Page 1 of 1

finding stray voltage

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 7:01 pm
by rossbryant1956
have seen reference to using a multimeter to find stray voltage\try to figure out why my ph probe is going nuts. Can someone explain this process to me?

thx in advance

Re: finding stray voltage

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 7:47 pm
by DrewPalmer04
The meter will always read something. A better method is to unplug each component one at a time. Check pH every unplug. One device will be unplugged and then pH will increase. Thus you narrow down one by one the issue.

Re: finding stray voltage

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 8:14 am
by MDN
and remember (I learned this the hard way) it can even be something that is not on.
My problem is stray voltage from my chiller, but not thru the tank, it is some other way. It is tied the the computer and USB cable to the RA.
Start by unplugging your USB cable and see if your RA starts reading the correct PH.

Re: finding stray voltage

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 8:34 am
by DrewPalmer04
Good point about the USB too. Add to list of things to unplug and try