Page 1 of 1

0 Clue on setup process

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2012 11:59 pm
by chachew
So i have the RA+ sitting on my desk and the instructions are lacking SEVERELY. Where the hell do i begin?!?!? Relay box has power and is then plugged into the RA+ unit itself. RA+ unit has power and displays the temp from the temp prob that is plugged in. Everything else is an effin mystery. WIFI unit doesnt talk to a damn thing and if i try to upload a sketch, RA+ unit LCD flashes off then back on and then the sketch report an "Error uploading" every time.... I know its late and i need sleep but this is not user friendly at the least..... The TTL cable comes from the USB port on the PC and plugs into the far right side of the port on the bottom of the RA unit, like its pictured in the PDF correct??

Re: 0 Clue on setup process

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2012 12:27 am
by chachew
I have the usb cable from the PC to the WIFI unit, i run the WIFI attachment software, connect it to COM3 and let it detect itself. Seems to detect fine. Type in my SSID and key.....does something and i get a slow green blinking light...IP Address OK is what the documentation says..so what does that mean?!?

WIFI util says Associated: false; Authenticated: false; DHCP: false; and give me and internal ip address with port 2000

Re: 0 Clue on setup process

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2012 1:39 am
by chachew
OK, i got the WIFI setup and its working :)

For some reason my PH is not working any longer tho, i had to reset the RA+ to default settings (Restore Preloaded Code) so i think this effed the PH reading up....out of the box it was reading i think 5.99 and now it reads 6.99 even if i stick the probe in RO/DI water...is this right?

Re: 0 Clue on setup process

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2012 8:32 am
by rimai
Make sure you change the board to "Reef Angel Plus Controller" on Arduino in the menu Tools->Board.
Also, try the Reef Angel Wizard in menu Tools->Reef Angel Wizard

Re: 0 Clue on setup process

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2012 9:02 am
by chachew
I got this all worked out after noticing that the board was set to the wrong controller, that was an easy fix and then i was on my. Had the server online and controllable in no time after that. My lack of sleep wasnt helping my mood and frustration lol but its all good now!

Re: 0 Clue on setup process

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2012 10:22 pm
by psyrob
I had the same frustration level early on...hang in there, it only gets better from here!!

Re: 0 Clue on setup process

PostPosted: Sat Dec 21, 2013 10:38 pm
by kmw504
not too take over, but I am I'm in the same boat. I have a used unit and am trying to "restore preloaded code and am getting an error,I do not have "reef angel plus" for my board selections

Re: 0 Clue on setup process

PostPosted: Sun Dec 22, 2013 8:23 am
by lnevo
If you dont have the reef angel plus in your tools->board menu then maybe your install isnt good. Are you installing a generic arduino ide or the latest version from the download site on reefangel.com? I would try reinstalling fresh.