 0 and the lights are still on, all be it, very dim.
What next? should I plug them back into my timer for the night.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: need help getting kessil 360w's to work with RA

Post by rimai »

I think we will need to do what others do too.
We need to turn the ports on the relay box off so you get no power on the Kessils.
You are using it on port1 and port2 correct?
Use this in your code:

Code: Select all

ReefAngel.StandardLights(Port1,8,0,20,0);
ReefAngel.StandardLights(Port2,8,0,20,0);
Roberto.
Post Reply