Auto Water Change


Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 3:10 pm
Location: An Oklahoman in Ohio
PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2015 9:25 am
I am wanting to incorporate an auto WC system, possibly a continuous WC of about 1 gallon a day.

My question is what pump should I use? I know there are a few of you out there with auto WC, Is there a pump you recommend or one you would definitely stay away from?

I was wondering if dosing pumps might work, the RA ones? Any thoughts?

Any help is appreciated
Image
User avatar
Posts: 1830
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL
PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2015 9:35 am
Read this thread over at Reef2Reef.
http://www.reef2reef.com/threads/automa ... is.141619/
It's kind of long, but it goes into 4 different methods.
1 using the Stenner pumps
2 DYI using dual head pumps bough off e-bay
3 using LITERMETER III
4 Apex new DOS.

There is a similar thread on ReefCentral
http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showt ... ?t=2349824

Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 3:10 pm
Location: An Oklahoman in Ohio
PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2015 6:26 pm
Sacohen wrote:Read this thread over at Reef2Reef.
http://www.reef2reef.com/threads/automa ... is.141619/
It's kind of long, but it goes into 4 different methods.
1 using the Stenner pumps
2 DYI using dual head pumps bough off e-bay
3 using LITERMETER III
4 Apex new DOS.

There is a similar thread on ReefCentral
http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showt ... ?t=2349824



I will definitely give this a read and I appreciate you providing me the thread.

Does anyone have any input on the use of the RA dosing pumps for this?
Image
User avatar
Posts: 1830
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2015 4:10 am
I don't think the dosing pumps will work.
The 2 pumps need to turn on and off at the exact same time. They also need to run at the exact same speed.
The RA can turn then on at the same time, but even the same make and model of a pump will not run at the exact same speed.
Reading the thread you'll see that most of the options were multiple head pumps running off 1 motor.
The Liter Meter III has multiple pumps but has an elaborate calibration process.
I don't really know about the new Apex DOS system.

Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 3:10 pm
Location: An Oklahoman in Ohio
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2015 7:50 am
Thanks again
Image
User avatar
Posts: 1424
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City
PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2015 5:54 am
Seems like there could be a way using the water level expansion to pull out an exact amount and then replace it. You could use pretty much any pump you wanted to.

Pause ATO
Turn on pump to remove x%
Turn on pump to replace x%

Maybe water sensors or float switches in the receptacles to prevent them overflowing or running dry.
User avatar
Posts: 5337
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2015 5:56 am
Even easier...switch WaterLevelATO to pump on SW reservoir. Start up pump to remove whatever you want. Let ATO top off to correct level. Switch port back to RO pump. :)
User avatar
Posts: 1424
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City
PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2015 6:00 am
Yup. Lots of ways to do it. I haven't read those threads, but I'm betting they aren't using a Reef Angel. :D

--Colin
User avatar
Posts: 1830
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL
PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2015 6:28 am
Most are not, but lnevo and myself were both on those threads and based our AWC systems on things in there.
Both of use went with multihead pumps with a signle motor found on E-Bay.

I went with the ThermoFisher D3138-13 w/Masterflex 7024-20 Pump.

These are the heads http://www.ebay.com/itm/Masterflex-Stan ... 3f53d5c308

lnevo went with another multihead pump and motor that had been found when the Masterflex and ThermoFisher had dried up.

I think it was ametek pump
User avatar
Posts: 5337
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2015 3:33 pm
I don't remember...its setup but i never ran the tubing to my tank. I have issues with my mixing station i need to address first
Next

Return to Ask anything here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron