Hacking LEDs to work with RA

New members questions

Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 11:09 pm
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2015 8:11 am
I bought a RA PWM with the intention of hacking my LEDs to work with them. While it finds it's way to me I wanted to start the planning. They're the standard Chinese LEDs. This picture is from a Euphotica 16". I also have a Aquamana that I haven't cracked open yet.

Is the procedure the same for all of them? Use pins 3/4 and bridge 1/2. Is there a way to tell from looking at the pot board if they're PWM or Analog?

Thanks!
Picture of my Euphotica

LED Bottom.JPG
LED Bottom.JPG (413.45 KiB) Viewed 3049 times
LED Top.JPG
LED Top.JPG (363.39 KiB) Viewed 3049 times
Image
User avatar
Posts: 5348
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2015 9:04 am
They are usually 0-10v analog.
User avatar
Posts: 5348
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2015 9:05 am
There's a good writeup on Facebook. Join the group Chinese Blackbox LED Proof Group

Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 11:09 pm
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2015 6:27 pm
Well I guess I can use the PWM for my Jebaos... Ok, so I'll add a dimming extension board to my list of "to buys".

And I've requested they add me.

Thanks for your help!
Image

Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 11:09 pm
PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 8:42 pm
I took a stab at it tonight. It's working perfectly with the dimming expansion module jumpered to 10V analog. Thanks Lee!
Image
User avatar
Posts: 5348
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2015 12:09 pm
Sweet welcome to the fun :)

Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 5:16 pm
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2015 11:25 pm
I plan to control 2 Chinese LED boxes and 2 Jebao RW8 (among other things eventually).
Am I right that I'll need a PWM controller, plus the dimming extension?
User avatar
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2015 5:30 am
Jeabo can be controlled analog or PWM.
You need to see what your lights take, probably analog.

The domming expansion module has jumpers in it to set it for analog of PWM, as well as 0-5 or 0-10 volts.

Sent from my SM-G928P using Tapatalk

Return to For New Members

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron