Page 1 of 2

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:28 am
by Paulturner911
Just get the $119 relay expansion or the $89 replacement relay box?

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 11:12 am
by DrewPalmer04
Or use wall timers. Lol. They are just MH after all. On and off. Ya know? Whaaalllaaa two free RA Relay ports.

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 11:20 am
by lnevo
You'd need the expansion not the replacement box to get extra ports :)

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 12:08 pm
by Paulturner911
I COULD use timers...But then they wouldnt go off in Feed Mode. Im thinking about the current applied to the relay. I have also have a Coral Vue(?!?) 3lt MH150 Sunpac ballasts that only has one plug which draws 1.5 amp per ballast(4.5), I currently have on my tank 2 MH175 Advance M57 that draw 2.02 (4.04). NOW that being said, and Im no electrican by any means, wouldnt you think I was in the clear?

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 12:13 pm
by rimai
Inrush is different than operating current.
If you check the ballast spec, you will see something like 30 or 40A for each ballast.

Sent from my Galaxy S3 using Tapatalk 2

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 12:50 pm
by Paulturner911
Inrush for the ADV M57 @ 120v is 18amps, 2 would be 36amps. What are these relays rated to? I also remember someone saying certain ports were designed for the wave maker function. Is this true that all of the relay ports are not the same?

Thanks

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 12:55 pm
by rimai
16A
Yes, port 5 & 6 have dampening components to reduce inductive spike.

Sent from my Galaxy S3 using Tapatalk 2

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 1:04 pm
by Paulturner911
Ouch! I guess Im not even close then....Im over the capactiy now?!??!

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 8:03 pm
by Paulturner911
OK I moved the MH to 7-8. Ive quickly searched for the 5-6 wavemaker pulse code. Anyone wanna offer it up? I think Im getting to where I could mold it to my application. Im not sure if I want it to turn off when the light are off or not...play it by ear. Thanks a bunch!!

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2013 8:24 am
by Paulturner911
Is this the code?
ReefAngel.Timer[1].SetInterval(random(15,90));
ReefAngel.Timer[1].Start();
ReefAngel.Relay.Toggle(Port5);
ReefAngel.Relay.Toggle(Port6);

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2013 9:51 am
by rimai
What do you want to do?

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2013 10:06 am
by Paulturner911
rimai wrote:What do you want to do?
I would like 2 powerheads to (port 5-6) to toggle between each other at 30-180 seconds. Maybe this?

// Randomize the Timer
static time_t timer=now()+30;
if (now()>timer)
{
timer=now()+random(30, 180);
}

ReefAngel.WavemakerToggle(Port5, Port6, timer);


Would this also go where all of my standard code goes? I dont have code anywhere else that I have added.

Thanks

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2013 10:29 am
by rimai
Try this:

Code: Select all

ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom1(Port5,30,180);
ReefAngel.Relay.Set(Port6,!ReefAngel.Relay.Status(Port5));
You can do this with the wizard too :)

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2013 10:56 am
by Paulturner911
Thanks!! This unit is killer!

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2013 4:43 pm
by Paulturner911
if ( (hour() >=1) && (hour() <12) )
ReefAngel.Relay.Set(Port4, now()%900<120);
else
ReefAngel.Relay.Off(Port4);

Just checking if this translated to every 15min dose for 2min?

"Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2013 4:58 pm
by lnevo
Yes just keep in mind that it will be 13 minutes after the dose...if you want 15 minutes between the end of the first dose and the start of the second then you'll need to add 2 minutes to the 900...

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 6:56 am
by Paulturner911
I understand. Im still dialing it in a bit. I ran into a cycling issue with the wavemaker and my delay for the powerheads...I just removed the line for the delay and all was well.

A Few Questions
If I want to to run from 10pm to 12pm would my time look like this
((if ( (hour() <=22) && (hour() <12) )?? Was NOT sure about this.

I would also like to maybe make the wavemaker cycle at different intervals at night. Would that look like this...
//10pm-9am Wavemaker 15min-60min Random
if ( (hour() <=22) && (hour() >=9) )
ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom1(Port5,900,3600);
ReefAngel.Relay.Set(Port6,!ReefAngel.Relay.Status(Port5));
else
ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom1(Port5,210,900);
ReefAngel.Relay.Set(Port6,!ReefAngel.Relay.Status(Port5));

ALSO!! Would this be how to do both completely random?
ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom1(Port5);
ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom2(Port6);

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 9:11 am
by rimai
((if ( (hour() <=22) && (hour() <12) )?? Was NOT sure about this
No... && means AND, so you are asking is time is less than 22 AND less than 12... Well... That doesn't make sense, right?
It should be this:

Code: Select all

if (hour()>=22 || hour()<12)
|| means OR

Your code snippet looks good.

Yes, if you use WavemakerRandom1 and WavemakerRandom2, both are going to be completely random.

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 12:38 pm
by Paulturner911
Thats going to take a bit of trial and error.
Could you give a good rule of thumb as to when to use && vs. ||? Is it because Im rolling between am/pm??
It seems that most of my if/then conditionals have &&. Im sure it will make sense I just need to wrap my head around it.

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 12:47 pm
by lnevo
It's basic logic statements...

AND or OR

So take an example a blue ball...

if (ball=blue) && (ball=round) then true
if (ball=blue) && (ball=cube) then false
if (ball=blue) || (ball=yellow) then true
if (ball=blue) || (ball=cube) then true

So AND both sides need to be true for the condition to work...
For OR only one side needs to be true for the conditional needs to be true.

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 1:08 pm
by Paulturner911
Couldnt this read && also?
if (hour()>=22 || hour()<12)

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 1:14 pm
by rimai
AS I said && means AND and || means OR.
Just use them just as you were if you were doing it in plain English.
If the hour is less than 9 or hour is greater than 20 would be
if (hour()<9 || hour()>20)

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 1:15 pm
by rimai
Paulturner911 wrote:Couldnt this read && also?
if (hour()>=22 || hour()<12)
If you use and in here, the condition will never be true.
How is the hour going to be at the same time greater than 22 and less than 12??
If it's 23 hours, it's greater than 22 but it will never be less than 12.

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 2:10 pm
by binder
lnevo wrote:It's basic logic statements...

AND or OR

So take an example a blue ball...

if (ball=blue) && (ball=round) then true
if (ball=blue) && (ball=cube) then false
if (ball=blue) || (ball=yellow) then true
if (ball=blue) || (ball=cube) then true

So AND both sides need to be true for the condition to work...
For OR only one side needs to be true for the conditional needs to be true.
good example wording. we should probably create a sticky thread or document primer for coding on arduino and how the logical operators work. maybe we can collaborate and come up with something for people to use. what do you think?

"Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 4:46 pm
by lnevo
Yeah we need that.. A doc, a stickie, or maybe a wiki. We need a good repo of snippets for some functions and some tips and tricks too... So many questions get asked answered and asked again...but alas...who has time . We need all the grateful non-coders to work on that ;)

I'm happy to help and contribute...just no time to coordinate and make it good...oh well

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 8:01 am
by Paulturner911
I see!! I WAS seeing it like this....if it is after 10pm AND before 9am(the next day)....which just isnt how it works.

I cant thank you guys enough for getting me crawling, Ill be walking one day. I try to search for the most part of what I need and post to ask about, or if it would work for me. You guys are always there to set me straight. I speak very highly of the product and even higher of the customer service/forum.
Im currently building a new light fixture 3mh 150 w/ retrofit LED (4pwm drivers) that Ill be looking to code some sunrise/sunset and lightening on demand...so Ill be back :)

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 3:37 pm
by Paulturner911
Placed just above custom code

ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom1(Port5);
ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom2(Port6);

"no matching function for call to ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom1(int)"

I thought this is how to make them completely random?

"Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 4:31 pm
by lnevo
Odd the function should be for a byte not an int.

Try just putting the number instead of PortX

Re:

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 6:49 pm
by Paulturner911
lnevo wrote:Odd the function should be for a byte not an int.

Try just putting the number instead of PortX
No go same error. I guess if I can't get it completely random I could come up with some times.

Re: "Entry" Level Controllable Pumps?

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 7:04 pm
by rimai
Sorry, you need to type the min and max of the random range.

Code: Select all

ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom1(Port5,10,60);
ReefAngel.WavemakerRandom2(Port6,25,90);