BuildMyLED light compatability with RA?

New members questions

Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 1:46 pm
PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 4:21 pm
This is all I got as far as an answer, " The drivers need a 0-10V analog control signal to dim the lights."

Posts: 12188
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 4:28 pm
LOL... We already knew that.
I don't see any information on how to interface with the unit.
Roberto.

Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 1:46 pm
PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 4:34 pm
I will be happy to ask them whatever is needed, if you just tell me what to say/ask, I will relay it to them.

Posts: 53
Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 2:27 am
PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 4:44 pm
From your link you posted


Product Features
- 0-10V Dimming Compatible Driver
- IP66 Waterproof Rating
- CE Safety Certification & RoHS Compliant
- Built-to-Order in the USA
- 3 Year Warranty
- Innovative 'T-Rail' for Unlimited Mounting Options
- Return within 30 Days for Full Refund
- System Includes:
LED fixture/power supply/8' cord/plug/mounting brackets
Image

Posts: 235
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 11:49 am
PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 5:46 pm
Looks like you could take a stereo connector and cut the opposite ends off and connect to the Reef Angel..
Heres a link they sell for the Apex
http://www.buildmyled.com/apex-dimming-cable/
Image

Posts: 53
Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 2:27 am
PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 11:35 pm
guess the real question is where power and grnd go...
Image

Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 12:45 pm
PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 1:14 pm
I have been looking at the BuildMyLED lights and was wondering of you got these running without any issues? Did you end up having to make your own cable or were you able to find the right one? For example, I was just wondering of the Aqua Illumination cable on the orders page might actually work for the BuildMyLED lights.

Posts: 12188
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 1:29 pm
I think the manufacturer has them.
I sent them one RA and they have used it for their tests and I think they were going to make one cable
Roberto.

Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 1:46 pm
PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 7:13 pm
cgravelle wrote:I have been looking at the BuildMyLED lights and was wondering of you got these running without any issues? Did you end up having to make your own cable or were you able to find the right one? For example, I was just wondering of the Aqua Illumination cable on the orders page might actually work for the BuildMyLED lights.

They did make me a cable (and they told me they would be making them for sale). However, I have a digital outlet box, so I borrowed an analog box, still could not get it to work, probably would need to change my coding to analog instead of digital or something like that. (To go a bit further on what would not work; the light would connect to the wire and to the box, but it was really dim, as if stuck at a low setting, I have no idea if this is a coding problem or a wire problem or what kind of problem). I gave up. I bought 2 of the manual dimming switches for when I need to dim the lights due to new corals that need acclimating. As of now, I don't need my lights to slowly dim with all of those cool settings you can do.
I don't think the apex cable will work because there is no slot on the RA boxes for a connector like that.
User avatar
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL
PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 8:35 pm
I was looking at these lights too and I think if you cut off the RJ-45 connector you can connect it to the screw down terminals of the RA dimming modules. I've tried contacting the guys at BuilidMyLed and did not get that great help.

I got one reply and that was after I called up and asked to speak to someone.
When they responded I wrote back with another question and never got a reply from them.
PreviousNext

Return to For New Members

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests