BuildMyLED light compatability with RA?

New members questions

Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 1:46 pm
PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2013 12:02 am
I am going to be possibly upgrading my light to a light from buildmyled.com and they have the option for manual dimming switch, I am wondering if this light is compatible with RA.
Last edited by Squishie89 on Mon May 20, 2013 8:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Posts: 5348
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2013 1:51 am
I believe it uses an analog dimming so as long as you get that model you should be fine.

Posts: 12226
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2013 1:26 pm
I'm looking at this page:
http://www.buildmyled.com/custom-reef-spectrum/
It says 0-10V dimming, so the analog dimming signal works for you.
Roberto.

Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 1:46 pm
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2013 2:30 pm
So I do not need to get the manual dimmer addition?

Posts: 12226
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2013 5:30 pm
I don't think so. I think they are only meant for when you don't have a controller and want to dim manually.
You better ask the manufacturer to confirm.
Roberto.

Posts: 471
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 2:08 pm
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2013 7:42 pm
Squishie, you have the PWM relay box, not the analog. Roberto, can I swap one of my analog boxes for her PWM with no consequences? Do we need any extra cables that may not have been standard with the unit?
Roscoe's Reefs - Starting Over Again:

Building new 29g Nano after landlord went berserk over my 4 75 gallon tanks, Multiple RA's, Water mixing stations, etc. Your help welcomed in remembering all I've forgotten.

Posts: 12226
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2013 8:09 pm
Yeah, you can swap them without any problems.
Roberto.

Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 1:46 pm
PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 7:56 pm
Okay so I bought 2 of the light fixtures. I bought- http://www.buildmyled.com/14000k-custom-reef-spectrum/ and http://www.buildmyled.com/super-actinic . What do I need to make these work with my controller? Is it an issue using 2 dimmable fixtures on one controller with 1 relay box? What is going on with this switch? Is this a simple re-upload the code and re-plug in everything?
I need help with the coding for the lights. I want the 14k light on from 2-10pm at 100% and I would like to use the sunrise and sunset effects as well with these lights. Or I am open to suggestions for the lighting.
I apologize for still being so new to this that I need so much help, I appreciate all the assistance.

Posts: 12226
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 8:39 pm
I don't see any problems with connecting 2 fixtures on the same box.
What kind of drivers do they use?
Roberto.

Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 1:46 pm
PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 8:59 pm
I could not find an answer so I asked. Will reply when I get an answer about that.
Next

Return to For New Members

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron