New to RA, have DIY Arduino Controller, Can I use RA system?

Do you have a question on how to do something.
Ask in here.
Nate_Bro

New to RA, have DIY Arduino Controller, Can I use RA system?

Post by Nate_Bro »

Ok, so I have my own Arduino Mega system I have been using for a few years now. I want to add a few more features, and I really like how the RA community has grown and the tools/libraries that are available.

My question is can I use my arduino mega 2560 with my ethernet module and start working with the RA code, libraries, and portal? The reason I ask is, I wanted to add moon phases to my system, and stumbled on the moon phases in the RA library at GetHub. While I was browsing I noticed an ethernet library I believe is compatible with my module.

So my question is, Can I take my arduino mega 2560, and ethernet module, and take advantage of the RA system as far as code is concerned? Is the wifi module the ONLY way to get connected to the internet, and get going with the portal? So many times I feel like I am just reinventing the wheel as I spend hours/weeks/months/years writing my code.

I already have my own modules and relays and such built, but if I knew more, or could find schematics (other then just the eagle files) I think I could make a transition to the RA "platform".

Thanks for any help,

I was able to find a few projects one here that people started, but nothing I have found so far was finished.
lnevo

Re: New to RA, have DIY Arduino Controller, Can I use RA sys

Post by lnevo »

We've had a number of people using Mega's. I know Roberto has had some tips to do so. The moon library is something I took from another arduino controller code. It should take very little modification to work on your mega. The only difference being some time functions that I had to change to be compatible and an include I had to add after we went to 1.x code.