Led trouble

Talk about you and your tank/equipment
User avatar
Posts: 1426
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 7:10 pm
Does it work if you just hook up one of the LED boards?

Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 2:42 pm
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 7:24 pm
Nope. Just makes em blink.

Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 2:42 pm
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 7:30 pm
It's so frustrating. If I hook up one channel now string of 12 they are very dim before they were blinding. But if I hook up one side string of six they blink blinding bright
User avatar
Posts: 5349
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 12:23 pm
Aren't LDD drivers analog. Sounds like your hooking PWM controls to an analog driver.

Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 2:42 pm
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 2:24 pm
They are 5v pwm
User avatar
Posts: 1426
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 5:57 pm
With no PWM signal applied and the resistors removed they should run at full brightness. I think it's either a bad driver board, bad LDD's, or a bad power supply.

Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 2:42 pm
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 6:18 pm
So I don't know much about the LEDs but I was looking at the new 180 48 from mean well. I was wondering if this would work. Will only be powering 2 Ldds for now. Would this be too much Also if I were to get a four up board and only used two places for the Ldds would that work or would I have to get a two place board for it to work. Being he sent me two 700s I will be getting them. Also considered get two 1000s too What would you recommend.
User avatar
Posts: 1426
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 6:26 pm
The important thing is to match the LDD amperage to what your LED's can handle. If they are 700 mA LED's and you hook them up to a 1000 mA driver you'll burn them out. I'd stick with 700's unless you know your LED's can handle 1000's.

You can get as big of a power supply as you want. The drivers will only draw as much as they need.

You can get a 4-up board and only use 2 slots. That's fine. Just hook up the sections you're using.

--Colin

Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 2:42 pm
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 6:35 pm
So a meanwell nes 100 or 150 should work 48v cause that's what he sent. Should amp output matter on them cause there higher than the supply he sent I want to have enough power and not question that aspect but don't want fry anything. Thank you for all your help
User avatar
Posts: 1426
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 6:48 pm
More amps doesn't matter. The drivers will only draw what they need. Go with the 150-48 at the least. Then you'll have room to expand if you want to.
PreviousNext

Return to You and your tank

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron