Adding a second controler


Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 4:28 am
Location: Montreal,Canada
PostPosted: Thu Jun 08, 2017 4:06 pm
Hi , I just added a second controler a RA not Plus to the RA Plus on the same network I have network I have. The problem is I can not control the new one with phone app.. It does not find it if I enter the IP Adeess

here is how I have portfoewarding set

not shure what I am missing ?? :?
Attachments
router.jpg
router.jpg (80.37 KiB) Viewed 84 times
User avatar
Posts: 2515
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Sat Jun 10, 2017 10:40 am
If you have things setup this way, you will need to make sure that the second RA is set to use port 2001 inside the app. The default is to be 2000.
So, the app should have something like this:
RA1: EXTERNAL.IP:2000
RA2: EXTERNAL.IP:2001

Then you should be able to control them both from the app.
curt
http://curtbinder.info/
Image
crashed and burned.....now reloading tank. :smile:

Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 4:28 am
Location: Montreal,Canada
PostPosted: Sun Jun 11, 2017 3:38 am
thank for your help with this


I try setting the port : 2001 in app but still having issues to conect




do I need to reconfigure the Wifi attachment to port 2001 as well ?

is there a better way of setting this up
Attachments
IMG_2418.PNG
IMG_2418.PNG (83.49 KiB) Viewed 64 times
User avatar
Posts: 2515
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Sun Jun 11, 2017 5:06 am
Ok. I know what your problem is. You are mixing 2 different setups together. Meaning, you are using the internal ip address and the external port.

Since you want to only run 2 RA's locally (not accessible from the public internet), you do not need to worry about changing the port. The IP address of the second controller is different and that's all that you need. So, in your scenario you mentioned above, just use the 192.168.1.15 IP address and port 2000. Then all will be fine.

Don't worry about changing your port on the wifi controller or anything.

If you are wanting to connect to that controller from the internet (outside your home/private network), then you will change the port.

So, to recap, this is what your settings should be:

Internal Network (pictured above): 192.168.1.15, Port: 2000
External Network (public internet access): WW.XX.YY.ZZ, Port: 2001

If you are never accessing it away from home or outside of your network, just ignore the External Network line I mentioned.
curt
http://curtbinder.info/
Image
crashed and burned.....now reloading tank. :smile:

Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 4:28 am
Location: Montreal,Canada
PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 7:45 am
ok I tried this wich makes sens , but still not geting control with the APP

I set the controler as 192.168.1.15 and Port to 2000

it looks like it is comunicating not getting error message but not updating





do I need to change somthing in the Portal ? I am not able to download the labels or get communiction from the portal


perhaps there could be a better way of me doing this ? all I need relly from this second controler is to be able to toglge ports ON and OFF from inside my house
Attachments
IMG_2419.PNG
IMG_2419.PNG (91.39 KiB) Viewed 55 times
User avatar
Posts: 2515
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 6:59 pm
The portal won't make any difference. You are connecting directly to the controller, so the portal is not being used.

If all you are doing is trying to communicate with the second RA on your internal network, then the settings you are entering should be correct and should work.
I would make sure inside your code on the controller that you remove the Portal line, so it does not try to update the portal with this controller's data. You can only control 1 RA from a portal account. If you wanted to control multiple RA's from the portal, you would have to create another username for the forum/portal (unless Roberto changed that).

If you are still not able to get this working, I would verify that your wifi unit is actually getting the proper IP address. I would also verify that you can pull up the internal webserver page on the second RA by going to http://192.168.1.15:2000/ or http://192.168.1.15:2000/wifi
If you can pull up those pages (or at least the first page), then your wifi module has the right IP address. If you cannot, then it doesn't have the right IP address and you would have to get that fixed to communicate.

If that's all working properly, then there could be something strange going on with the UAPP and using multiple RA's. I cannot help if that's the case because I do not know much about the UAPP.
curt
http://curtbinder.info/
Image
crashed and burned.....now reloading tank. :smile:

Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 5:51 am
PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2017 3:06 am
thanks Curt for your help

I tried what you suggested and a few other things... I still have problems conecting to RA2 in the APP but I belive the issue coule be linked to the APP or to the code I am using ( using old libraries (1.06) as this is not an RA plus

conclusions are:

Wifi is working ok I think, Iam able to open http://192.168.1.15:2000/ but for http://192.168.1.15:2000/wifi i get "please wait while loading"

I trid switching RA1 and RA2 wifi adapters and issue is not the wifi.... I can always connect to RA1 in teh APP regardless of wifi adapter used

I created another user for RA2 in the portal and I can conect to my RA2 in the portal... I can also connect to my RA1 with my initial user


I pasted the code in case some one can find anything odd in it ....

#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <Globals.h>
#include <RA_Wifi.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <RA_ATO.h>
#include <RA_Joystick.h>
#include <LED.h>
#include <RA_TempSensor.h>
#include <Relay.h>
#include <RA_PWM.h>
#include <Timer.h>
#include <Memory.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_Colors.h>
#include <RA_CustomColors.h>
#include <Salinity.h>
#include <RF.h>
#include <IO.h>
#include <ORP.h>
#include <AI.h>
#include <PH.h>
#include <WaterLevel.h>
#include <Humidity.h>
#include <DCPump.h>
#include <PAR.h>
#include <ReefAngel.h>

////// Place global variable code below here


////// Place global variable code above here


void setup()
{
// This must be the first line
ReefAngel.Init(); //Initialize controller
// Ports toggled in Feeding Mode
ReefAngel.FeedingModePorts = Port5Bit | Port6Bit | Port7Bit;
// Ports toggled in Water Change Mode
ReefAngel.WaterChangePorts = 0;
// Ports toggled when Lights On / Off menu entry selected
ReefAngel.LightsOnPorts = Port1Bit | Port2Bit | Port3Bit | Port4Bit;
// Ports turned off when Overheat temperature exceeded
ReefAngel.OverheatShutoffPorts = Port1Bit | Port2Bit | Port3Bit | Port4Bit;
// Use T1 probe as temperature and overheat functions
ReefAngel.TempProbe = T1_PROBE;
ReefAngel.OverheatProbe = T1_PROBE;
// Set the Overheat temperature setting
InternalMemory.OverheatTemp_write( 840 );


// Ports that are always on
ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port5 );
ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port6 );
ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port7 );
ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port8 );
ReefAngel.Relay.On( Box1_Port5 );
ReefAngel.Relay.On( Box1_Port6 );
ReefAngel.Relay.On( Box1_Port7 );

////// Place additional initialization code below here


////// Place additional initialization code above here
}

void loop()
{
ReefAngel.StandardLights( Port1,5,0,17,0 );
ReefAngel.StandardLights( Port2,6,0,17,0 );
ReefAngel.StandardLights( Port3,9,0,14,0 );
ReefAngel.StandardLights( Port4,5,0,17,0 );
ReefAngel.StandardLights( Box1_Port1,8,0,18,0 );
ReefAngel.StandardLights( Box1_Port2,7,0,19,0 );
ReefAngel.StandardLights( Box1_Port3,10,0,15,30 );
ReefAngel.StandardLights( Box1_Port4,10,0,15,30 );
ReefAngel.PWM.SetDaylight( PWMSlope(5,0,17,0,20,90,180,20) );
ReefAngel.PWM.SetActinic( PWMSlope(5,0,17,0,0,0,180,0) );
////// Place your custom code below here


////// Place your custom code above here

// This should always be the last line
ReefAngel.Portal( "Acoca" );
ReefAngel.ShowInterface();
}

Return to Ask anything here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest