2 RAs in tandem + H2O Automation

Talk about you and your tank/equipment
User avatar
Posts: 5361
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 8:22 pm
Hooked up the relays tonight. Connected to the RA. Left it on high trigger. Working perfectly. PWM controller for the pump is hooked up as well. All electronics components are now in place. Oh, minus one more float switch. Plumbing, mounting, cabling still to come..
User avatar
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL
PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 8:22 pm
Good going.

Sent from my HTC One VX using Tapatalk
User avatar
Posts: 5361
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 8:33 pm
Ok I spoke to soon.. I went to hook it up again to the RA to take a video and nothing was working. I measured the output now from the PWM and I'm getting 0. Not sure what happened... :(

Relays are working fine however...
User avatar
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL
PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 8:47 pm
That sucks.

Sent from my HTC One VX using Tapatalk

Posts: 187
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 11:10 am
Location: Northern VA
PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2014 5:03 am
lnevo wrote:Got the replacement relays last night. Probably won't have time to connect and test them for a little while. Also received a delivery from Roberto. My dimming module.. so I can hack my D-120s and a salinity module so i can automate salt mixing :) I need to start working on the code for all of this soon...


Hey Lee...When you do the D120 hack, can you document w/ a lot of photos? The official thread is short on photos detailing each individual steps making it hard for non-electronics people to follow along. I can only read so much short this, short that jargon. :D
User avatar
Posts: 5361
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2014 5:12 am
Will do...not rushing into that...especially after this right now...
User avatar
Posts: 5361
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Sun Mar 23, 2014 2:29 pm
Can the salinity module be plugged in to the relay box or does it need to be isolated?

Posts: 12288
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Sun Mar 23, 2014 3:12 pm
Yes it can
Roberto.
User avatar
Posts: 5361
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2014 8:33 pm
Ok temp probe received today. Will be mixing up some salt with my RA soon :)

I have my float switches ready to go. I need to setup the pump for the RO and install the float switches. Oh and need to setup the wifi so I can monitor the change in salinity.

Once I can monitor the salinity over time I'll be able to see how quickly the salinity changes when i add salt manually and when i add water manually. This way I can figure out what the routine will look like.

I'll use 1/2 the usual salt I use to mix up 1/2 my container of SW to 35ppt. Then I'll add 1/2 of the salt remaining and monitor the salinity. I'll then add RO in increments and watch the change in salinity until I'm back to 35ppt. That should get my barrel to 3/4 full. If the high level float switch gets triggered before we get to 35ppt, i will obviously stop adding RO and send an alert. At that point, I would just need to drain some water out so it can finish up or figure out what went wrong...

I'll fine-tune the fill amounts and timing based on how quickly the salinity reacts. Add a specified amount of real mixing time and signal the AWC to resume. Then the routine will just be to add a few cups of salt every week.

BTW, this process will only happen if I trigger WC mode :) This way the salinity isn't being constantly adjusted all week long.

Sorry if I've described the process multiple times already, but talking it out in my head is helping the overall thought process.
User avatar
Posts: 5361
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2014 5:45 am
So I think I finally finished the first set of code and getting ready to load it up this weekend. In order to do what I want I've created a TimedPort class.

This is a wrapper for a relay port. You can do all the things you can do with a normal relay, but you can do a few extra things to it. You can set it up like a dosing pump by setting the Time, Offset, Repeat and then use the Run() function. What this adds over a normal DosingPumpRepeat function is built in state tracking, Pause() Resume() Start() Stop()

It has an Osc function that is similar to the APEX OSC call so if you just want a port that is on for 20 minutes and off for an hour and 40 you can do that too.

For me what I wanted was the ability to have the running schedule but be able to trigger a run or a stop when I want. I didn't want to have to do the timer in my loop or separate function every time. For instance, every time I come home and turn my fuge light on to take a look at my tank, i end up leaving the override on and then realize the next day my fuge light has been on for 24 hours...so now I can change my fuge light on to a Start(3600) and the override will be timed for one hour. Another example is my skimmer. I dose reefbooster and it needs the skimmer off for like 12 hours...i mask it off, but then I gotta remember to turn it back on. With this i can issue a call to Stop(12*SECS_PER_HOUR); and the Skimmer will now be off for that much time.

Anyway, it may sound complex but its quite easy, once I can post it, I'll write up some documentation. I haven't even tested the compile yet :)

I will also be adding a Scale function so you can specify the times in seconds, minutes, hours, or days.

The next class will be the dosing pump one. This will add calibration values, logging, and maybe millisecond scaling...have to do some more research on that one before I commit to that.

Anyway, when I'm ready to post it, I'll put up a few more use cases. If you want to help test or develop this, let me know and I'll be happy to give you an early version :)
PreviousNext

Return to You and your tank

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron