Optical level sensor

Basic / Standard Reef Angel hardware

Posts: 154
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 4:22 am
PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2012 4:50 am
Hi Guys,

My first post in this fab forum!!

Rather than use float switches for ATO, I would like to use these optical sensors - see data sheet attached.

My question is, where can I find the pin out info so I can find how to connect to the float switch inputs?

Also, I will need to find 5 -12v to drive them, so where could I pick that up from?

Look forward to your replies!!
Attachments
109069.pdf
data sheet
(93.17 KiB) Downloaded 96 times

Posts: 154
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 4:22 am
PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2012 6:19 am
Think I have figured this out - I connect the ground from sensor to pin 2 of X8 - Signal out from sensor goes to pin 1 of X8 and I can pick up 5v from pin 1 of either X5 - X7.

Is this correct?

Also, I think my signal will be reversed compared to float switch? for ATO on, I think float switch gives a logic 0, but the optical sensor will give a logic 1 output.

Can i invert the code somehow to read correctly?

thanks..

Posts: 12309
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2012 8:39 am
Yes, you got it :)
I also think that your sensor will be inverted.
We can always create a custom function for your code though :)
After all, this is open source and we can mold it to fit :mrgreen:
Roberto.

Posts: 154
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 4:22 am
PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2012 8:50 am
Thanks roberto!!

Yes, when the sensor is in water - it is a low signal and when out of water (ATO needs to operate) it is a high signal.

What do I need to do to the code to "invert" compared to float switch which I think is opposite?

Posts: 12309
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2012 9:02 am
Are you sure?
Then it is the same as the float switch.
Roberto.

Posts: 154
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 4:22 am
PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2012 11:42 am
Hi Roberto, Yes I am sure - high state in air.

These are quite cheap too - only about $34!

Posts: 12309
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2012 1:35 pm
Try it out and see if it works. I think you are good.
Roberto.
User avatar
Posts: 5362
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 5:58 pm
Hey, this is an old thread, but I'm looking to do the same thing if possible. I have no idea what dazza was talking about though :) nor how it translates to the star. I'm wondering how I could power the sensor and read it. I'm hoping to convert to replace the controller for the Klir roller filter I'm using. If I could read the optical sensor then I can work on controlling the motor and get more information, put more controls, etc. on the filter roller.
User avatar
Posts: 5362
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 5:58 pm
Looking at a sensor like this: https://www.ebay.com/itm/400934780805?_ ... rmvSB=true

Return to Standard

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron