Page 1 of 1

Re: Explain internal memory

Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:58 am
by binder
I actually have all my values stored in internal memory. I don't have any hard-coded values. I like the ability to be able to change them if I ever needed to without reloading my code.

however, if everything is working well with your setup, I would say to leave it alone and not mess with anything unless you wanted to.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

Re: Explain internal memory

Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 4:50 pm
by GermanDude
Agreed.
I have been playing around with saving settings in code and in memory. I am still trying to figure out why my RA reboots when I use the web app.

Other than that I really like the RA.

Re: Explain internal memory

Posted: Wed May 17, 2017 11:05 pm
by jcjrogers
A new question for an old thread... I'm new and have loaded my Webwizard code "in the code" instead of internal memory. The controller shows different parameters than what I put in the code. Some questions:

1. Does my loaded code override whatever is in internal memory?
2. Does the information shown in the Portal and Uapp depict what is in the code or internal memory (relays and such)?
3. Does making a change in internal memory override the code? In other words, if I'm running off code and changed a parameter in internal memory and saved it, will that affect my code?
4. If internal memory interferes with code, is there a way to turn-off?
5. When I decide to convert to internal memory, is there a way to do without re-running the Wizard as re-running the Wizard appears to overwrite any edited or added code?

Re: Explain internal memory

Posted: Thu May 18, 2017 9:38 am
by rimai
Internal memory are a special section of the non volatile memory.
It will get changed only if your code has instructions to do so.
Loading a nornal code will not change it.
The info on the Portal an uApp represent what's in that special area.
The code is loaded into another type of memory.
The controller has 2 types of memories.
Flash: where code resides
EEPROM: where settings resides
If you generate a code with hard coded settings, it will just ignore the internal memory settings. You can change them on any app, but your code will not use them.
If you use internal memory, the controller will use those settings and if you change them in the app, the controller will start using this newly updated settings that you just changed.
Yes, this is the way you can load one code and not have to rerun the wizard to change any settings.

Re: Explain internal memory

Posted: Thu May 18, 2017 1:26 pm
by jcjrogers
Good explanation. It also appears that the small screen on the controller references internal memory and isn't changed by loading normal code. Also, if I want to see which relays are on/off, water level, or anything other than temperature, pH, salinity, etc., it looks like I need to use internal memory. Are both of these assumptions correct?

Lastly, my PC is right next to where I'm going to locate the controller. Since all of this is cloud based (Webwizard, Uapp, and Portal), is there a way to bypass the Cloud Wifi altogether, assuming the USB-TTL cable is always plugged-in to the PC and controller?

Re: Explain internal memory

Posted: Thu May 18, 2017 2:22 pm
by rimai
can you post screen of what you are talking about the RA screen?

Re: Explain internal memory

Posted: Thu May 18, 2017 4:50 pm
by jcjrogers
rimai wrote:can you post screen of what you are talking about the RA screen?
I'm talking about the screen on the controller itself that looks about the size of a large postage stamp. For instance, the light on/off times don't match my code. There are several things in my code that don't show. I could take a picture but don't know if you would really be able to see it. I don't know that I would ever use this. I'm just trying to figure what code will actually run. I haven't hooked anything up yet except the temperature probe as the tank doesn't even have water. I'm just trying to get my ducks in a row before I go live.

Re: Explain internal memory

Posted: Thu May 18, 2017 4:52 pm
by rimai
Exactly that.
We have two different user interfaces.
If you move the joystick to the right or left, does it change anything?

Re: Explain internal memory

Posted: Thu May 18, 2017 5:49 pm
by jcjrogers
Yes, the joystick changes the screen and changes parameters. The problem is, what shows doesn't match my code. It looks like some sort of defaults. For instance, the heater shows on-76.6 and off-77.0. However, in my code I put on-76 and off-80 for two separate heaters (planning to use the heater controllers to hold the temp and use the RA relays as failsafes). I have multiple lighting schedules in my code for LED's, T5's, and refugium, but none of those match the one schedule that shows on the controller's screen.

Now, I didn't save my settings to Internal Memory. I'm just trying to figure out if the controller's screen can only show internal memory parameters or if the parameters showing on screen are really what the controller will carry-out. If that is what the controller is going to carry-out, it doesn't match what I entered into the Webwizard and loaded to the controller.

Re: Explain internal memory

Posted: Thu May 18, 2017 5:53 pm
by rimai
The controller will show whatever is in the memory. If you hard coded, I mentioned above that those settings will be ignored.
It will use whatever your code instructed it to do.
If you use internal memory settings, it will use those settings and they should match to what the portal and app settings show too, because they are going to pull the settings from the RA memory.

Re: Explain internal memory

Posted: Thu May 18, 2017 6:51 pm
by jcjrogers
rimai wrote:The controller will show whatever is in the memory. If you hard coded, I mentioned above that those settings will be ignored.
It will use whatever your code instructed it to do.
If you use internal memory settings, it will use those settings and they should match to what the portal and app settings show too, because they are going to pull the settings from the RA memory.
I read your post above, just didn't follow how that related to what is displayed on the controller itself. I've got it now. Thanks!