White LCD screen....

New members questions
Post Reply
baroutas
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:21 pm
Location: GREECE-HELLAS
Contact:

White LCD screen....

Post by baroutas »

ΗΙ!! Τoday, after 3 months (the RA it was out of work) i try to upload the preloaded code. After the uploading the RA looks dont work and the LCD is White. I must say tha i give power to the head unit whith the cable and not with relay box. Any ideas???
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: White LCD screen....

Post by rimai »

Try uninstalling the Reef Angel Installer, download a fresh copy and install again.
Then upload the code once again.
Roberto.
baroutas
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:21 pm
Location: GREECE-HELLAS
Contact:

Re: White LCD screen....

Post by baroutas »

I do, but nothing, do not upload the code. I try from second PC, upload the code but steel the LCD is dead- white (some time have color dot).
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: White LCD screen....

Post by rimai »

Was it working before you uploaded the code?
Roberto.
baroutas
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:21 pm
Location: GREECE-HELLAS
Contact:

Re: White LCD screen....

Post by baroutas »

Yes it was! Now sow me that the code uploaded but LCD is White after uploading. What is the step to reboot the head unit?
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: White LCD screen....

Post by rimai »

Is it working with just the LCD white?
Roberto.
baroutas
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:21 pm
Location: GREECE-HELLAS
Contact:

Re: White LCD screen....

Post by baroutas »

I dont know if working. I have not conect the head unit with relay box yet. I haw the RA disconected for 3-4 months and yesterday i try to upload ( with USB power cable) the preloaded code. from tha moment the LCD sceen is white and some times looks like has color pixels.
baroutas
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:21 pm
Location: GREECE-HELLAS
Contact:

Re: White LCD screen....

Post by baroutas »

How can i chek the LCD screen? Is it possible that it didn't upload all the files the first time and stuk? If yes, can i reboot the head unit and how?
Also Ι conect the head unit with rellay box and i hear to open and close the rellay (probably works OK)!!
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: White LCD screen....

Post by rimai »

The controller is reset everytime you upload codes and erases the previous code.
Open Serial Monitor on Arduino and make sure you set 57600 baud and Both NL & CR.
Then, type this:

Code: Select all

GET /mb336 HTTP
What do you get back?
Roberto.
baroutas
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:21 pm
Location: GREECE-HELLAS
Contact:

Re: White LCD screen....

Post by baroutas »

Nothing...
baroutas
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:21 pm
Location: GREECE-HELLAS
Contact:

Re: White LCD screen....

Post by baroutas »

Is it posible to hapen that:

Why doesn't my sketch start when I power up or reset the Arduino board?

Most likely because you are sending serial data to the board when it firsts turns on. During the first few seconds, the bootloader (a program pre-burned onto the chip on the board) listens for the computer to send it a new sketch to be uploaded to the board. After a few seconds without communication, the bootloader will time out and start the sketch that's already on the board. If you continue to send data to the bootloader, it will never time out and your sketch will never start. You'll either need to find a way to stop serial data from arriving for the first few seconds when the board powers (e.g. by enabling the chip that sends the data from within your setup() function) or burn your sketch onto the board with an external programmer, replacing the bootloader.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: White LCD screen....

Post by rimai »

If there was a problem with bootloader, you wouldn't be able to upload any codes.
Which RA do you have?
Roberto.
baroutas
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:21 pm
Location: GREECE-HELLAS
Contact:

Re: White LCD screen....

Post by baroutas »

I have the PWM.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: White LCD screen....

Post by rimai »

I meant RA or RA+?
Roberto.
baroutas
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:21 pm
Location: GREECE-HELLAS
Contact:

Re: White LCD screen....

Post by baroutas »

RA
baroutas
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:21 pm
Location: GREECE-HELLAS
Contact:

Re: White LCD screen....

Post by baroutas »

If we disconnect the memory batery and reconnected, sould be work?
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: White LCD screen....

Post by rimai »

Ok, so try this code:

Code: Select all

#include <Salinity.h>
#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <Globals.h>
#include <RA_Wifi.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <RA_ATO.h>
#include <RA_Joystick.h>
#include <LED.h>
#include <RA_TempSensor.h>
#include <Relay.h>
#include <RA_PWM.h>
#include <Timer.h>
#include <Memory.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_Colors.h>
#include <RA_CustomColors.h>
#include <RF.h>
#include <IO.h>
#include <ORP.h>
#include <AI.h>
#include <PH.h>
#include <WaterLevel.h>
#include <ReefAngel.h>

void setup()
{
  ReefAngel.Init();  
  Serial.println(InternalMemory.LCDID_read());
}

void loop()
{
  ReefAngel.ShowInterface();
}
Upload, open Serial monitor and reboot RA. What do you see in the window?
Roberto.
baroutas
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:21 pm
Location: GREECE-HELLAS
Contact:

Re: White LCD screen....

Post by baroutas »

I see "255".What means that?Also the LCD it remains white.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: White LCD screen....

Post by rimai »

Can you take a photo of your LCD screen board?
I want to see what kind of screen you have.
Roberto.
baroutas
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:21 pm
Location: GREECE-HELLAS
Contact:

Re: White LCD screen....

Post by baroutas »

image.jpg
image.jpg (994.21 KiB) Viewed 5107 times
baroutas
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:21 pm
Location: GREECE-HELLAS
Contact:

Re: White LCD screen....

Post by baroutas »

image.jpg
image.jpg (774.42 KiB) Viewed 4089 times
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: White LCD screen....

Post by rimai »

255 means gen1 or gen2 screens, which you do have.
0 would be for the gen3 screen.
It does look like everything is normal. I don't know what else to try. I think your screen may just be bad.
Roberto.
baroutas
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:21 pm
Location: GREECE-HELLAS
Contact:

Re: White LCD screen....

Post by baroutas »

Τhanks Roberto! I send you PM for details about the screen!
baroutas
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:21 pm
Location: GREECE-HELLAS
Contact:

Re: White LCD screen....

Post by baroutas »

Today arive the new LCD screen (Robeto send me one)! I put them on the RA board and i plug it in the power. But steel the LCD was White :( .... :?: :?: :?: Is it polsibole the problem comes from RA board???
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: White LCD screen....

Post by rimai »

Follow the instructions here to update your controller to use gen3 screens:
http://forum.reefangel.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=3111
Roberto.
baroutas
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:21 pm
Location: GREECE-HELLAS
Contact:

Re: White LCD screen....

Post by baroutas »

YES!!!!!!!It will be done!!!!Perfect!! You are the BIG ONE Roberto!!! Thanks.
Post Reply