Page 1 of 2

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Posted: Mon May 06, 2013 6:12 pm
by cosmith71
By the time I figured it out, you'd have the formal version up. :mrgreen:

--C

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Posted: Tue May 07, 2013 12:13 am
by JHP
is there a charge for the upgrade?

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Posted: Tue May 07, 2013 7:51 am
by rimai
No, as long as you have a gen 2 screen.

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Posted: Wed May 08, 2013 2:12 pm
by Sacohen
I received my new LCD screen today.
From the looks of the announcements at the top of each forum library 1.0.4 is the latest, but I followed the link to the change log at the bottom of that thread and it show 1.0.5.
Is this correct or is 1.0.6 out yet?

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Posted: Wed May 08, 2013 3:30 pm
by rimai
It will be released tonight.

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Posted: Wed May 08, 2013 6:00 pm
by Sacohen
Great. I hope to have time to work on setting this up this weekend.

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 8:37 am
by cosmith71
Got the new screen up and running. It is leaps and bounds better looking than my old one.

The response time seems a little slower, though.

--Colin

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 8:40 am
by rimai
That's the trade off, but I think it's worth it, don't you?

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 8:42 am
by cosmith71
Yes, it's not that bad. It's very smooth and looks gorgeous compared to the gen 2.

--C

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Posted: Fri May 10, 2013 9:19 am
by Elevatorguy1
Replaced mine this morning. Very nice looking!

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Posted: Mon May 20, 2013 6:01 am
by JHP
Hi
Is this GEN 1 OR GEN 2

/Jan

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Posted: Mon May 20, 2013 7:57 am
by rimai
Gen1.
You are good :)

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Posted: Mon May 20, 2013 11:20 pm
by dapg8gt
Going to be replacing mine tomorrow it seems pretty straight forward right? Just pop out the old one and insert the new one?.. Insert code and ready to rock?.. I've gotten used to no screen lol I'm excited? Guessing the screen just pops out?

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Posted: Tue May 21, 2013 7:12 am
by cosmith71
Yep, just pull and stick in the new one.

--Colin

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Posted: Tue May 21, 2013 4:00 pm
by dapg8gt
Cool thanks.. should have brought it to work with me lol..

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Posted: Fri May 24, 2013 12:55 pm
by Sacohen
Yeah it was easy. It just came out and the new one went in it's place. Just make sure the pins are lined up and it doesn't need any force. If you feel that it is hard, stop, pull it off and check everything is straight and aligned.

Mine came up fine with out having to replace the code.

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Posted: Fri Oct 11, 2013 6:24 pm
by OceanWolf
Hi Roberto,

I think I have a Gen2. What should I do?

Thanks
Onur

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Posted: Fri Oct 11, 2013 6:47 pm
by rimai
Yeap.
PM me for RMA.

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Posted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 12:41 am
by Jbowen590
What months were the gen2 sold in?

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Posted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 5:49 pm
by kwolfskill
Hi Roberto,

I've had my Reef Angel for a number of months now, and haven't even hooked it up yet because the tank just finally got water in it to cycle it (it has been a slow process getting to this point). Just saw this thread and opened my Reef Angel up, and looks like I have a Gen 2 screen. At the moment I can't PM you, so what should I do?

Thanks,

Kevin

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Posted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 9:38 pm
by rimai
I upgraded your account. Try now.

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Posted: Sat Jun 07, 2014 7:27 pm
by JDW
Please excuse my noobish inexperience, but i recently purchased an upgrade board for my RA. I am having the same issues where my screen is acting screwy. It works fine with the old RA board, but when i hook it up to the RA+ it has a single horizontal line that scrolls vertically. I found this post and it mentions that I need to insert a particular code.

"InternalMemory.LCDID_write(255);"

I am not certain where that should go in my RA Wizard program. Below is the code I am using.


#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <Globals.h>
#include <RA_Wifi.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <RA_ATO.h>
#include <RA_Joystick.h>
#include <LED.h>
#include <RA_TempSensor.h>
#include <Relay.h>
#include <RA_PWM.h>
#include <Timer.h>
#include <Memory.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_Colors.h>
#include <RA_CustomColors.h>
#include <Salinity.h>
#include <RF.h>
#include <IO.h>
#include <ORP.h>
#include <AI.h>
#include <PH.h>
#include <WaterLevel.h>
#include <Humidity.h>
#include <DCPump.h>
#include <ReefAngel.h>

////// Place global variable code below here


////// Place global variable code above here


void setup()
{
    // This must be the first line
    ReefAngel.Init(); //Initialize controller
    ReefAngel.Use2014Screen(); // Let's use 2014 Screen
    // Ports toggled in Feeding Mode
    ReefAngel.FeedingModePorts = Port1Bit;
    ReefAngel.FeedingModePortsE[0] = 0;
    // Ports toggled in Water Change Mode
    ReefAngel.WaterChangePorts = Port1Bit | Port2Bit;
    ReefAngel.WaterChangePortsE[0] = 0;
    // Ports toggled when Lights On / Off menu entry selected
    ReefAngel.LightsOnPorts = 0;
    ReefAngel.LightsOnPortsE[0] = 0;
    // Ports turned off when Overheat temperature exceeded
    ReefAngel.OverheatShutoffPorts = 0;
    ReefAngel.OverheatShutoffPortsE[0] = 0;
    // Use T1 probe as temperature and overheat functions
    ReefAngel.TempProbe = T1_PROBE;
    ReefAngel.OverheatProbe = T1_PROBE;
    // Set the Overheat temperature setting
    InternalMemory.OverheatTemp_write( 790 );


    // Ports that are always on
    ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port1 );
    ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port2 );
    ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port4 );
    ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port5 );
    ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port6 );
    ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port8 );
    ReefAngel.Relay.On( Box1_Port1 );
    ReefAngel.Relay.On( Box1_Port2 );
    ReefAngel.Relay.On( Box1_Port3 );
    ReefAngel.Relay.On( Box1_Port4 );
    ReefAngel.Relay.On( Box1_Port5 );
    ReefAngel.Relay.On( Box1_Port6 );
    ReefAngel.Relay.On( Box1_Port7 );
    ReefAngel.Relay.On( Box1_Port8 );

    ////// Place additional initialization code below here
    

    ////// Place additional initialization code above here
}

void loop()
{
    ReefAngel.StandardHeater( Port3,760,770 );
    ReefAngel.SingleATO( true,Port7,60,0 );
    ////// Place your custom code below here
    

    ////// Place your custom code above here

    // This should always be the last line
    ReefAngel.Portal( "JDW" );
    ReefAngel.ShowInterface();
}


Re: LCD screen hardware change

Posted: Sat Jun 07, 2014 8:10 pm
by rimai
Place it right above ReefAngel.Init();

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Posted: Sat Jun 07, 2014 8:24 pm
by JDW
Thank you Roberto, fixed it right up

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2015 11:22 pm
by Xender
Hi Roberto !

Thanks a lot !
It works but I had to delete one line also :
ReefAngel.Use2014Screen(); // Let's use 2014 Screen

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Posted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 7:59 am
by Matthewgype
thanks for giving me the necessary information

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2022 3:21 pm
by JclaasSA
Hi

The screen on my standard Reef Angel unit fades/distorts after a while.

I fitted my Reef Angel Plus screen to it and then the backlight comes on, but displays nothing (even after entering the code "InternalMemory.LCDID_write(255);").

I also tried to upload all the different screen generation codes to the standard Reef Angel without any luck.

The fading/distorting screen displays something on the Reef Angel Plus without changing it's code.

The reason I want the standard Reef Angel sorted out is because the Reef Angel Plus pcb is corroded by the joystick which has since stopped scrolling up/down and I am not sure if removing the joystick from the standard Reef Angel and fitting it to the pcb of the Reef Angel Plus would help.

Can someone please advise?

Re: LCD screen hardware change

Posted: Sun Jul 24, 2022 12:51 pm
by rimai
It seems the screen has some issues too. You may need to replace it.