2 RAs in tandem + H2O Automation

Talk about you and your tank/equipment
User avatar
Posts: 5420
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 8:01 am
Yes, I'm positive I moved the jumpers to the low trigger side.

Right now the relay does nothing... just sits there with the lights on. No clicking anymore.. even tried with everything else removed and just plain power. Same with switching back to the high level trigger.
User avatar
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 8:02 am
Yeah, let's see if your getting a full 5V out of the dimming port.
Maybe even try a 5V walwart to make sure the relays will trigger at 5v.
User avatar
Posts: 5420
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 8:29 am
Yeah, that will be the approach moving forward as well. I need to adjust the test code I'm using on the RA so I can measure it easily enough. My main concern was that I was sharing the negative with the 24V PS and was afraid somehow 24V was going back into the RA. But if I don't connect it to that negative, then where else? Unless I don't need it for the trigger... I wish I knew more electronics...

Posts: 12507
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 8:30 am
I can't see the picture :(
Roberto.

Posts: 12507
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 8:40 am
I was able to see the picture from the link it was sent to my email though:
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/03/10/bu4ybe7u.jpg
Anyhow, what's DC+?
I think you fried the optical isolator in the relay board if it has one. You can't use the +24 in the right side. The +24 is only supposed to be connected to the left side and should not be connected to RA. That's what I think in my mind, but I would need to see how that relay board works. Do you have schematics?
Roberto.
User avatar
Posts: 5420
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 9:09 am
Yes, that's correct. I don't have schematics, I only have the description from the ebay link which I sent you a while back.

The IN on the relay is either a "High Level" or "Low Level" trigger input. You can see in the video it working fine when set to High and connecting a 24V lead to the relay. But when I switched it to low and connected the dimming wires, nothing was behaving as expected. I was trying to measure things with the multimeter I think when it got fried.
User avatar
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 9:13 am
lnevo wrote: I was trying to measure things with the multimeter I think when it got fried.

Very possible. That's very easy to do if you're no careful with the probes.

Posts: 12507
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 9:24 am
Ahhh, I just revisited the ebay link and I think your connections are good :)
You need to set the trigger to high.
Roberto.
User avatar
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 9:48 am
Why does he need to set the trigger to high it he is using 5v from the RA dimming module to trigger it?
User avatar
Posts: 5420
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 9:55 am
rimai wrote:Ahhh, I just revisited the ebay link and I think your connections are good :)
You need to set the trigger to high.


That's one thing the description isn't very clear on as far as which voltage to use for the High/Low triggers...

So to repeat what Sacohen said.. why high?
PreviousNext

Return to You and your tank

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron