"Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Talk about you and your tank/equipment
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Post by Paulturner911 »

Just get the $119 relay expansion or the $89 replacement relay box?
Image
User avatar
DrewPalmer04
Posts: 818
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Christopher, IL

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Post by DrewPalmer04 »

Or use wall timers. Lol. They are just MH after all. On and off. Ya know? Whaaalllaaa two free RA Relay ports.
Out for now...but not over.

VISIT: Ethernet Module/Wifi Alternative
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Post by lnevo »

You'd need the expansion not the replacement box to get extra ports :)
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Post by Paulturner911 »

I COULD use timers...But then they wouldnt go off in Feed Mode. Im thinking about the current applied to the relay. I have also have a Coral Vue(?!?) 3lt MH150 Sunpac ballasts that only has one plug which draws 1.5 amp per ballast(4.5), I currently have on my tank 2 MH175 Advance M57 that draw 2.02 (4.04). NOW that being said, and Im no electrican by any means, wouldnt you think I was in the clear?
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Post by rimai »

Inrush is different than operating current.
If you check the ballast spec, you will see something like 30 or 40A for each ballast.

Sent from my Galaxy S3 using Tapatalk 2
Roberto.
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Post by Paulturner911 »

Inrush for the ADV M57 @ 120v is 18amps, 2 would be 36amps. What are these relays rated to? I also remember someone saying certain ports were designed for the wave maker function. Is this true that all of the relay ports are not the same?

Thanks
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Post by rimai »

16A
Yes, port 5 & 6 have dampening components to reduce inductive spike.

Sent from my Galaxy S3 using Tapatalk 2
Roberto.
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Post by Paulturner911 »

Ouch! I guess Im not even close then....Im over the capactiy now?!??!
Image
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Post by Paulturner911 »

OK I moved the MH to 7-8. Ive quickly searched for the 5-6 wavemaker pulse code. Anyone wanna offer it up? I think Im getting to where I could mold it to my application. Im not sure if I want it to turn off when the light are off or not...play it by ear. Thanks a bunch!!
Image
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Post by Paulturner911 »

Is this the code?
ReefAngel.Timer[1].SetInterval(random(15,90));
ReefAngel.Timer[1].Start();
ReefAngel.Relay.Toggle(Port5);
ReefAngel.Relay.Toggle(Port6);
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Post by rimai »

What do you want to do?
Roberto.
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Post by Paulturner911 »

rimai wrote:What do you want to do?
I would like 2 powerheads to (port 5-6) to toggle between each other at 30-180 seconds. Maybe this?

// Randomize the Timer
static time_t timer=now()+30;
if (now()>timer)
{
timer=now()+random(30, 180);
}

ReefAngel.WavemakerToggle(Port5, Port6, timer);


Would this also go where all of my standard code goes? I dont have code anywhere else that I have added.

Thanks
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Post by rimai »

Try this:

Code: Select all

ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom1(Port5,30,180);
ReefAngel.Relay.Set(Port6,!ReefAngel.Relay.Status(Port5));
You can do this with the wizard too :)
Roberto.
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Post by Paulturner911 »

Thanks!! This unit is killer!
Image
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Post by Paulturner911 »

if ( (hour() >=1) && (hour() <12) )
ReefAngel.Relay.Set(Port4, now()%900<120);
else
ReefAngel.Relay.Off(Port4);

Just checking if this translated to every 15min dose for 2min?
Image
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

"Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Post by lnevo »

Yes just keep in mind that it will be 13 minutes after the dose...if you want 15 minutes between the end of the first dose and the start of the second then you'll need to add 2 minutes to the 900...
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Post by Paulturner911 »

I understand. Im still dialing it in a bit. I ran into a cycling issue with the wavemaker and my delay for the powerheads...I just removed the line for the delay and all was well.

A Few Questions
If I want to to run from 10pm to 12pm would my time look like this
((if ( (hour() <=22) && (hour() <12) )?? Was NOT sure about this.

I would also like to maybe make the wavemaker cycle at different intervals at night. Would that look like this...
//10pm-9am Wavemaker 15min-60min Random
if ( (hour() <=22) && (hour() >=9) )
ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom1(Port5,900,3600);
ReefAngel.Relay.Set(Port6,!ReefAngel.Relay.Status(Port5));
else
ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom1(Port5,210,900);
ReefAngel.Relay.Set(Port6,!ReefAngel.Relay.Status(Port5));

ALSO!! Would this be how to do both completely random?
ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom1(Port5);
ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom2(Port6);
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Post by rimai »

((if ( (hour() <=22) && (hour() <12) )?? Was NOT sure about this
No... && means AND, so you are asking is time is less than 22 AND less than 12... Well... That doesn't make sense, right?
It should be this:

Code: Select all

if (hour()>=22 || hour()<12)
|| means OR

Your code snippet looks good.

Yes, if you use WavemakerRandom1 and WavemakerRandom2, both are going to be completely random.
Roberto.
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Post by Paulturner911 »

Thats going to take a bit of trial and error.
Could you give a good rule of thumb as to when to use && vs. ||? Is it because Im rolling between am/pm??
It seems that most of my if/then conditionals have &&. Im sure it will make sense I just need to wrap my head around it.
Image
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Post by lnevo »

It's basic logic statements...

AND or OR

So take an example a blue ball...

if (ball=blue) && (ball=round) then true
if (ball=blue) && (ball=cube) then false
if (ball=blue) || (ball=yellow) then true
if (ball=blue) || (ball=cube) then true

So AND both sides need to be true for the condition to work...
For OR only one side needs to be true for the conditional needs to be true.
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Post by Paulturner911 »

Couldnt this read && also?
if (hour()>=22 || hour()<12)
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Post by rimai »

AS I said && means AND and || means OR.
Just use them just as you were if you were doing it in plain English.
If the hour is less than 9 or hour is greater than 20 would be
if (hour()<9 || hour()>20)
Roberto.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Post by rimai »

Paulturner911 wrote:Couldnt this read && also?
if (hour()>=22 || hour()<12)
If you use and in here, the condition will never be true.
How is the hour going to be at the same time greater than 22 and less than 12??
If it's 23 hours, it's greater than 22 but it will never be less than 12.
Roberto.
binder
Posts: 2871
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Post by binder »

lnevo wrote:It's basic logic statements...

AND or OR

So take an example a blue ball...

if (ball=blue) && (ball=round) then true
if (ball=blue) && (ball=cube) then false
if (ball=blue) || (ball=yellow) then true
if (ball=blue) || (ball=cube) then true

So AND both sides need to be true for the condition to work...
For OR only one side needs to be true for the conditional needs to be true.
good example wording. we should probably create a sticky thread or document primer for coding on arduino and how the logical operators work. maybe we can collaborate and come up with something for people to use. what do you think?
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

"Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Post by lnevo »

Yeah we need that.. A doc, a stickie, or maybe a wiki. We need a good repo of snippets for some functions and some tips and tricks too... So many questions get asked answered and asked again...but alas...who has time . We need all the grateful non-coders to work on that ;)

I'm happy to help and contribute...just no time to coordinate and make it good...oh well
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Post by Paulturner911 »

I see!! I WAS seeing it like this....if it is after 10pm AND before 9am(the next day)....which just isnt how it works.

I cant thank you guys enough for getting me crawling, Ill be walking one day. I try to search for the most part of what I need and post to ask about, or if it would work for me. You guys are always there to set me straight. I speak very highly of the product and even higher of the customer service/forum.
Im currently building a new light fixture 3mh 150 w/ retrofit LED (4pwm drivers) that Ill be looking to code some sunrise/sunset and lightening on demand...so Ill be back :)
Image
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Post by Paulturner911 »

Placed just above custom code

ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom1(Port5);
ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom2(Port6);

"no matching function for call to ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom1(int)"

I thought this is how to make them completely random?
Image
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

"Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Post by lnevo »

Odd the function should be for a byte not an int.

Try just putting the number instead of PortX
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re:

Post by Paulturner911 »

lnevo wrote:Odd the function should be for a byte not an int.

Try just putting the number instead of PortX
No go same error. I guess if I can't get it completely random I could come up with some times.
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Post by rimai »

Sorry, you need to type the min and max of the random range.

Code: Select all

ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom1(Port5,10,60);
ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom2(Port6,25,90);
Roberto.
Post Reply