Stupid questions from new user

Talk about you and your tank/equipment

Posts: 171
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 8:09 am
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2014 11:22 am
Hi, I'm in the process of purchasing a RA controller, and just want to make sure I am getting the right components. This will be my first controller, so I'm needing a little help getting things figured out. Here is what I want to control on my 90 gallon tank:

1 DC Jabao pump
2x Jabao WP 25's
2x heaters
ATO
Skimmer
2x Evergrow D120 LED fixtures (hacked)

What do I need to control the above? I assume I would have to plug all 4 Evergrow plugs into the relay box, which would use up half of my outlets right there, unless I could double up using an outlet multiplier or something. I think I read that these fixtures cannot be dimmed completely via the 0-10v dimmer, so that means they couldn't be plugged into standard non-controlled outlets, correct?

With the evergrow I'm assuming I would have to go with the following:
RA+
Expansion Hub
Relay Expansion
Dimming Expansion

If I choose a lighting option that has it's own controller then I may be able to just squeak by for now with just the RA+ and no expansions.

I want to be able to monitor things remotely, and if I connect an ethernet cable to the unit I wouldn't need the wifi attachment right?

Thanks for answering my "stupid new user" questions!

Ted
Image

Posts: 12247
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2014 12:33 pm
You need to mod those D120 fixtures to be able to control them.
There is a thread somewhere in the forum about that.
You will need the wifi attachment. There is no ethernet option.
Roberto.

Posts: 171
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 8:09 am
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2014 12:44 pm
Yes modding is a better term than hacking but that is what i meant. I didn't realize there is no ethernet option. Am I missing anything else other than jabao wires
Image

Posts: 171
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 8:09 am
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2014 12:44 pm
Yes modding is a better term than hacking but that is what i meant. I didn't realize there is no ethernet option. Am I missing anything else other than jabao wires
Image

Posts: 12247
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2014 12:49 pm
You are good on those.
They can be plugged straight into the dimming ports on the side of the relay box.
You will need one Jebao cable per pump. So, make sure to order 2.
Roberto.

Posts: 171
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 8:09 am
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2014 1:07 pm
Any answer to the "stupid" part of my question regarding using an outlet multiplier for the LED fixtures? Also same applies to the 0-10v ports, I can't plug both lights into one set of ports?
Image

Posts: 12247
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2014 1:14 pm
There is no such thing as stupid question.
If you place more than one light fixture into a single outlet, you may wear out the relays faster. If you place too many, you may even weld the contacts together and you will end up with an outlet that is always on.
Any equipment that draws a lot of current when initially turned on should have its own port.
You can connect multiple dimming wires in a single dimming port though.
Roberto.

Posts: 171
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 8:09 am
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2014 1:16 pm
Just what I needed to know! Thanks!
Image

Posts: 171
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 8:09 am
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2014 1:26 pm
I think I read that the 0-10v control doesn't dim these to 0. Can anyone confirm this? If this is so, then I would not be able to connect to an uncontrolled power supply.
Image

Posts: 12247
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2014 2:14 pm
The limitation is not the signal. It's the driver.
When people modded the fixture, they used meanwell ELN drivers, which are not capable of dimming down to 0%.
Anything lower than about 15% gets cutoff.
Roberto.
Next

Return to You and your tank

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron