Alex's 75 gallon mostly automated tank

Talk about you and your tank/equipment
Post Reply
alexwbush
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 12:45 am
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: Alex's 75 gallon mostly automated tank

Post by alexwbush »

Added the water level expansion today! This thing is awesome!
Image
And check out the graph:
http://forum.reefangel.com/status/chart ... &filter=WL

Added some code using 2 memory slots so that I can adjust it remotely with the android app. Until the new function is available, this is how I did it...

Add this global variable:

Code: Select all

////// Place global variable code below here

byte topofflevel;

////// Place global variable code above here
And add this custom code:

Code: Select all

  /* Water level ATO
     Using memory locations:
     Location 258 (ATO Level Min Value)
     Location 259 (ATO Level Max Value)
     
     **NOTE: I am using the memory locations used on the PWM expansion module, so if you
     are using the PWM expansin module, I recommend you use another memory location.
     
     If the current water level is below the ATO Level Min Value, top off until
     you reach ATO Level Max Value, else don't.
     
     Also, if the current water level falls below the measureable amount (0) turn off
     the return and skimmer.
  */
  
  if (ReefAngel.WaterLevel.GetLevel()<topofflevel)
  {
     topofflevel=InternalMemory.read(259);
     ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port5);
  }
  else
  {
     topofflevel=InternalMemory.read(258);
     ReefAngel.Relay.Off(Port5);
  }
  // If water level equals 0, turn off return relay; else, keep it on  
  if (ReefAngel.WaterLevel.GetLevel()==0)
  {
     ReefAngel.Relay.Off(Port7);
     ReefAngel.Relay.Off(Port8);
  }
  else
  {
     ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port8);
     ReefAngel.Relay.DelayedOn( Port7 );
  }
Last edited by alexwbush on Mon Sep 24, 2012 10:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Alex's 75 gallon mostly automated tank

Post by rimai »

Pretty cool and nice mount work!!!
I didn't even bother mounting mine... lol
Mine fit really nicely between the bubble trap walls :)
Roberto.
alexwbush
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 12:45 am
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: Alex's 75 gallon mostly automated tank

Post by alexwbush »

Haha, thanks. I got a little lazy and used a float switch mount I wasn't using. It has been reborn a water level holder. Roberto, also something strange I found... I struggled using memory locations 1000 and 1001. They just wouldn't reflect in my unit when set. I had no problem when I decided to use the memory locations used on the dimming expansion. Not sure why.

Image
alexwbush
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 12:45 am
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: Alex's 75 gallon mostly automated tank

Post by alexwbush »

I've been running about a week and a half so far. Only issues I've had:
10/3 Vortech wet side magnet disconnected from dry side
10/8 Water level expansion strayed a bit. I have my friend some over and jiggle it around, works great again.

I have a friend watching the tank who knows nothing about saltwater and I'll be home to check on it in a little less than 2 weeks now.
alexwbush
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 12:45 am
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: Alex's 75 gallon mostly automated tank

Post by alexwbush »

Ok, long overdue for an update. I'll try to post pics soon!

8/19 Added a BRS dual reactor for GFO and carbon
8/19 Added a BRS bio pellet reactor
8/19 Started messing with my RA dosing pumps. I also bought the dosing kit from BRS

I am trying to figure out how to get rid of small white particles in my water column. I think I might end up having to replace the substrate in the display. It might be too fine and I think it's being kicked up by the goby and other bottom dwellers.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Alex's 75 gallon mostly automated tank

Post by rimai »

You should first figure out what they are.
Could be coming from your 2 part too, which is a bad thing :(
Low mag would cause that precipitation. Google the chemical reaction that happens when those chemical hit the water.
Roberto.
alexwbush
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 12:45 am
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: Alex's 75 gallon mostly automated tank

Post by alexwbush »

Better last than never. Updating my code. I cannot get Radions to work at this time. It's a known issue with the latest firmware on Radions. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. I just coded an auto water change where I replace ~5 gallons automatically once setup. Also updated my entire code on the first page. There are still a lot of testing lines in there edited out. :lol:

Code: Select all

    /* Automatic water change
    Trigger by Box2_Port3 (fake relay) that can be triggered by portal or RA app. Will turn on waste pump in sump is water
    level is above low sump level (memory location 340) or if waste bucket is full. Then will turn off waste pump and turn on
    fresh water pump to pump in water until sump water level is returned to normal. Meanwhile, return, skimmer, and heater
    should continue to operate normally.
    
    Utilized ports:
     Port 4       ATO: toggled off in auto water change
     Box1_Port5   Skimmer: will not exit mode unless skimmer is on (to account for lower water level when on)
     Box1_Port6   Sump light: toggled on in auto water change
     Box1_Port7   Waste water pump: Maxijet 1200 located in sump with drain hose to waste bucket
     Box1_Port8   Fresh water pump: 
     Box2_Port3   Auto Water Change trigger: fake relay box used for setting various "modes"
    
    Variables:
     WaterLevel.GetLevel(0)    Water level sensor in pump: Returns a value 0-100+
     HighATO.IsActive()        Float switch on waste bucket: Returns a value to indicate whether float switch is on bottom or floating
    
    Memory locations:
     Location 331   (ATO Level Low Value set @ 62)
     Location 332   (ATO Level High Value) (NOT UTILIZED, but could be helpful for changes)
     
     Location 340   (Water Level 1 Min Value -> Used for low water level in sump... set @ 25)
     */
    
    byte topofflevel=InternalMemory.read(332);
    byte sumplowlevel=InternalMemory.read(340);
    if (ReefAngel.Relay.Status(Box2_Port3)==1)
    {
      ReefAngel.Relay.Override(Box1_Port6, 1); //turn on sump light
      ReefAngel.Relay.Override(Port4, 0); //turn off ATO
      /* Drain waste water from sump if:
         1. Water level is above the low sump level (Location 340/"Water Level 1 Min Value")
         2. AND the ATO high level is not met (waste bucket NOT full)
         3. AND water fill is not on */
      if (ReefAngel.WaterLevel.GetLevel(0) > sumplowlevel && ReefAngel.HighATO.IsActive() && ReefAngel.Relay.Status(Box1_Port8)==0) 
      {
        ReefAngel.Relay.On(Box1_Port7); //turn on drain/waste pump
      }
      else ReefAngel.Relay.Off(Box1_Port7); //turn off drain/waste pump
      /* End waste water */
  
      /* Fill with fresh salt water if:
         1. Water level is below normal high level of autotop off (Location 332/"ATO Level High Value")
         2. AND waste pump is not on
         3. AND skimmer is on (to account for water level difference) */
      if (ReefAngel.WaterLevel.GetLevel(0) < topofflevel && ReefAngel.Relay.Status(Box1_Port7)==0 && ReefAngel.Relay.Status(Box1_Port5)==1)
      {
        ReefAngel.Relay.On(Box1_Port8); //turn on drain/waste pump
      }
      else ReefAngel.Relay.Off(Box1_Port8); //turn off fresh saltwater pump
      /* End clean water fill */
      
      /* Exit auto water change (make Box2_Port3 auto) if:
         1. Waste pump is off
         2. AND fresh water pump is off */
      if (ReefAngel.Relay.Status(Box1_Port7)==0 && ReefAngel.Relay.Status(Box1_Port8)==0)
      {
        ReefAngel.Relay.Override(Box2_Port3, 2); //auto water change back to auto
      }
    }
    
    else
    {
      ReefAngel.Relay.Override(Box1_Port6, 2); //auto sump light
      ReefAngel.Relay.Override(Port4, 2); //auto ATO  
    }
    
    
Post Reply