New to RA, Question on Modifying Menus

New members questions
ufgators2k

Post by ufgators2k »

I am new to RA and have already been impressed by the support on this forum. I have recommended these units to my friends even before I hooked it up just based on the responses.

But now to my questions...

I have two ports, the skimmer and fuge light, that I'd like to be able to manually turn on/off from the controller. Is there a quick way to add that type of control?

Second,

If you hard code the on/off times for the lights using the Wizard (on Mac) the menu items for lights does not show the values in the code, but in the memory. I know it functions after hooking it up but is this normal?
rimai

Re: New to RA, Question on Modifying Menus

Post by rimai »

We can do the on/off for your skimmer and lights by using custom menus.
http://forum.reefangel.com/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=311
If you have the wifi attachment, you can use any of the apps to accomplish this task and you won't need to do anything to your code. We have smart phone apps, Java Status app, Portal, web commands and on Windows we have the Client.
Yes, if you hard code the settings, they can only be changed by uploading your code again.
If you go with the internal memory settings, you can also change the settings using the android app, Java Status app, Portal, web commands and on Windows you can do it on the Client too, but you will also need the wifi attachment.
If you do not have the wifi attachment and still want to use internal memory, you can add this to the setup() section of your code:

Code: Select all

ReefAngel.AddStandardMenu();
This will put the complete version of the menu, but it uses up more memory too.
Roberto.
ufgators2k

Post by ufgators2k »

Roberto,

Thanks for the reply. I currently don't have the WiFi attachment (should have bought it!) and I have a Mac (no client software - WE NEED THIS!!!!!). Do you just use the simple menu with the remote apps?