Web Banners

Would you like to help?
Share your walkthrough tutorial with others
User avatar
Posts: 2732
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2011 7:24 pm
This is the list of templates that you can choose from when you want to display your web banner for your controller. You need to configure your controller to send the data to reefangel.com first before you will be able to use the web banner templates.

NOTE: The examples are shown using Roberto's ID. When you use them yourself, you will replace ''rimai'' with your unique ID

To use, just copy the URL and replace Roberto's ID with your own ID and paste the URL on a web page or as your signature on message forums, etc.

Edit: To display the web banner, you must use an image reference and use the URL as the source. On these forums, that would look like this:
Code: Select all
[img]http://forum.reefangel.com/status/banner_6.aspx?id=rimai[/img]


Templates:
  • Code: Select all
    http://forum.reefangel.com/status/banner_6.aspx?id=rimai
    Image
  • Code: Select all
    http://forum.reefangel.com/status/banner_5.aspx?id=rimai
    Image
  • Code: Select all
    http://forum.reefangel.com/status/banner_4.aspx?id=rimai
    Image
  • Code: Select all
    http://forum.reefangel.com/status/banner_3.aspx?id=rimai
    Image
  • Code: Select all
    http://forum.reefangel.com/status/banner_2.aspx?id=rimai
    Image
  • Code: Select all
    http://forum.reefangel.com/status/banner_1.aspx?id=rimai
    Image

This topic will get updated as more templates are created and added.

curt
Last edited by binder on Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Updated to work with Portal

Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 12:45 am
Location: San Diego, CA
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2011 1:59 am
I really need to figure out the fix for the first banner to make the expansion relays show real time labels and info. Also need to harass Roberto (nicely) to make the first one in PST.
User avatar
Posts: 2732
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2011 5:52 am
alexwbush wrote:I really need to figure out the fix for the first banner to make the expansion relays show real time labels and info. Also need to harass Roberto (nicely) to make the first one in PST.


I thought it could do the PST time. I was thinking that there was something easy to add/do that makes it display PST, but I may be wrong.

The expansion relays can show realtime labels and info. In the latest code from my github account, there is code and examples for sending out the additional relay information. If you look at this thread: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=59 you will see that it's completed but not officially released yet.
Here's a link to an example of how to code it in your PDE file:
https://github.com/curtbinder/SketchBoo ... gExpansion

curt

Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 12:45 am
Location: San Diego, CA
PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2011 9:53 pm
binder wrote:I thought it could do the PST time. I was thinking that there was something easy to add/do that makes it display PST, but I may be wrong.

The expansion relays can show realtime labels and info. In the latest code from my github account, there is code and examples for sending out the additional relay information. If you look at this thread: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=59 you will see that it's completed but not officially released yet.
Here's a link to an example of how to code it in your PDE file:
https://github.com/curtbinder/SketchBoo ... gExpansion

curt


Roberto modified the main banner to be able to show PST, but to my knowledge, hasn't made any of the other banners able to display PST... including the banner with expansion modules.

Do I need to use the wifi module for your logging expansion code to work?
User avatar
Posts: 2732
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 6:17 am
alexwbush wrote:Do I need to use the wifi module for your logging expansion code to work?


Yes, the controller itself must do the updating for all of the expansion module relay data to be sent. I do not think that Dave has the client suite sending the additional relay data yet (I may be mistaken though), he will have to comment on that one.

curt

Posts: 12201
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 7:10 pm
Just add the &t=-7 for PDT or &t=-8 for PST

status/banner_3.aspx?id=reefangel&t=-7

Image
Roberto.

Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 12:45 am
Location: San Diego, CA
PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 7:18 pm
thanks roberto! I am learning a lot today! And my sincerest thanks for the controller!! I went on a week long trip across the country with no one else watching my tank and the only hitch I had was my fault (overskimmed). My fish and coral thank you as well!

Posts: 20
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 10:22 am
Location: Lompoc, California
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 6:28 pm
Silly question that I didn't want to start a whole thread for, how do we get our own ID? I am thinking it isn't as simple as creating an account on the forums, is it? Somehow I missed the instructions that explain that part.

Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 11:08 am
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 7:05 pm
Ace25 wrote:Silly question that I didn't want to start a whole thread for, how do we get our own ID? I am thinking it isn't as simple as creating an account on the forums, is it? Somehow I missed the instructions that explain that part.


just pick an ID you think that is unique to you and hope someone isn't already using it. You can test it out by browsing to one of the links provided and swapping out the "rimia" part out at the end of the url with the id you would like to use. If it's not being used, you will see a blank banner, otherwise you'll see the temp/relay values of the user who is currently using that part:

http://www.reefangel.com/status/image_style2.aspx?id=rimai << swap out the bold rimai part then copy/paste into a web browser and see what comes up.

Posts: 20
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 10:22 am
Location: Lompoc, California
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 7:12 pm
Ah, ok thanks! This whole time I was thinking I had to email Roberto or find some hidden form to register a name.
Next

Return to Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest