Documentation

Would you like to help?
Share your walkthrough tutorial with others

Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 12:50 am
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 10:35 pm
lnevo wrote:Yeah sorry just trying to understand the laymen's perspective. I frequently don't think about naming ports for the portal or screen than i do for usage in the code....just trying to follow the other view.


I'm on the opposite side of the fence :)


cosmith71 wrote:One way to do it would be to break it down into systems.

Relays, programming relays, naming relays, dosing pumps, etc...

DC Pumps, modes and programming.

PWM lighting

etc


That's what I was thinking. So it's easy to find an explanation and examples for the single thing a user is trying to do.

lnevo wrote:I think screen labels are generic we should have a section for naming things and break out the different kinds of naming :)


Perfect. Nice and easy for a non programmer to think in terms of "skimmer" not "port3"

It's the weekend and kids time:)
I'll go through the units and try draw up a draft of subheadings, then you guys can change it and I'll re-submit it. Give me day or 2 :D
Believe it or not.... I can ask even stupider questions than this one.

Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2013 3:21 pm
PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2015 1:42 pm
Im an normal user with some experience of programming, and Ive been spending the last two days spawning the forums for explanations how to use different functions or classes, so i think a wiki like you're talking about would be great!
Just a simple thing like knowing how to use the DCPump class, and what arguments the different modes expecting is a dreadful task to find info about. I guess its possible to find out if you know how to read and understanding the libraries, but in my case i don't understand so much :)

Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 12:50 am
PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2015 5:40 am
Here's what I was thinking.....

Been very busy so it's all I've been able to do (I did it from memory at work so I may have gotten navigation wrong :roll: ) but imagine each unit in this style, with a list as just mentioned and links to the wiki?

Do I continue? I'll obviously ensure that everything is as correct as possible.


ReefAngel

1. Head Unit

1. PH Probe

1.1 Standard Setup

The Reef Angel Controller comes standard with one PH port and a PH probe.
This allows you to moniter your PH and plot graphs via the Portal.
The probe is connected via a standard BNC connector.
Once you have applied power to the RA you should see numerical values under the “PH” heading.
The next step is to calibrate the Probe. This will ensure you get the correct PH reading and will require Stock PH solutions of PH7 & PH10 which most LFS' carry.

Push down on the HeadUnit's joystick and you will enter the “Settings” page.
Scroll down to PH calibration.
Push the joystick to begin the calibration.
Place the PH probe in the PH7 solution and let it sit until the values stabalise.
Push the Joystick
Clean the probe with some RO water
Place the PH probe in the PH10 solution and let it sit
Push the Joystick.
Clean the Probe with Some RO water.
Your PH probe is now calibrated and ready to be placed in a probe holder in your tank.

1.2 Setup for Marine tanks using PH4 & PH7 Solutions

In some areas a PH10 solution can be difficult to obtain. In this event the RAcode for PH calibration allows the user to use PH4 and PH7 stock solutions.
This will require you to enter values into the Code line, but is a very straight-forward procedure.

As before, scroll with joystick and push down on it to enter the settings page.
Select PH calibration and click begin calibration.
Place the PH probe in the PH4 solution and wait for the values to stabalise.
Write down the value.
Push the Joystrick
Clean the Probe with some RO water.
Place the PH probe in the PH7 solution and wait for the values to stabalise.
Write down the value.
Push the joystick.
Your PH will now give an eroneous reading, don't worry.

Subtract the first value (PH4 solution) from the second value (PH7 solution) which will give us the difference.
Now add this Difference value to the PH7 value you wrote down, which will give you your PH10 value.

Now all you need to do is add the following line in your code via the code editor:

Please insert correct code lines here

Now turn off the RA, plug the USB cable in and upload the code.
The PH probe is now calibrated and should give you correct values.

1.3 Commonly requested PH code:

I need to see if this is a valid Title
Do guys use the RA for CO2 Reactors?

1.4 Helpful links:

1.4.1. Connecting your computer to the Reef Angel
1.4.2. The code editor
1.4.3. PH Expansion unit
Believe it or not.... I can ask even stupider questions than this one.

Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 12:50 am
PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2015 5:44 am
Jim_J wrote:Im an normal user with some experience of programming, and Ive been spending the last two days spawning the forums for explanations how to use different functions or classes, so i think a wiki like you're talking about would be great!
Just a simple thing like knowing how to use the DCPump class, and what arguments the different modes expecting is a dreadful task to find info about. I guess its possible to find out if you know how to read and understanding the libraries, but in my case i don't understand so much :)


I think we're in the same boat.
And if we do it in a manual style as above I think a guy who has never seen code in his life will be less intimidated.
Believe it or not.... I can ask even stupider questions than this one.
User avatar
Posts: 1426
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City
PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2015 6:26 am
On the pH calibration, make sure you add to move the joystick to the OK button before you press the button in. It defaults to cancel.

--Colin

Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 12:50 am
PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2015 6:57 am
No problem, I'll check all that sort of stuff properly, but as a style of doing documentation are you happy with me to continue? And the more people that can proof read the better.
Believe it or not.... I can ask even stupider questions than this one.

Posts: 12201
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2015 9:24 am
I like it :) I think you are in for a good start!!!
1.2 is actually much easier than that using the new libraries.
If you move the joystick to right until it reaches the pH number (7 or 10 by default), you can change it to whatever value you wish :)
Give it a try.
Roberto.

Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2013 3:21 pm
PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2015 4:10 pm
Looking good Naptalene! Thumbs up :)

Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 12:50 am
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2015 5:15 am
Ok great.
I'll upload the new libraries :oops:
Believe it or not.... I can ask even stupider questions than this one.

Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 12:50 am
PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2015 3:06 am
wow, there's a lot of stuff :shock:

Can you guys please advise on the following,
I wanted to start laying out individual dcpump Flow types and give a brief explanation of the number values.So I went into the Wizard, selected each pattern one at a time and saved that code so I could cut'npaste your legitimate code.

Here is one:


Code: Select all
void loop()

{

ReefAngel.DCPump.UseMemory = false;

ReefAngel.DCPump.SetMode( ShortPulse,50,10 ); // type, PumpSpeed in %, duration in milliseconds

ReefAngel.DCPump.DaylightChannel = Sync;

ReefAngel.DCPump.ActinicChannel = AntiSync;

////// Place your custom code below here


}


Questions.....

1.)

If I go to this link

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=2844

You guys mention pulse minimum/maximum speeds etc. Am I correct that those values are part of the library for "ShortPulse" and if I just want pulses I don't need that stuff - it's already embedded when I call "Short Pulse"?
So for what is essentially my "Idiots guide" front section I'll skip those and give the basic functions.
We can create a dedicated section for that info at the end as a proper referance document (be it as a wiki or whatever)

2. If I go on my Apple App there are the following modes that I can't create code for via the Wizard:

Storm
Custom
Constant
Lagoon

I'd like to be able to format/give the descriptions for them. Can someone direct me to or supply a simple code as per the above layout for them please?
Believe it or not.... I can ask even stupider questions than this one.
PreviousNext

Return to Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests