Page 1 of 2

Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 2:44 pm
by Civics14
Not sure what's going on, ports 6&7 is constantly flickering on and off. Port 8 is dead completely now. Any ideas to what's going on? My setup hasn't changed or been touch in over 6 months.

Re: Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 7:58 pm
by Civics14
Something else to add... The controller keeps having the date/time get screwed up randomly

Re: Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 8:43 pm
by rimai
That sounds like a bus lock.
Try rearranging/reseating the USB cables of all expansion modules and check if there is not any water damage.
To find out the offending module,you have to disconnect all of them and connect one at a time until you find out which one is misbehaving.

Re: Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 12:12 pm
by Civics14
I only have a dimming module and I recall when I first got it a year ago I had an issue with it during when my lights ramped up, but then we replaced it. Now that you mention it, it only happens when the lights are on.

The USB seems to be properly seated it's not like a secure connection like on my computer or anything, just doesn't seem like the port on the relay box was ever deep enough to be pushed in further. There is no visual signs of water damage that I can see. Could the USB port on the relay box be going bad? Or is it the dimming module?

And yes, when the dimming module is disconnected, this doesn't occur.

Re: Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:39 am
by Civics14
Roberto- going based on others experience and your suggestion, could it be a bad cable? Is it just a regular USB to mini USB for the dimming module? If so, I can swing by and get one from the local electronics store

Re: Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:58 am
by rimai
Yes, regular mini usb

Re: Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 12:06 pm
by Civics14
Thanks. I'll try that and report back.

Re: Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 5:04 am
by Civics14
ok, tried a new cable and it went haywire. the new cable had regular silver ends vs. the ones that came with the dimming module and gold ends. is there really a difference?

Re: Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Sun Aug 21, 2016 2:10 pm
by Civics14
Roberto,

The cable from the relay box to the controller, that has a little bit of rust on it. Could this be the problem?

Also, can you tell me the specifics of this cable? It looks like the old VGA monitor cable, can I just pick one up at the local store and use that?

Re: Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Wed Aug 24, 2016 11:00 am
by Civics14
new SVGA cable and new usb cable, still issues... any suggestions on how to test if its the relay box or the dimming module that's causing this? I know its definitely something to do with the dimming module because when I unplug the USB, no issues.

Re: Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2016 6:15 am
by Civics14
Hi Roberto,

Ok, this is strange, so I happen to be around all day Sat & Sun and noticed that the relay flickering on and off only happens when the the dimming occurs at higher levels. Meaning it seems like there is like a threshold at when the dimming is occurring causing this issue. At low levels during the ramping up and ramping down, this doesn't happen.

Any ideas?

Re: Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2016 8:33 am
by rimai
Good troubleshooting.
What version of dimming module do you have?
You may need to open the case and it will be written on the pcb board.

Re: Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2016 6:31 pm
by Civics14
rimai wrote:Good troubleshooting.
What version of dimming module do you have?
You may need to open the case and it will be written on the pcb board.
Version 1.2

Re: Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Fri Sep 02, 2016 4:24 am
by Civics14
Any input / help Roberto?

Re: Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Fri Sep 02, 2016 9:27 am
by rimai
Are you using this with the RANet?

Re: Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Fri Sep 02, 2016 12:09 pm
by Civics14
nope

Re: Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Fri Sep 02, 2016 6:04 pm
by rimai
Can you post the code you have loaded?
Is it a regular wizard code?

Re: Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Mon Sep 05, 2016 2:11 pm
by Civics14
rimai wrote:Can you post the code you have loaded?
Is it a regular wizard code?
Strange part is that it hasn't changed.

Code: Select all

#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <Globals.h>
#include <RA_Wifi.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <RA_ATO.h>
#include <RA_Joystick.h>
#include <LED.h>
#include <RA_TempSensor.h>
#include <Relay.h>
#include <RA_PWM.h>
#include <Timer.h>
#include <Memory.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_Colors.h>
#include <RA_CustomColors.h>
#include <Salinity.h>
#include <RF.h>
#include <IO.h>
#include <ORP.h>
#include <AI.h>
#include <PH.h>
#include <WaterLevel.h>
#include <Humidity.h>
#include <DCPump.h>
#include <PAR.h>
#include <ReefAngel.h>

////// Place global variable code below here


////// Place global variable code above here


void setup()
{
    // This must be the first line
    ReefAngel.Init();  //Initialize controller
    ReefAngel.PHMin=560;
    ReefAngel.PHMax=794;
    InternalMemory.DCPumpThreshold_write(15);
    ReefAngel.Use2014Screen();  // Let's use 2014 Screen 
    // Ports toggled in Feeding Mode
    ReefAngel.FeedingModePorts = Port4Bit | Port5Bit | Port6Bit;
    // Ports toggled in Water Change Mode
    ReefAngel.WaterChangePorts = Port2Bit | Port3Bit | Port4Bit | Port5Bit | Port6Bit | Port8Bit;
    // Ports toggled when Lights On / Off menu entry selected
    ReefAngel.LightsOnPorts = Port2Bit | Port3Bit;
    // Ports turned off when Overheat temperature exceeded
    ReefAngel.OverheatShutoffPorts = Port1Bit | Port2Bit | Port3Bit | Port4Bit | Port7Bit | Port8Bit;
    // Use T3 probe as temperature and overheat functions
    ReefAngel.TempProbe = T2_PROBE;
    ReefAngel.OverheatProbe = T2_PROBE;
    // Set the Overheat temperature setting
    InternalMemory.OverheatTemp_write( 835 );

    // Feeeding and Water Change mode speed
    ReefAngel.DCPump.FeedingSpeed=16;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.WaterChangeSpeed=0;


    // Ports that are always on
    ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port2 ); //Dimming Module
    ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port4 ); //Skimmer
    ReefAngel.Relay.On( Port8 ); //Return

    ////// Place additional initialization code below here
    

    ////// Place additional initialization code above here
}

void loop()
{
    ReefAngel.StandardHeater( Port1,780,785 );
    ReefAngel.StandardLights( Port3,14,00,21,30 ); // T5
    ReefAngel.StandardLights( Port7,0,30,10,30 ); // Fuge Lamp
    ReefAngel.StandardLights( Port6,15,15,20,45 ); //RW20
    ReefAngel.DCPump.ExpansionChannel[0] = None;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.ExpansionChannel[1] = None;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.ExpansionChannel[2] = None;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.ExpansionChannel[3] = None;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.ExpansionChannel[4] = None;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.ExpansionChannel[5] = None;
    ////// Place your custom code below here
    
    ////// Light Schedule Below
          //Set Channel 0 LED RED
          if (PWMSlope(13,15,22,45,5,85,120,5)<=6) 
          {
            ReefAngel.PWM.SetChannel( 0, 0);
            ReefAngel.PWM.SetChannel( 3, 0);
          }
          else
          {
            ReefAngel.PWM.SetChannel( 0, PWMSlope(13,15,22,45,5,85,120,5) );
            ReefAngel.PWM.SetChannel( 3, PWMSlope(13,15,22,45,5,85,120,5) );
          }
          
          //Set Channel 1 LED WHITE
          if (PWMSlope(13,30,22,30,5,80,120,5)<=6)
          {
            ReefAngel.PWM.SetChannel( 1, 0);
            ReefAngel.PWM.SetChannel( 4, 0);
          }
          else
          {
            ReefAngel.PWM.SetChannel( 1, PWMSlope(13,30,22,30,5,80,120,5) );
            ReefAngel.PWM.SetChannel( 4, PWMSlope(13,30,22,30,5,80,120,5) );
          }
          
          //Set Channel 2 LED BLUE
          if (PWMSlope(13,0,23,0,5,100,120,5)<=6)
          {
            ReefAngel.PWM.SetChannel( 2,0);
            ReefAngel.PWM.SetChannel( 5,0);
          }
          else
          {
            ReefAngel.PWM.SetChannel( 2, PWMSlope(13,0,23,0,5,100,120,5) );
            ReefAngel.PWM.SetChannel( 5, PWMSlope(13,0,23,0,5,100,120,5) );
          }
   ////// End of Light Schedule
      
  //Setting Jebao Pump Wave Patterns

 if (InternalMemory.DCPumpMode_read()==11) //if custom mode on portal
 {
   ReefAngel.DCPump.UseMemory = false;
  if (hour()>=12 && hour()<13 ) // Morning mode between 12pm and 2pm
  {
    ReefAngel.DCPump.SetMode( TidalSwell,80,25 );
  }
     else if (hour()>=13 && hour()<16) // Day mode between 2pm and 4pm
  {
    ReefAngel.DCPump.SetMode( ShortPulse,80,25 );  
  }
     else if (hour()>=16 && hour()<20) // Day mode between 4pm and 8pm
  {
    ReefAngel.DCPump.SetMode( ShortPulse,100,25 );  
  }
     else if (hour()>=20 && hour()<21) // Evening mode between 8pm and 9pm
  {
    ReefAngel.DCPump.SetMode( ShortPulse,80,25 );
  }
     else if (hour()>=21 && hour()<23) //Calming beween 9pm and 11pm
  {
    ReefAngel.DCPump.SetMode( Lagoon,75,20 );  
  }
     else
  {
    ReefAngel.DCPump.SetMode( Lagoon,40,20 );  // Night Mode between 11pm and l2pm
  }  
 }
 else ReefAngel.DCPump.UseMemory = true; //if it's not on custom, use portal program

    ReefAngel.DCPump.DaylightChannel = Sync;
    ReefAngel.DCPump.ActinicChannel = Sync; //use None when inactivated
    
    ////// Place your custom code above here

    // This should always be the last line
    ReefAngel.Portal( "civics14" );
    ReefAngel.ShowInterface();
}


Re: Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Mon Sep 05, 2016 6:37 pm
by rimai
Are you using a hub?
Is the dimming expansion the only expansion module?

Re: Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 1:02 pm
by Civics14
rimai wrote:Are you using a hub?
Is the dimming expansion the only expansion module?
No hub, just the dimming expansion as the only expansion module

Re: Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Thu Sep 08, 2016 8:47 am
by Civics14
any ideas roberto?

Re: Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Fri Sep 09, 2016 5:20 pm
by rimai
Not sure what it is. Did anything change?

Re: Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Sun Nov 27, 2016 7:14 am
by Civics14
Hi Roberto, I found out what's triggering this. Does the RA dimming module get affected by T5's with electronic ballast? The dimming module is controlling analog drivers for my LEDs.

Re: Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Sun Nov 27, 2016 11:34 am
by rimai
I could. You should keep cable away from any ballasts. The USB ones especially.

Re: Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Fri Mar 17, 2017 11:07 pm
by dapg8gt
Old bump for my issue.. My expansion hub causes my extra relay box to flicker as well.. The relays will click every few mins to every few hours but constant. It's as far as I can tell not triggered by anything equipment wise . Took me a bit to find out what was going on but it's Def the expansion hub. I don't notice anything with the other add ons other than I would sometimes get reading of 0 in the levels on Reeftronics randomly.

Box is inside a sealed part of my stand away from the sump chamber so Def don't think water damage.. Any troubleshooting tips? What to look for visually inside the expansion? should I try all new usb cables?

As of now I'm not running any of my expansions other than the relay box..

Re: Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 9:55 am
by rimai
Are you using the original short USB cables?

Re: Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 2:09 am
by dlplunkett44
dapg8gt, did you get this figured out? This is the exact issue I am having - random flickering on different relays every few seconds to hours. I can't imagine there is water damage where I have it mounted.

Re: Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 6:51 am
by Piper
I frequently run into this issue as well. Do you have a standard outlet box or the RANet outlet box? Are you using the expansion hub? Here's a few things to try when the flickering starts up again:

* Try re-seating all of your USB cables and try rearranging the cables in the expansion hub if you have one.
* Try unplugging your modules one by one and see if you can isolate the offending module.
* Even as far as eliminating the expansion hub.
* Try unplugging your hardware (pumps/lights) one by one and see if you can find anything there causing the problem.
* Make sure you don't have USB cables running in parallel with power cables.
* Make sure you're using the original USB cables as well. If not, make sure the cables you're using are as short as possible and have a Ferrite magnet choke on them.
* This one is a long shot but do you have more than one version of the Arduino IDE installed?

I've found that I also have to reboot my RA after making some of the changes listed above to get it to stop the flickering. Let me know what you find out. I'm still having the problem even after going through all of the steps above and would like to know what works or doesn't work for you. I'm pretty sure I've narrowed my problem down to the RA head unit itself at this point.

~Charlie

Re: Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 7:00 am
by Piper
Couple more questions for you: How many relay boxes are you running? If more than one, is the flickering isolated to one box? If so, which one?

Re: Relay box - ports flickering

Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 4:35 pm
by dlplunkett44
So I tried reseating and moving around all of the USB cables. I'm using only the USB cables that came with the system. I currently have an expansion hub with two relay expansion modules, one of the old boxier ones and one newer flatter one. I recently added the newer one but the issues were happening before I added it. I also have a 16 channel dimming expansion. I have not been able to isolate the offending piece yet as I need all of them plugged in to operate my tank. I'm trying to spend more time watching the controller to see if I can see which ones are switching randomly.
I do not have the USB cables running parallel with any power cables but they do cross over. I ordered some ferrite beads but I haven't received them yet.
I'm not sure if it's the same issue or not but I'm also having an issue with random sockets staying on or not turning on when they should, luckly this hasn't happened with the ATO yet, although it scares me thinking about it.