Auto Water change


Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 3:10 pm
Location: An Oklahoman in Ohio
PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2015 8:43 pm
Would it be possible to do automatic water changes by having one pump turn on draining X amount of water until a float swith or water level sensor hits then turn on another pump of new water until it rises back up to the normal level or to the
ATO switch? I thought if it did this once a day at a certain time you could have it turn off the ATO at that time and then once the cycle finishes it kicks the ATO back on?

I am hoping this would be a way around having a dual head pump but i may be wrong. Let me know if you think it is possible.
Image
User avatar
Posts: 5348
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2015 9:07 pm
Yep. Perfect way to go about it. If you use the ato float, you can use the ato function to refill the saltwater too.

Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 3:10 pm
Location: An Oklahoman in Ohio
PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2015 9:09 pm
lnevo wrote:Yep. Perfect way to go about it. If you use the ato float, you can use the ato function to refill the saltwater too.


So i could use the existing ATO float for for the refill and put another float under the water line for the low end and then just have 2 pumps?

If that is correct, what would the code look like for doing this?
Image
User avatar
Posts: 5348
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2015 6:41 am
Here's an example thats also using the water level sensor. I know there's a few others posted. I can try giving a better example if needed.

viewtopic.php?t=1837#p46373

Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 3:10 pm
Location: An Oklahoman in Ohio
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2015 8:07 am
I think i am missing something with that link.
Image
User avatar
Posts: 5348
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2015 8:25 am
It's on the more complex side. Figured I'd start with that. I'll write something up later for you.

Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 3:10 pm
Location: An Oklahoman in Ohio
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2015 8:37 am
I appreciate that.
Image

Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 8:29 am
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2015 5:52 pm
I would also like this. is this possible to be done using the water change button on the app? My setup would be pretty similar. looking to press the water change button on the app and have it turn my return pump, skimmer, and ATO pump off. then when all is off have it turn on the pump that drains the water down to a certain level and then kick on the pump that refills the salt water. once all this is completed I would like the return pump to turn back on. is this something that is possible? I have a RV diaphragm pump in my basement that I have been testing out for a few weeks as my ATO pump and so far is working great! they are only $20 and have a good head height for pumping from very far away. I will use 2 more of these same pumps to remove the water from the sump and to pump fresh salt water back to the tank.
User avatar
Posts: 5348
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2015 4:25 am
Yes. I actually needed to know what you wanted to trigger all this :) gonna need some time to put the code together, I did not get to work on it yesterday.

Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 3:10 pm
Location: An Oklahoman in Ohio
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2015 8:58 am
No rush. I figure I would have to start with two float switches, one being the ATO float switch. Whatever other info you need just let me know.
Image
Next

Return to Ask anything here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests

cron