dimming leds on ATO high and low ports


Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 6:38 pm
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 5:55 pm
Hi, hoping to get some help allocating leds and jebao wave makers to dimming ports.

currently I have my leds controlled via my relay box, they simply come on and off at set times. I also have jebao pumps hooked up to my dimming ports and I love the controlling them via the portal. Now, what I'd like to do is have my leds gradually ramp up to 100 meaning I need to remove the jebaos?! or, I remember reading a post somewhere that stated the ATO ports can control the lights. My questions are:

1. I have 4 channels (2 blue and 2 white), can I wire the blues on ATO low and the whites on ATO high?

2. I'm sure the leds are 0-10v and the ATOs are 0-5v. do I need to make a mod somewhere to wire these?

3. Or, should I just wire the lights to the dimming ports and mod the jebao cables and put them on the ATO ports?

what is easiest to do and makes the most sense. any input would be great.

thanks
Image

Posts: 11977
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:08 pm
Get the dimming expansion module :)
Roberto.

Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 6:38 pm
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 7:06 pm
thanks Roberto :). does that mean the ato's won't work for the lights? I know they'll work for the jebaos. don't I have to remove a resistor from the current jebao cable to work on the ato?
Image

Posts: 11977
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 7:09 pm
Yes, you would need to mod the jebao cable to control them with the ATO port.
But you asked for the easiest :)
Roberto.

Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 6:38 pm
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 9:23 pm
:D fair enough...that will be my next upgrade. Can you point me to a thread that shows/describe the mod?

Thanks
Image

Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 6:38 pm
PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 9:20 pm
got my lights working on 0-10v dimming channels but my wp40 isn't working. I removed R2 resistor from the jebao cable to make it a 5v signal going in.

can someone please look at my code to see if its causing the problem

Code: Select all
void setup()
{
    // This must be the first line
    ReefAngel.Init();  //Initialize controller
    ReefAngel.Use2014Screen();  // Let's use 2014 Screen
    // Ports toggled in Feeding Mode
    ReefAngel.FeedingModePorts = Port4Bit | Port5Bit;
    // Ports toggled in Water Change Mode
    ReefAngel.WaterChangePorts = Port3Bit | Port4Bit;
    // Ports toggled when Lights On / Off menu entry selected
    ReefAngel.LightsOnPorts = Port1Bit | Port2Bit;
    // Ports turned off when Overheat temperature exceeded
    ReefAngel.OverheatShutoffPorts = Port1Bit | Port2Bit | Port3Bit | Port4Bit | Port7Bit;
    // Use T1 probe as temperature and overheat functions
    ReefAngel.TempProbe = T1_PROBE;
    ReefAngel.OverheatProbe = T1_PROBE;

    // Feeeding and Water Change mode speed
    ReefAngel.DCPump.FeedingSpeed=0;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.WaterChangeSpeed=0;
   
    pinMode(lowATOPin,OUTPUT);
    pinMode(highATOPin,OUTPUT);


    // Ports that are always on
    //ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port5 );

    ////// Place additional initialization code below here
   

    ////// Place additional initialization code above here
}

void loop()
{
    ReefAngel.ActinicLights( Port1 );
    ReefAngel.DayLights( Port2 );
    ReefAngel.StandardHeater( Port3 );
    ReefAngel.StandardLights( Port4, 19,0,7,0);//Protein skimmer, Reactor 7pm-7am
    ReefAngel.StandardLights( Port5 );
    ReefAngel.DosingPumpRepeat1( Port6 );
    ReefAngel.DosingPumpRepeat2( Port7 );
    ReefAngel.DosingPumpRepeat3( Port8 );
    ReefAngel.PWM.DaylightPWMParabola();
    ReefAngel.PWM.ActinicPWMParabola();
    ReefAngel.DCPump.UseMemory = true;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.LowATOChannel = Sync ; // WP40
    //ReefAngel.DCPump.HighATOChannel = AntiSync ; // other DC pump
    ////// Place your custom code below here
   
    // DC pumps
    // To run this code must choose Custom in portal
    static int rmode;
    static boolean changeMode=true;

    // These are the modes we can cycle through. You can add more and even repeat...
    byte modes[] = { ReefCrest, Lagoon, TidalSwell, ShortPulse, Sine, LongPulse, Else, Gyre, NutrientTransport };

    if (now()%1800==0 || changeMode==true) { // Change every 30 mins (1800seconds) or controller reboot
    rmode=random(100)%sizeof(modes); // Change the mode by picking from our array
    changeMode=false;
    }

    // Set timer when in feeding mode
    static unsigned long feeding;
    if (ReefAngel.DisplayedMenu==FEEDING_MODE) feeding=now();
    // Continue NutrientTranspot Mode for 30 minutes after feeding
    if (now()-feeding<1800) {
    ReefAngel.DCPump.UseMemory=false;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.Duration=InternalMemory.DCPumpDuration_read();
    ReefAngel.DCPump.Mode=NutrientTransport;
    // Night mode (go to 30%)
    } else if (now()%SECS_PER_DAY<39600 || now()%SECS_PER_DAY>=82800) { // 11am / 11pm
    ReefAngel.DCPump.UseMemory=false;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.Duration=InternalMemory.DCPumpDuration_read();
    ReefAngel.DCPump.Mode=Gyre;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.Speed=30;
    } else if (InternalMemory.DCPumpMode_read()==11) {
    // Custom Mode and nothing else going on
    ReefAngel.DCPump.UseMemory=false;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.Duration=InternalMemory.DCPumpDuration_read();
    ReefAngel.DCPump.Mode=modes[rmode]; // Put the mode to the random mode :)
    ReefAngel.DCPump.Speed=InternalMemory.DCPumpSpeed_read(); // Set speed from portal
    } else {
    ReefAngel.DCPump.UseMemory=true; // Will reset all values from memory
    }

    ////// Place your custom code above here

Image

Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 6:38 pm
PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2016 11:13 am
seems to be a problem with highATO port running my pump full and not shutting off on feedings like the lowATO does?

thanks
Image

Return to Ask anything here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron