Page 3 of 3

Re: Visual Studio and the VisualMicro Arduino Plug In

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 6:40 pm
by Visual Micro
thekameleon wrote:@Tim,
the two things I was doing was editing code files and renaming a few code files. I will try to turn on the optimization and see if it works with the latest.


Okay if renaming files then the compiler cache probably wasn't clearing correctly. If you have renamed files then click "Build>Clean Solution" to clear the cache.

You can also switch on "Tools>Options>Visual Micro>Compiler>Show Build Folder". Switching this option on will give you a little extra detail when you compile. A CTRL+CLICK hyperlink will allow you to view the temporary folder that the compiler uses during an Arduino build. Deleting the TEMPORARY folder will also clear the cache but it can also be useful to have easy access to the build output and the compiled Arduino files.

Best of luck, do feel free to join the Visual Micro forum if you need any speedy help. We can't always promise to spot posts on other forums, not enough man power :)

Re: Visual Studio and the VisualMicro Arduino Plug In

PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 3:19 pm
by thekameleon
I wonder if anyone has actually tried the Visual Micro debugging experience with Reef Angel and Visual Studio

Re: Visual Studio and the VisualMicro Arduino Plug In

PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 3:31 pm
by rimai
I know one person that is using it all the time and I used it in the past too, very briefly.

Re: Visual Studio and the VisualMicro Arduino Plug In

PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 3:33 pm
by thekameleon
Even the line by line step through?

Re: Visual Studio and the VisualMicro Arduino Plug In

PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 3:43 pm
by rimai
No, I tried the variable debugging only :(

Re: Visual Studio and the VisualMicro Arduino Plug In

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 11:49 am
by Piper
cosmith71 wrote:I have it. I'm just too ignorant to get it to work. :oops:


Colin,

Any luck? I only have the Express versions of VS so I was thinking about trying Atmel Studio today. Just want to know if you made any progress.

[EDIT]
I also found this: http://playground.arduino.cc/Code/VisualStudio Going to give that a shot as well and see which one works better (or works at all) for me.
[/EDIT]

~Charlie

Re: Visual Studio and the VisualMicro Arduino Plug In

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 4:11 pm
by thekameleon
I don't think it will work with VS Express

Re: Visual Studio and the VisualMicro Arduino Plug In

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 9:35 am
by cosmith71
Piper wrote:
cosmith71 wrote:I have it. I'm just too ignorant to get it to work. :oops:


Colin,

Any luck? I only have the Express versions of VS so I was thinking about trying Atmel Studio today. Just want to know if you made any progress.

[EDIT]
I also found this: http://playground.arduino.cc/Code/VisualStudio Going to give that a shot as well and see which one works better (or works at all) for me.
[/EDIT]

~Charlie


Yes, after a re-install I got it to working. Apparently it doesn't compile the RA stuff correctly so it's only useful if you're tackling a larger project and don't mind using the Arduino software to compile. In the end I got the Arduino editor to work correctly (it was software that came with my video card causing problems) so I gave up on it. It would be way more than I would need at this point.

--Colin

Re: Visual Studio and the VisualMicro Arduino Plug In

PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2015 10:45 am
by jgwinner
PMFJI an older thread, but I've had it working with both the Express or "community" edition of 2013 along with the Visual Micro.

The editor is SO much better than the Arduino editor - intellisense, proper indenting, jump to references, I could go on and on. I'm learning a lot just by poking around the functions.

The only thing I'm unsure of right now is what programmer to use.

I get a choice of:

AVR ISP
AVRISP mkII
USBtinyISP
USBasp
Parallel Programmer
Adruino as ISP

Looking through the Reef Angel IDE, it looks like we use AVRDude. Would the other AVR's work? (wow, a lot to learn!)

== John ==

Re: Visual Studio and the VisualMicro Arduino Plug In

PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2015 1:35 pm
by rimai
You can use any if them if you have them. They are all going to use avrdude, regardless of which one you use.
If you are using the boot loader that comes with RA and the USB programming cable, it gets uploaded through mkii emulation.