temp probe question :)

Post Reply
tomek77pl
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2013 3:17 pm

temp probe question :)

Post by tomek77pl »

hi guys,


I am a total noob at my RA but I got everything running as Im using it just for basic things, but the only problem I ran into is that my RA uses my only temp probe to check of overheat. Is it possible for the controller to use a single temp probe to control my heater and check for the overheat? or /will I have to purchase extra temp probes? thank you guys for your help :)
User avatar
cosmith71
Posts: 1437
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City

Re: temp probe question :)

Post by cosmith71 »

One probe can do both. Are you not getting a temp reading?

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
tomek77pl
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2013 3:17 pm

Re: temp probe question :)

Post by tomek77pl »

yes I am but my temp socket wont turn on
User avatar
cosmith71
Posts: 1437
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City

Re: temp probe question :)

Post by cosmith71 »

Can you post your code?

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
tomek77pl
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2013 3:17 pm

Re: temp probe question :)

Post by tomek77pl »

#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <Globals.h>
#include <RA_Wifi.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <RA_ATO.h>
#include <RA_Joystick.h>
#include <LED.h>
#include <RA_TempSensor.h>
#include <Relay.h>
#include <RA_PWM.h>
#include <Timer.h>
#include <Memory.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_Colors.h>
#include <RA_CustomColors.h>
#include <Salinity.h>
#include <RF.h>
#include <IO.h>
#include <ORP.h>
#include <AI.h>
#include <PH.h>
#include <WaterLevel.h>
#include <ReefAngel.h>

////// Place global variable code below here


////// Place global variable code above here


void setup()
{
// This must be the first line
ReefAngel.Init(); //Initialize controller
ReefAngel.AddStandardMenu(); // Add Standard Menu

// Ports toggled in Feeding Mode
ReefAngel.FeedingModePorts = Port3Bit | Port5Bit;
// Ports toggled in Water Change Mode
ReefAngel.WaterChangePorts = 0;
// Ports toggled when Lights On / Off menu entry selected
ReefAngel.LightsOnPorts = 0;
// Ports turned off when Overheat temperature exceeded
ReefAngel.OverheatShutoffPorts = Port1Bit | Port3Bit | Port5Bit | Port7Bit;
// Use T1 probe as temperature and overheat functions
ReefAngel.TempProbe = T1_PROBE;
ReefAngel.OverheatProbe = T1_PROBE;
// Set the Overheat temperature setting
InternalMemory.OverheatTemp_write( 800 );


// Ports that are always on
ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port2 );
ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port3 );
ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port4 );
ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port5 );

////// Place additional initialization code below here


////// Place additional initialization code above here
}

void loop()
{
ReefAngel.StandardHeater( Port1,600,778 );
ReefAngel.DosingPumpRepeat( Port6,0,50,15 );
ReefAngel.StandardLights( Port7,0,0,10,0 );
ReefAngel.SingleATO( true,Port8,10,0 );
////// Place your custom code below here


////// Place your custom code above here

// This should always be the last line
ReefAngel.ShowInterface();
}
User avatar
cosmith71
Posts: 1437
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City

Re: temp probe question :)

Post by cosmith71 »

By this, your heater should come on at anything less than 60 degrees F, Shut off at 77.8 degrees F, and overheat at 80 degrees, shutting off ports 1, 3, 5, and 7. What's your current temp? Is the red light on?

--Colin
tomek77pl
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2013 3:17 pm

Re: temp probe question :)

Post by tomek77pl »

my current temp is 77.9 but when I take the temp probe out and the temp drops util 75.5 the socket will still not turn on, its red which indicates its shut off.
User avatar
cosmith71
Posts: 1437
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City

Re: temp probe question :)

Post by cosmith71 »

Is the red LED on the front of the head unit on?

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
User avatar
cosmith71
Posts: 1437
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City

Re: temp probe question :)

Post by cosmith71 »

Oh, it won't come on until it hits 60 degrees as its programmed now.

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
tomek77pl
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2013 3:17 pm

Re: temp probe question :)

Post by tomek77pl »

I got it to work when I changed the temp from 60F to 70F. I want the heater to turn on when ever it is under 77.8, so my code would look like this for the heater? ( Port1,778,778 )?
User avatar
cosmith71
Posts: 1437
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City

Re: temp probe question :)

Post by cosmith71 »

Code: Select all

ReefAngel.StandardHeater( Port1,600,778 );
Means turn on when lower than 60, turn off at 77.8. So you would want your high temp a little higher than that or your heater will be switching on and off all the time.

So something like this:

Code: Select all

ReefAngel.StandardHeater ( Port1,778,782 );
This means come on when the temp is less than 77.8, and turn off when the temp hits 78.2.

--Colin

Edit: Changed the temps a bit.
tomek77pl
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2013 3:17 pm

Re: temp probe question :)

Post by tomek77pl »

thank you for your help, I set it to (Port1,788,788) . The wizard is where I got confused I tried setting the lowest temp so I would turn on when ever it was not 78.8F
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: temp probe question :)

Post by lnevo »

You really dont want the parameters equal. Its going to continuously cycle the relay on and off like that.

I would suggest setting the low/on temp to 76 or something and the high you can leave as is.

You want the heater on for a set amount of time to heat the water. You will probably damage your heater and eventually the relay the way you have it...
tomek77pl
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2013 3:17 pm

Re: temp probe question :)

Post by tomek77pl »

thank you for the advice I switched it back to 760,778
Post Reply