Float Switch Ideas?

Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: Float Switch Ideas?

Post by Paulturner911 »

rimai wrote:
Paulturner911 wrote:I just switched the plug on the unit side.
The high is green when it's down, the low is red when it's up. Could I make the low green when it's up by cutting and switching the leads on the plug? I guess really I would depin the harness and switch them to keep it clean. Would that do what I want? What I'm trying to achieve is the portal to show two green dots when I'm in the clear, red if anything is wrong.
You would need to put the low ATO upside down.
It is always green when the float is touching the C-Clip. So, if you invert the position, you will achieve what you want in the portal.
Thats what I gathered from the earlier post. I will be comming up with some way to do it tonight with an acrylic bracket or something.
As for feed mode, I think I see where Im confused. Feed mode lasts for 15min, then 15 after (30min) the Powerhead will come on, 30min after feed mode is COMPLETE (45min) my pumps will resume. I never really waited the full 45min I guess. Im going to lower the times in that case... Ill be uploading my "new/improved" code tonight! Wish me Luck
Image
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: Float Switch Ideas?

Post by Paulturner911 »

Up and running!!
Now fro the triggers...
What do I want the trigger to read with in portal notifications. Atohigh>=close?
Image
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Float Switch Ideas?

Post by lnevo »

<1
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: Float Switch Ideas?

Post by Paulturner911 »

lnevo wrote:<1
I now have
Atohigh<1....wires up
Atolow>0...wires down
Correct?
Image
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: Float Switch Ideas?

Post by Paulturner911 »

Paulturner911 wrote:
lnevo wrote:<1
I now have
Atohigh<1....wires up
Atolow>0...wires down
Correct?
They should both be the Same <1?
Image
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Float Switch Ideas?

Post by lnevo »

0=red 1=green

If you are normally green and want to alert on red...the. <1 for both. Otherwise do the math :)
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: Float Switch Ideas?

Post by Paulturner911 »

I wrote them both <1. I haven't been able to get any emails though. I'm only tripping the sensor for a few seconds though. How long should it be red before the portal sends me an email? I also am having an issue when resuming feedmode my pump port 1 turns on immediately after feedmode times out, 15 min after the powerhead resumes. Per my code I was under the impression it would first be the powerhead then the pump 30min after the feedmode times out. Any help?
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Float Switch Ideas?

Post by rimai »

The controller sends data to the server every 5 minutes.
You have 2 conditions on your code:

Code: Select all

 ReefAngel.Relay.DelayedOn( Port1,30 );
 ReefAngel.Relay.Set(Port1,ReefAngel.HighATO.IsActive());
The second has higher priority and will always overwrite the first.
If you want both conditions, you need to use the code like this:

Code: Select all

if (ReefAngel.HighATO.IsActive())
 ReefAngel.Relay.DelayedOn( Port1,30 );
else
 ReefAngel.Relay.Off(Port1);
Roberto.
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Float Switch Ideas?

Post by lnevo »

The portal only gets data every 5 minutes...so you wont get an alert testing that way. Once the trigger happens you should get your email/sms within 5 minutes.
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: Float Switch Ideas?

Post by Paulturner911 »

rimai wrote:The controller sends data to the server every 5 minutes.
You have 2 conditions on your code:

Code: Select all

 ReefAngel.Relay.DelayedOn( Port1,30 );
 ReefAngel.Relay.Set(Port1,ReefAngel.HighATO.IsActive());
The second has higher priority and will always overwrite the first.
If you want both conditions, you need to use the code like this:

Code: Select all

if (ReefAngel.HighATO.IsActive())
 ReefAngel.Relay.DelayedOn( Port1,30 );
else
 ReefAngel.Relay.Off(Port1);
Do I add this as an additional line of coder just under the other codes you guys have provided OR does this replace the 2 lines?
Image
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: Float Switch Ideas?

Post by Paulturner911 »

lnevo wrote:The portal only gets data every 5 minutes...so you wont get an alert testing that way. Once the trigger happens you should get your email/sms within 5 minutes.
Are you saying that the light would have to be red for 5 minutes inorder for the portal to send the email?
Image
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: Float Switch Ideas?

Post by Paulturner911 »

#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <Globals.h>
#include <RA_Wifi.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <RA_ATO.h>
#include <RA_Joystick.h>
#include <LED.h>
#include <RA_TempSensor.h>
#include <Relay.h>
#include <RA_PWM.h>
#include <Timer.h>
#include <Memory.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_Colors.h>
#include <RA_CustomColors.h>
#include <Salinity.h>
#include <RF.h>
#include <IO.h>
#include <ORP.h>
#include <AI.h>
#include <PH.h>
#include <WaterLevel.h>
#include <ReefAngel.h>

////// Place global variable code below here


////// Place global variable code above here


void setup()
{
// This must be the first line
ReefAngel.Init(); //Initialize controller
// Ports toggled in Feeding Mode
ReefAngel.FeedingModePorts = Port1Bit | Port2Bit | Port5Bit | Port6Bit | Port7Bit;
// Ports toggled in Water Change Mode
ReefAngel.WaterChangePorts = Port1Bit | Port2Bit | Port5Bit | Port6Bit | Port7Bit | Port8Bit;
// Ports toggled when Lights On / Off menu entry selected
ReefAngel.LightsOnPorts = Port2Bit | Port3Bit | Port5Bit | Port6Bit | Port8Bit;
// Ports turned off when Overheat temperature exceeded
ReefAngel.OverheatShutoffPorts = Port3Bit | Port5Bit | Port6Bit | Port8Bit;
// Use T1 probe as temperature and overheat functions
ReefAngel.TempProbe = T1_PROBE;
ReefAngel.OverheatProbe = T1_PROBE;
// Set the Overheat temperature setting
InternalMemory.OverheatTemp_write( 869 );


// Ports that are always on

////// Place additional initialization code below here


////// Place additional initialization code above here
}

void loop()
{
ReefAngel.Relay.DelayedOn( Port1,15 );
ReefAngel.StandardLights( Port3,10,0,22,0 );
ReefAngel.StandardLights( Port5,12,0,19,0 );
ReefAngel.StandardLights( Port6,12,0,19,0 );
ReefAngel.Relay.DelayedOn( Port7,1 );
ReefAngel.StandardLights( Port8,22,0,10,0 );
ReefAngel.StandardLights( Box1_Port2,9,0,19,0 );
ReefAngel.PWM.SetDaylight( MoonPhase() );
ReefAngel.PWM.SetActinic( MoonPhase() );
ReefAngel.StandardFan(Port2,790,800);
ReefAngel.Relay.Set(Port1,ReefAngel.HighATO.IsActive());
////// Place your custom code below here


////// Place your custom code above here

// This should always be the last line
ReefAngel.Portal( "paulturner911" );
ReefAngel.ShowInterface();
}


Does all of the code use go in the section below "void loop"?
What are the other sections (custom code/initalization code) for?
Image
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Float Switch Ideas?

Post by rimai »

You must replace them
Roberto.
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: Float Switch Ideas?

Post by Paulturner911 »

Awesome, Ive got it working!! What about the notification? Is it true that the stated has to be red for 5min before the trigger is activated and I will get an email?
Image
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Float Switch Ideas?

Post by lnevo »

5 minutes would be the most..if the unit had just sent data and the error condition happened right away...otherwise your average response will be 2.5 minutes, sometimes less, sometimes more...
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: Float Switch Ideas?

Post by Paulturner911 »

ReefAngel.StandardLights( Box1_Port2,9,0,19,0 );

Is this why my RA+ acts like I have an expansion module?
I dont know why this keeps getting stuck in my code.
Image
User avatar
DrewPalmer04
Posts: 818
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 2:12 pm
Location: Christopher, IL

Re: Float Switch Ideas?

Post by DrewPalmer04 »

That's saying your port 2 on expansion relay box (2nd) is on standard light mode.
Out for now...but not over.

VISIT: Ethernet Module/Wifi Alternative
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: Float Switch Ideas?

Post by Paulturner911 »

That's what I gathered. I just removed it and the junk in the portal went away.
I'm thinking about putting my existing float switch relay assembly on the RA and have it set to dose kalk with my toms aqua lifter pump around 6am to help curb ph fluctuation. I would like to know if anyone has a code to do this slowly. My evap is about 3/4 gallons per day. Ideally I would not dump this all at once. Maybe over a few hours when the ph is just starting to bottom out. I've just set it on a brinks timer today to run 15min at 6am. This will prob fill the sump. I'd like to do it slower. First I should look into the flow rate of the aqualifter and try to determine just how long it will run, then figure how to divide it up evenly over the ph swing. I'm thinking I should start about half way down the lowering side. It seems to fall shortly after 7:30 just after the halides switch off from 8.15 bottoming out at 7.98 around 8am. Any help?
Image
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: Float Switch Ideas?

Post by Paulturner911 »

Aqua lifter can move .87g in 15 min. So I'd like to move about that over 2am-10am.
:) good time for me to test my signature

Again
Image
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: Float Switch Ideas?

Post by Paulturner911 »

No go...
Image
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: Float Switch Ideas?

Post by Paulturner911 »

Third times a charm! Seems that the time is off though, it displays 10:36 and it's 5:36 here in sunny Florida!!
Image
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Float Switch Ideas?

Post by lnevo »

You need to update it from the menu or you can do it through portal or iphone app.
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: Float Switch Ideas?

Post by Paulturner911 »

lnevo wrote:You need to update it from the menu or you can do it through portal or iphone app.
Thanks.
Image
Paulturner911
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:36 pm

Re: Float Switch Ideas?

Post by Paulturner911 »

I just clicked update. My portal is showing real time. But my banner is 4hrs ahead.
Image
Post Reply