Stray Voltage - Nothing Plugged In except pH probe.

Basic / Standard Reef Angel hardware

Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 4:49 pm
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2014 12:45 pm
Anyone have any luck figuring this out?

Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2013 9:56 am
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2014 3:13 pm
Gugs Jr,

My tank is also plugged in to the same circuit as one of the kitchen outlets. However it isn't the same as the appliances.

I just ignored it for now... Everything I read said it isn't to much of an issue unless you ground the tank, then the voltage has somewhere to go. Wasn't exactly the answer I was looking for but I can't do a whole lot to the wiring in my apartment either.

Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 4:49 pm
PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 7:12 am
meadowsad wrote:Gugs Jr,

My tank is also plugged in to the same circuit as one of the kitchen outlets. However it isn't the same as the appliances.

I just ignored it for now... Everything I read said it isn't to much of an issue unless you ground the tank, then the voltage has somewhere to go. Wasn't exactly the answer I was looking for but I can't do a whole lot to the wiring in my apartment either.



Right now I just have my pH probe unplugged which is a waste. Since everything else works with the reef angel.

I was wondering if a different power strip would work.

Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 10:46 am
PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2014 11:26 pm
Is there an RA Stray voltage probe?

If not here's an example...

http://puratek.com/products/insight-mon ... tage-probe

Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 9:38 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2014 2:40 pm
Hi,
Do you live outside the US, and are using the plug adapters for the relay unit?

Posts: 174
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 2:29 pm
PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2014 8:50 am
for those who are experiencing stray voltage problem,

Do you have Meanwell dimmable LED drivers? and do you have them connected to the relay box (power and dimming signal cables) during testing for stray voltage ?

i'm experiencing the same issue and i have found out that somehow through the pwm signal cables running from the drivers to the relay box there is a current that runs from the drivers to the reefangel controller then to the tank through the pH probe.

the way I have figured this out is using a multimeter. I disconnected everything from the tank and started by plugging each item on its own and testing the potential difference between the tank and the ground.

it turns out that when the drivers are ON the potential difference between the tank and ground increases by around 50 VAC and the only connection between the drivers and the tank is through the pH probe. remove the probe and the 50 VAC goes away, turn off the drivers and the 50 VAC goes away so my conclusion is that there's a current that flows from the drivers through the Reefangel to the probe and into the tank.

Is there any possible way to block the current from flowing from the drivers to the RA?

Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2013 9:56 am
PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2014 2:32 pm
During my testing I took the RA head unit and a relay box to another outlet away from the fish tank. Turned it on and hooked ONLY the PH probe to the head unit and put it in a glass of water. I then used a multimeter to test the voltage and it read 47v.

Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 6:36 pm
PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2014 11:22 am
I know this is a little over a month old, but were you able to come up with a solution?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 7:35 pm
Location: Guelph, Ontario
PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 5:27 am
Hi there, I just hooked up my reef angel plus last night and immediately noticed a strong tingling when my hand was in the sump. All other equipment has been running for months w/o issue. I'll try detaching the pH probe tonight and check with a multimeter. Anyone find a solution for this yet?

Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 6:45 am
Location: Clermont, Florida
PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 6:38 am
I am having the same issue. 40v-42v in my tank. I unplug the bnc on the Ph probe, and it drops to 26v in tank. Ph probe by itself in a cup of tank water measures 46v. Temp probe in cup of water measures 9.6v, but has no effect on readings from tank in, or out of the water.

Turning off pumps, lights, heaters, unplugging floats, and temp sensors resulted in very minimal change (less than 4v).

When I disconnect the bus connector from the RA head unit, the volts drop to ~10v.

Now, when the ground probe is plugged in, tank voltage drops to .006v, but Ph drops by about .05.

This leaves me with several questions. First, is my Ph probe bad (have new one on the way, and will test to answer this), second, do I leave the ground probe in my system, or is it going to do more harm than good by allowing the current to flow? Third, has anyone moved their head unit, relay box, etc away from the tank by a few feet, and had it make any difference on stray voltage in their tanks?

I am perplexed.
Image
PreviousNext

Return to Standard

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron