Trying to see if a reef angel is right for me

Talk about you and your tank/equipment

Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 4:47 am
PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 9:42 pm
Oh okay thanks for the heads up
Image

Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 4:47 am
PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 9:44 pm
What port will I need to use on my computer to program the reef angel
Image
User avatar
Posts: 5347
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:29 pm
It'll get created when you plug it in the first time.

Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 4:47 am
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2014 3:55 pm
Okay I have been playing with the wizard a little and I'm still really unsure of what I'm doing. What is the best code to start with and start modifying? I will be getting my RA today and it's my birthday, Thanks Roberto what good timing you have :D.
Image
User avatar
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2014 4:18 pm
First off Happy Birthday.
Second. Enjoy your new toy.

The best code to start modifying is your own.

Go thru the wizard and answer the questions about how long you want your lights on, what you want your overheat temp to be and anything other that you want to set up once done it will generate code that you can upload as is or start modifying to make it the way you want.

Best option is to upload it as is and see how things work and what you want to change after that.

Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 4:47 am
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2014 5:12 pm
Okay I didn't realize what the wizard actually was tell you said that. Thanks I'm so excited.
Image

Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 4:47 am
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2014 10:07 pm
Okay so I just went through the wizard setup and I think I set it up. When I click on the Portal it doesn't show anything though. I also don't know how to post my code on here except maybe a copy and paste. Nothing is actually plugged in yet though still trying to figure out where to place everything in the stand.
Image
User avatar
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL
PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:20 am
The Portal will not show anything until you have loaded your code into the RA head unit, have everything connected and getting readings and setup the WiFi module.

The way you post your code is to copy it from the Reef Angel Arduino and then go to the Full Editor, click on the button that says code and past the code in between the "[code][/code]".

Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 4:47 am
PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2014 9:11 am
Okay I guess I just need to be a little more patient. Thanks for all the help
Image
User avatar
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL
PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2014 9:27 am
No problem.
I don't know much about coding so somethings I feel like I'm just leaching of this forum, so I like to help when I can.

I don't blame you for being excited.

Take your time, get everything hooked up, then program the Wifi and load the code and test things out.

Then worry about modifying things and getting fancy.
PreviousNext

Return to You and your tank

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest