AVR Studio 5

Would you like to help?
Share your walkthrough tutorial with others

Posts: 147
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 1:49 am
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:49 pm
Well, with a bit of work have been able to port over the RA code to AVRStudio 5. Will post a tutorial later this week.

Capture.PNG
Compiler Output
Capture.PNG (30.07 KiB) Viewed 3448 times
-=Bryan=-
User avatar
Posts: 2749
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2011 8:01 pm
How's the guide coming along? Is it just like AVR Studio 4?

curt

Posts: 147
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 1:49 am
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2011 3:23 am
Hi Curt. Did not think anybody was interested., Can certainly post something up for you in a couple days, Although I think AvrStudio 4 is more stable for development purposes. Think version 5 is a little too buggy.
-=Bryan=-
User avatar
Posts: 2749
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2011 6:30 am
Bryan wrote:Hi Curt. Did not think anybody was interested., Can certainly post something up for you in a couple days, Although I think AvrStudio 4 is more stable for development purposes. Think version 5 is a little too buggy.

Ok, cool. No worries. I just downloaded AVR 4 & 5 last night. 5 was quite a hefty download.

I'm going to play around with AVR 4 because I need to do some more optimization's with the code and figure out where some of my problems are at.

Yeah, MOST people won't want to mess with this. This seems to be more of an advanced usage/topic. In fact, it probably primarily applies to Roberto & myself.

So don't worry about posting anything for 5 unless you absolutely want to.

curt

Posts: 147
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 1:49 am
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2011 3:45 am
Hi Curt:

Give me a week and I will get the Studio 5 tutorial uploaded, although for serious stuff I think 4 is more stable. Going to try some debugging with the Dragon and see how it fares. Apparently not that great with C++, but better than nothing. One good thing about Studio4 and 5 is you can tweak the optimizations a bit to cram more code into the 328. I can easily get the LED PWM and WIFI code compiled and flashed to the 328 where the Arduino IDE can't..too big.

In the meantime let me know if you need any assistance in getting RA running on version 4. No expert but think I can get you in the right direction<g>
-=Bryan=-
User avatar
Posts: 2749
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2011 5:23 am
ok cool. No rush on getting 5 going...i still have lots of other stuff to do and was looking into getting eclipse working since i run linux as my main machine.

curt

Posts: 147
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 1:49 am
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2011 2:30 pm
Curt:

Done eclispe as well :) , and it worked, although no debugging tools. Here is a tutorial that I followed, pretty much sums it up.

http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,62094.0.html
-=Bryan=-

Posts: 147
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 1:49 am
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2011 2:35 pm
Forgot to mention. This link has some very good info on the use of various flags to optimize the compiling and linking in avr-gcc. Can really save on code size. Unfortunately Arduino does not allow you to modify the flags from within the IDE, but I have read somewhere that the makefile can be modified, so that may be a avenue to pursue.

http://www.tty1.net/blog/2008-04-29-avr-gcc-optimisations_en.html
-=Bryan=-

Posts: 147
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 1:49 am
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 2:49 am
Curt:

Any luck in your quest to get RA code to compile in Eclipse?
-=Bryan=-
User avatar
Posts: 2749
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 5:47 am
Bryan wrote:Curt:

Any luck in your quest to get RA code to compile in Eclipse?

Haven't tried yet. I started to get Eclipse setup and I believe I downloaded the plugins and got most of it setup just never imported my project in. I got side tracked working on the design for ragen2....well at least part of it. Mostly working on a status application for communicating with the controller. That program will be using the same cross-platform style as ragen2 and will also be bundled with ragen2.

So this is a little low on my priority list. Plus I've been on vacation all this week.

curt
Next

Return to Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron