New System

New members questions
smcglaughn
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:00 pm
Location: Spruce Pine Alabama

New System

Post by smcglaughn »

I just got my system and hooked it up. I was careful following the instructions, I think. However I can not get my controller to communicate with my computer. It shows connected my computer but will not let me change any code. Can anyone give me some guidance?
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: New System

Post by rimai »

Can you post the error message you are getting?
Which board do you have? RA or RA+?

Sent from my Galaxy S3 using Tapatalk 2
Roberto.
smcglaughn
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:00 pm
Location: Spruce Pine Alabama

Re: New System

Post by smcglaughn »

I cant get the error code copied to paste. Here is the code I tried to enter. How do I get the error code to copy and paste?
// Autogenerated file by RAGen (v1.2.2.171), (09/24/2012 14:17)
// RA_092412_1417.pde
//
// This version designed for v0.8.5 Beta 17 or later

/* The following features are enabled for this File: 
#define VersionMenu
#define WDT
#define SIMPLE_MENU
*/


#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <ReefAngel_Globals.h>
#include <ReefAngel_Wifi.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <ReefAngel_EEPROM.h>
#include <ReefAngel_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <ReefAngel_ATO.h>
#include <ReefAngel_Joystick.h>
#include <ReefAngel_LED.h>
#include <ReefAngel_TempSensor.h>
#include <ReefAngel_Relay.h>
#include <ReefAngel_PWM.h>
#include <ReefAngel_Timer.h>
#include <ReefAngel_Memory.h>
#include <ReefAngel.h>

////// Place global variable code below here


////// Place global variable code above here


void setup()
{
    // This must be the first line
    ReefAngel.Init(); //Initialize controller

    // Ports that are always on
    ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port1);
    ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port2);
    ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port3);
    ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port4);
    ////// Place additional initialization code below here
    

    ////// Place additional initialization code above here
}

void loop()
{
    // Specific functions that use Internal Memory values
    ReefAngel.Wavemaker1(Port5);
    ReefAngel.Wavemaker2(Port6);
    ReefAngel.StandardHeater(Port7);
    ReefAngel.StandardLights(Port8);
    ////// Place your custom code below here
    

    ////// Place your custom code above here

    // This should always be the last line
    ReefAngel.ShowInterface();
}

rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: New System

Post by rimai »

You need to use shortcut key to copy.
Select the text and use Ctrl+C.

Sent from my Galaxy S3 using Tapatalk 2
Roberto.
smcglaughn
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:00 pm
Location: Spruce Pine Alabama

Re: New System

Post by smcglaughn »

I have the RA
smcglaughn
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:00 pm
Location: Spruce Pine Alabama

Re: New System

Post by smcglaughn »

The following features were automatically added:
Watchdog Timer
Version Menu

The following features were detected:
Simple Menu
In file included from RA_092412_1538.cpp:30:
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:86: error: 'ParamsStruct' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:88: error: 'RA_NokiaLCD' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:89: error: 'RA_JoystickClass' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:90: error: 'LEDClass' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:92: error: 'RA_ATOHighClass' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:93: error: 'RA_ATOLowClass' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:94: error: 'RA_TempSensorClass' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:95: error: 'RelayClass' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:133: error: 'TimerClass' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:302: error: 'Total_Menus' was not declared in this scope
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:303: error: 'Total_Menus' was not declared in this scope
RA_092412_1538.cpp: In function 'void setup()':
RA_092412_1538.pde:-1: error: 'class ReefAngelClass' has no member named 'Relay'
RA_092412_1538.pde:-1: error: 'Port1' was not declared in this scope
RA_092412_1538.pde:-1: error: 'class ReefAngelClass' has no member named 'Relay'
RA_092412_1538.pde:-1: error: 'Port2' was not declared in this scope
RA_092412_1538.pde:-1: error: 'class ReefAngelClass' has no member named 'Relay'
RA_092412_1538.pde:-1: error: 'Port3' was not declared in this scope
RA_092412_1538.pde:-1: error: 'class ReefAngelClass' has no member named 'Relay'
RA_092412_1538.pde:-1: error: 'Port4' was not declared in this scope
RA_092412_1538.cpp: In function 'void loop()':
RA_092412_1538.pde:-1: error: 'Port5' was not declared in this scope
RA_092412_1538.pde:-1: error: 'Port6' was not declared in this scope
RA_092412_1538.pde:-1: error: 'Port7' was not declared in this scope
RA_092412_1538.pde:-1: error: 'Port8' was not declared in this scope
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: New System

Post by rimai »

Looks like you got your libraries messed up somehow.
I'd recommend deleting the folder "Documents\Arduino" and reinstalling the RA Installer software to restore the original libraries files.
Roberto.
smcglaughn
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:00 pm
Location: Spruce Pine Alabama

Re: New System

Post by smcglaughn »

I deleted the "Documents\Arduino" and reinstalled the RA Installer software. I tried loading more code and got this error message.

The following features were automatically added:
Watchdog Timer
Version Menu

The following features were detected:
Simple Menu
In file included from sketch_sep24a.cpp:6:
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\NokiaLCD/NokiaLCD.h:5:22: error: WProgram.h: No such file or directory
In file included from sketch_sep24a.cpp:7:
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:88: error: 'RA_NokiaLCD' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:89: error: 'RA_JoystickClass' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:90: error: 'LEDClass' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:92: error: 'RA_ATOHighClass' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:93: error: 'RA_ATOLowClass' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:94: error: 'RA_TempSensorClass' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:95: error: 'RelayClass' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:133: error: 'TimerClass' does not name a type
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:302: error: 'Total_Menus' was not declared in this scope
C:\Users\SteveO\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ReefAngel/ReefAngel.h:303: error: 'Total_Menus' was not declared in this scope
sketch_sep24a.cpp: In function 'void loop()':
sketch_sep24a:13: error: 'class ReefAngelClass' has no member named 'LED'
sketch_sep24a:15: error: 'class ReefAngelClass' has no member named 'LED'
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: New System

Post by rimai »

What OS are you using?
Did you download the latest Reef Angel Installer from the website?
You seem to be using outdated/wrong libraries still.
Roberto.
smcglaughn
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:00 pm
Location: Spruce Pine Alabama

Re: New System

Post by smcglaughn »

Windows 7. I went to the top of the page and downloaded it straight from the website.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: New System

Post by rimai »

I'm sorry... I didn't read your code correctly.
Can you please use the Reef Angel Wizard to generate new codes?
The RAGen is an old application and should not be used anymore. It has been deprecated and will be removed from the installer too.
Use menu Tools->Reef Angel Wizard
Roberto.
smcglaughn
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:00 pm
Location: Spruce Pine Alabama

Re: New System

Post by smcglaughn »

All I get is a welcome screen with this on it. Nothing else. No place to click to continue nothing.

Welcome to the Reef Angel Wizard. I'm going to walk you through the whole process of generating a code for your Reef Angel Controller. Version: 2.1.0.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: New System

Post by rimai »

RA-Wizard.jpg
RA-Wizard.jpg (10.95 KiB) Viewed 5618 times
You don't see the buttons at the bottom?
Roberto.
smcglaughn
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:00 pm
Location: Spruce Pine Alabama

Re: New System

Post by smcglaughn »

No. It will not let me scroll down either?
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: New System

Post by rimai »

Are you using a small screen resolution?
Roberto.
smcglaughn
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:00 pm
Location: Spruce Pine Alabama

Re: New System

Post by smcglaughn »

I only have 2 choices on resolution and both are cutting off the bottom of the page. When I try to drag the screen up to see the bottom it won't let me.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: New System

Post by rimai »

What screen resolution are you using?
Roberto.
smcglaughn
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:00 pm
Location: Spruce Pine Alabama

Re: New System

Post by smcglaughn »

1024X600 I can change it to 800X600 those are my only choices.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: New System

Post by rimai »

Yeah, you won't be able to use the Wizard at this resolution.
I can generate the code for you if you tell me what you would like to do.
Roberto.
smcglaughn
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:00 pm
Location: Spruce Pine Alabama

Re: New System

Post by smcglaughn »

I Aappreciate the help but I still think I have a communication issue. What I want on my code is: ports 1 through 4 always on. Port 5 &
6 wavemakers. Port 7 heater. Port 8 refugium light on at 5pm off at 1 pm. Thanks.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: New System

Post by rimai »

What is the heater temperature?
Roberto.
smcglaughn
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:00 pm
Location: Spruce Pine Alabama

Re: New System

Post by smcglaughn »

76 degrees.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: New System

Post by rimai »

Try this code.
It should compile at least and if you are indeed having problems uploading, the error code will be different.

Code: Select all

#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <Globals.h>
#include <RA_Wifi.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <RA_ATO.h>
#include <RA_Joystick.h>
#include <LED.h>
#include <RA_TempSensor.h>
#include <Relay.h>
#include <RA_PWM.h>
#include <Timer.h>
#include <Memory.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_Colors.h>
#include <RA_CustomColors.h>
#include <AI.h>
#include <RF.h>
#include <IO.h>
#include <ORP.h>
#include <Salinity.h>
#include <PH.h>
#include <WaterLevel.h>
#include <ReefAngel.h>


////// Place global variable code below here


////// Place global variable code above here


void setup()
{
    // This must be the first line
    ReefAngel.Init(); //Initialize controller

    // Ports that are always on
    ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port1);
    ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port2);
    ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port3);
    ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port4);
    ////// Place additional initialization code below here
    

    ////// Place additional initialization code above here
}

void loop()
{
    // Specific functions that use Internal Memory values
    ReefAngel.Wavemaker(Port5,60);
    ReefAngel.Wavemaker(Port6,120);
    ReefAngel.StandardHeater(Port7,757,763);
    ReefAngel.StandardLights(Port8,17,0,13,0);
    ////// Place your custom code below here
    

    ////// Place your custom code above here

    // This should always be the last line
    ReefAngel.ShowInterface();
}

Roberto.
smcglaughn
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:00 pm
Location: Spruce Pine Alabama

Re: New System

Post by smcglaughn »

That worked. Thanks for your help. What program can I use to see on my computer what information is stored on the controller? I tried Reef Angel Client but it doesn't seem to be working?
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: New System

Post by rimai »

Oh, the Client needs one line to be added to your code.
Use this:

Code: Select all

#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <Globals.h>
#include <RA_Wifi.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <RA_ATO.h>
#include <RA_Joystick.h>
#include <LED.h>
#include <RA_TempSensor.h>
#include <Relay.h>
#include <RA_PWM.h>
#include <Timer.h>
#include <Memory.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_Colors.h>
#include <RA_CustomColors.h>
#include <AI.h>
#include <RF.h>
#include <IO.h>
#include <ORP.h>
#include <Salinity.h>
#include <PH.h>
#include <WaterLevel.h>
#include <ReefAngel.h>


////// Place global variable code below here


////// Place global variable code above here


void setup()
{
    // This must be the first line
    ReefAngel.Init(); //Initialize controller
    ReefAngel.AddWifi();

    // Ports that are always on
    ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port1);
    ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port2);
    ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port3);
    ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port4);
    ////// Place additional initialization code below here
    

    ////// Place additional initialization code above here
}

void loop()
{
    // Specific functions that use Internal Memory values
    ReefAngel.Wavemaker(Port5,60);
    ReefAngel.Wavemaker(Port6,120);
    ReefAngel.StandardHeater(Port7,757,763);
    ReefAngel.StandardLights(Port8,17,0,13,0);
    ////// Place your custom code below here
    

    ////// Place your custom code above here

    // This should always be the last line
    ReefAngel.ShowInterface();
}

Roberto.
smcglaughn
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:00 pm
Location: Spruce Pine Alabama

Re: New System

Post by smcglaughn »

I added this and it was successfully installed. However i am still not getting data to show up on the client. It does work through the USB??
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: New System

Post by rimai »

Yes, it works through USB.
You need to select the correct COM port though.
Go to menu Settings->Modify->General and open the dashboard.
Make sure you pick the same COM port you use to upload codes to RA.
Roberto.
smcglaughn
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:00 pm
Location: Spruce Pine Alabama

Re: New System

Post by smcglaughn »

That got it. Thanks.
smcglaughn
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:00 pm
Location: Spruce Pine Alabama

Re: New System

Post by smcglaughn »

I got calibration solutions for my PH probe. 7 PH and 10 PH. Originally my probe showed 1.42. Obviously wrong. My tanks is staying at 76 degrees and my Salinity is 1.025. I tried to calibrate the probe. I followed the instructions and the used the 7 solution. then moved to the 10 solution. As soon as I hit okay. I went back to the home screen. With the probe still in the 10 PH solution the PH meter is only reading 6.99. I cleaned the probe with RO water and put it in the Aquarium and it still reads 6.99. I put it back in the 10 PH solution and it still reads 6.99. Is my probe bad?
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: New System

Post by rimai »

What were the numbers you had when doing the calibration?
Roberto.
Post Reply