How to setup your wifi attachment

New members questions

Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 6:54 am
PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2016 7:57 am
Thank you Roberto, I've deleted the old profile and created a new one with the same results. I may have to do something with my wifi modem to recognize the RA-wifi. Under the wife status in the image posted above, its says:
DHCP:false and shows the ip address as 0.0.0.0

When I go into the modem, I see the RA-wifi is assigned 192.168.0.11, Do I need to set up port forwarding? I, of course, don't know how to do this. Thanks again,
David

Posts: 12043
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:24 am
You will eventually, but before that, you should be able to access the controller from inside your wifi network.
When you browse to http://192.168.0.11:2000/wifi delete all profiles and hit refresh.
What happens?
Roberto.

Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 6:54 am
PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2016 9:02 am
Thank you Roberto. OK! I have status! Temp and pH show up! So far so good!

Posts: 12043
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2016 9:58 am
Good. That means that you are getting access to your controller inside your own wifi.
Now, if you also want to have control when outside your wifi, you will need to setup port forwarding in your router.
Routers block access by default. All routers do as they treat any incoming access as malicious. So, you need to tell the router that when you come in through port 2000, you want to get access to your controller and that's when port forwarding comes in.
Roberto.

Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 6:54 am
PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2016 9:11 am
I think we're good on the local and outside network, thank you! I currently only have the temp probe and pH probe installed. On the status page, data reads exactly what's on the controller screen, however when I click on the pH or Temp number, the graph displayed are way off in temp/pH values. I have calibrated the pH probe. Any thoughts there? You have already been most helpful, thanks again.

Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 6:54 am
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 7:28 pm
sophie10 wrote:I think we're good on the local and outside network, thank you! I currently only have the temp probe and pH probe installed. On the status page, data reads exactly what's on the controller screen, however when I click on the pH or Temp number, the graph displayed are way off in temp/pH values. I have calibrated the pH probe. Any thoughts there? You have already been most helpful, thanks again.


Can someone tell me why the graph is lagging by 2 or 3 days and is not accurate? According to the status pH when I've checked, it hasn't been above 8.35, and is showing an impossible reading of 10.23? :o The temperature is equally inaccurate on the graph, but fine on the status. Any thoughts are appreciated. :D

Posts: 12043
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 7:34 pm
Are you sure you have the controller setup correctly?
Do you have this in your code?
Code: Select all
ReefAngel.Portal("sophie10");

There is no data in your portal.
Roberto.

Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 6:54 am
PostPosted: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:18 am
Hi Roberto,
I thought I set it up correctly. I set it up using the pre-loaded settings and then had you help me set up the wifi. Attached is a current image of the graph display, the current pH is actually 8.22 and has fluctuated between 8.19 and 8.33 over the last two weeks, but look at the graph (from almost pH 10 dropping to 7.8)! Thanks and happy holidays!
Attachments
Untitled copy.jpg
Untitled copy.jpg (39.01 KiB) Viewed 2085 times

Posts: 12043
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Fri Dec 23, 2016 10:28 am
The preloaded code is not customized.
You need to generate a code with the wizard to be able to customize your controller to you and add your forum integration.
Otherwise the controller doesn't send information to the portal.
Roberto.

Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 6:54 am
PostPosted: Fri Dec 23, 2016 12:14 pm
Well that would explain a lot. I will investigate. Thank you!
PreviousNext

Return to For New Members

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest