Page 1 of 1

AvrStudio 4

Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 2:22 pm
by Bryan
All:

Finally succeeded in porting over the ReefAngel project to AvrStudio 4. this hopefully gives me the ability to program/debug using the AvrStudio IDE as opposed to the Arduino which lacks any debugging tools. Baby steps anyways.

-=Bryan=-

Re: AvrStudio 4

Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 2:30 pm
by rimai
Sweet!!!
So, AVR Studio->Dragon->328P?
Are you using the RESET pin with that one wire protocol (debugWIRE)?
Now, can you really do breakpoints and line-by-line execution?

Re: AvrStudio 4

Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 2:35 pm
by rimai
I moved this thread to Tutorials.
Can you write up something on how you got that accomplished?

Re: AvrStudio 4

Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:23 pm
by Bryan
rimai wrote:Sweet!!!
So, AVR Studio->Dragon->328P?
Are you using the RESET pin with that one wire protocol (debugWIRE)?
Now, can you really do breakpoints and line-by-line execution?
Yes, hoping to be able to do some debugging, or at least try, I was not planning on using the Arduino itself, but just breadboard the RA for now. Hoping the Dragon will do the job.

Yes, the debugwire, but have to read up a little more on it as it can be a bit tricky. first step was to be able to compile and build the project(s) first. I was able to compile the RAgen examples and your RA preloaded code in AVRStudio 4.

I don't know how you guys and gals can code so proficiently with the Arduino IDE, just can not see how a large project can be accomplished without some serious debugging tools.

Re: AvrStudio 4

Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:24 pm
by Bryan
rimai wrote:I moved this thread to Tutorials.
Can you write up something on how you got that accomplished?
Sure, give me a couple day and I will post some screenshots and some references.

-=Bryan=-

Re: AvrStudio 4

Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 6:56 pm
by binder
Bryan wrote: I don't know how you guys and gals can code so proficiently with the Arduino IDE, just can not see how a large project can be accomplished without some serious debugging tools.
It's tough on my end. My programming background helps out. I don't use the Arduino IDE at all (except to upload sketches). I use my standard IDE and make the changes that way. I do a lot of testing with program flow logic and reading up on how things work....oh and the good ole "compile and upload" haha.

I am curious about how to do this...so, like Roberto, I'm excited to see screenshots and how to configure and set things up.

curt

Re: AvrStudio 4

Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 9:33 am
by Bryan
Not sure what you mean by "Standard IDE"?

I will have something up posted by Sunday.

Cheers

Re: AvrStudio 4

Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 9:41 am
by binder
Bryan wrote:Not sure what you mean by "Standard IDE"?

I will have something up posted by Sunday.

Cheers
What I mean by "standard IDE" is what I normally use when I program. I currently use Codeblocks as my IDE for writing my C/C++ applications. I use Codeblocks to manage the files but I cannot compile anything through it for Arduino....just write the code.

curt

Re: AvrStudio 4

Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 12:48 pm
by Bryan
Aah, i see, then you will certainly like AVRStudio, can write your code , compile and even upload the code to the MCU. And hopefully debug!!

Re: AvrStudio 4

Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 1:23 pm
by binder
Bryan wrote:Aah, i see, then you will certainly like AVRStudio, can write your code , compile and even upload the code to the MCU. And hopefully debug!!
The debug would be great....especially to monitor variables and expressions. :)

Re: AvrStudio 4

Posted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 2:45 am
by Bryan
Curt/Roberto:

Have the tutorial finsihed, but can't upload it as the file is too big, the smallest size I can get it down to is about 750KB.

Re: AvrStudio 4

Posted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 6:41 am
by binder
Bryan wrote:Curt/Roberto:

Have the tutorial finsihed, but can't upload it as the file is too big, the smallest size I can get it down to is about 750KB.
Is it a video tutorial or document?

If video, just post it to youtube and share the link.

I just tested attaching a zip file that was almost 1MB in size. I didn't place the file inline but did attach it and it worked fine for me. So you should be able to attach it.

If you can't figure it out, you can email me or Roberto and we'd post it for you.

curt

Re: AvrStudio 4

Posted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 1:34 pm
by Bryan
Curt:

When I upload it says I have a 256kb limit. Can you pm me with your e-mail and I will send it to you. thanks

It is a pdf file, zipped and it is just over 650kb

Re: AvrStudio 4

Posted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 1:36 pm
by rimai
I increased the size to 1M per file.

Re: AvrStudio 4

Posted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 2:25 pm
by Bryan
Thanks Roberto, will try again.

Re: AvrStudio 4

Posted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 2:30 pm
by Bryan
Added in a new post, please let me know if it works for you. Also have somehting similiar for the Eclipse IDE. Prefer it over AVRStudio, but need to read up on any debugging capability.