Proportional ball valve


Posts: 250
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 5:17 pm
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 3:26 am
Roberto, if I recall you were looking for a proportional ball valve at one time? I found one on eBay at 186 dollars. Here is the item number for that listing, 222044516416. Would this work with the RA? I know the listing shows it with a stainless steel body but I contacted the seller and they could sell one with a pvc body instead.
Image

Posts: 12200
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 3:31 am
Yes, I do believe it would.
The item description says you can order 0-10VDC signal.
Make sure to choose that.
Then any analog output from RA would be able to control the valve.
Just for future reference, I'm going to include the name of the valve in case the ebay page is no longer available in the future.
New 1" 95-265VAC SS304 Proportional Integral Control Motorized Electrical Valve
Roberto.
User avatar
Posts: 5343
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2016 5:00 pm
Interesting. I think I saw someone looking for this too. What would you plan to do with it?

Posts: 250
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 5:17 pm
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2016 6:06 pm
I thought about using it in conjunction with my DC return pump to keep the overflow level at a specific height. I decided to go with a simple off/on valve and teeing that off the main drain.
Image

Posts: 250
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 5:17 pm
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2016 6:08 pm
The purpose of that valve would be to open if the other drain became too restricted and caused the overflow to rise too high.
Image

Posts: 250
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 5:17 pm
PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 5:54 pm
So here is the bypass valve I added to my drain. The purpose of it is to open if the main gets too clogged, since it already is restricted. I want it to turn on when my overflow is 87 or greater. I want this to stay on until I manually turn it off. This will be using port 2 and water level 2. Would it be as simple as this?

Code: Select all
 if (ReefAngel.WaterLevel.GetLevel(2)>87) //Overflow
      ReefAngel.Relay.On(Port2);
Image

Posts: 250
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 5:17 pm
PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 5:57 pm
Sorry forgot to post a pic

http://www.ebay.com/itm/162148062320?_trksid=p2050601.m570.l6022&_trkparms=gh1g%3DI162148062320.N48.S2.R2.TR2
Image

Posts: 12200
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 6:23 pm
I think it would work as long as you don't use port2 for anything else.
Another alternative is to override it on.
Code: Select all
if (ReefAngel.WaterLevel.GetLevel(2)>87) //Overflow
      ReefAngel.Relay.Override(Port2,1);
Roberto.

Posts: 250
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 5:17 pm
PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 6:35 pm
Thanks, Roberto!
Image

Return to Ask anything here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest