Maxspect Gyre Icecap module contents?


Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 7:26 am
PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2015 1:32 pm
Anyone get their hands on one yet to see what it actually does? It must do something pretty good in order to cost so much to take 0-10V and convert it into pump speeds. I'm wondering if anyone here has torn one down yet to see if something DIY could be done to control one from a ReefAngel.

Posts: 250
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 5:17 pm
PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2015 5:31 pm
I just purchased the Maxspect Gyre, and I'm also interested in this.
Image
User avatar
Posts: 5356
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2015 6:59 pm
Nobody so far. Would love to hear what it can do with a real brain behind it...who is going to take the plunge.

Posts: 12282
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2015 7:01 pm
Give me a week or so.
Roberto.

Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 7:26 am
PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2015 2:43 pm
Roberto, any word on what this icecap module thingy does? I am setting up a new tank and am trying to decide between Vortech and Gyre. The price is similar with the module included, but Gyre is much cheaper if my ReefAngel can talk to it directly in some way that doesn't cost $125 for each pump.

Posts: 12282
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2015 5:53 pm
Sorry for the delay.
Yes, the icecap module works just fine with RA :)
I was having issues trying to figure out why it wasn't working for me when another RA member had it working for him.
The problem was that I was trying to test the pump out of the water. The module requires the pump to be inside water to work as intended.
This pump is kick ass. It is way better than a vortech IMO.
Roberto.

Posts: 12282
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2015 5:56 pm
Ahhh. The reverse feature has very little benefit from what I felt as far as water movement.
Roberto.

Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 7:26 am
PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2015 10:22 am
But what does the icecap do? Did you open it up by chance? I assumed the icecap would work fine from reefangel but would like to use reefangel to control the gyre directly or diy an alternative to the icecap to go between the reefangel and gyre.

Posts: 12282
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2015 11:56 am
Oh. I didn't do that. I would probably have no interest in trying to reinvent the wheel though. Their product does what it is supposed to do.
Roberto.

Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 7:26 am
PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2015 5:55 am
OK. When I get one I'm going to put the output on a scope to see what it is putting out since no one seems to know.
Next

Return to Ask anything here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron