Reef Angel w/ DIY LED

Basic / Standard Reef Angel hardware
re_vogel

Reef Angel w/ DIY LED

Post by re_vogel »

I am looking at building a DIY LED fixture for my 75 gal and want to use the reef angel controller as a dimmer/timer. The setup will be two 36 led fixtures with 4 dimmable drivers each. so 8 dimmable drivers total. I will either use the newer XM-L or the older XP-G. What compenents wiould i need from Reefangel to do this. Also, Im new to LED's so any other input into the LED setup would be appriciated.

Thanks
rimai

Re: Reef Angel w/ DIY LED

Post by rimai »

How many channels of dimming are you planning on having?
You can have as little as 2 channels (4 drivers connected to the same dimming channel) and as high as 8 channels (each channel with its own individual channel).
Roberto.
re_vogel

Post by re_vogel »

Ideally 4. One for each of the two sides of white and one for each of the two sides of blue. But I might just start out with two. One for the whites and one for the blues.
rimai

Post by rimai »

If you only need 2 channels, you only need the RA and the PWM lead wires. When you are ready for more channels, you will need the PWM Expansion module.
Meanwell drivers would work just fine in for you.
Roberto.
re_vogel

Post by re_vogel »

Thanks. I am correct in saying that I dont need to worry about pluging the lights into the reef angel power module. Also out of curiosity what is the expansion hub for?

Thanks.
rimai

Post by rimai »

You don't need to plug the power cables from the drivers to the controller if you don't want to.
It's your choice.
The expansion hub is for when you want to connect more than 1 expansion module to your RA system.
Roberto.
najluni15

Post by najluni15 »