Reef Ai


Posts: 250
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 5:17 pm
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2016 11:02 am
So I was searching through some forums and came across one that was talking about a new reef controller by Reef Ai. If you go to their products page they have RA components that can be used with the Ai, for sale. Does the RA have any affiliation withe Reef Ai?

https://www.reefai.com/product-category/reef-angel/
Image

Posts: 250
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 5:17 pm
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2016 11:10 am
If you can use RA products on the Ai, does it work the other way too? They have a lot of interesting sensors.

https://www.reefai.com/product-category/sensors/
Image
User avatar
Posts: 5362
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2016 12:42 pm
No affiliation that I'm aware. RA is open source so we need to make sure theirs' is too if they are using any of our code. If their bus is i2c there's a good chance :)

Posts: 250
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 5:17 pm
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2016 1:22 pm
Roberto, do you know anything about this controller?
Image

Posts: 12306
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2016 1:27 pm
I never used or seen it.
All that I know so far is that they bought a few items to test for compatibility and that they would sell expansion modules along with their product.
I think what they have is an off-the-shelf Raspberry Pi in a nice case and they are tapping into the I2C bus to communicate with our modules.
Roberto.

Posts: 250
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 5:17 pm
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2016 1:39 pm
Ok, thanks. It was suppose to be release early last year but for some reason it's still on pre-order.
Image

Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:53 am
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2016 8:56 am
Pretty sexy Water level sensor...
https://www.reefai.com/product/water-level-sensor/
Image

Posts: 250
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 5:17 pm
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2016 11:03 am
I thought so too. It also measures temp and flow
Image

Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:53 am
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2016 2:24 pm
yea, other than stealing RA's module!
they were not the first to have it, but oh well.
I think roberto should patent that. :)
Image

Posts: 250
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 5:17 pm
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2016 3:06 pm
It would be nice to eliminate another wire or two from the sump.
Image
Next

Return to Ask anything here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron