Reef Angel Star Controller

Basic / Standard Reef Angel hardware

Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 9:50 pm
Location: Golden, CO
PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:27 pm
What about the vortech rf control at the display? Seems like I would already have to run a cable up there.

Interesting thing about RANet... I work with one of the people who came up with zigbee.
Image

Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 9:50 pm
Location: Golden, CO
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 10:58 pm
Any thoughts on this? What would it take to get the Vortech RF module 30 or so feet from the head unit?
Image

Posts: 12201
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 11:26 pm
Not sure how to do this. We are not even selling RF modules anymore.
They are very closed about their protocol and no help was ever provided. So, we decided not to carry those anymore.
Roberto.

Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 9:50 pm
Location: Golden, CO
PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 9:17 am
I still have one so hopefully it will work. Since I already have a plus I may use it to develop my new setup and switch over to the Star once I am ready and confident I have it all working. At that point I can just use the Plus for the display to control the lighting and the vortechs. I like the idea of having a hardwired controller. The Wifi module was always flaky for me. Though, that could have been routing issues, i've since moved on to Ubiquiti network hardware which was a massive upgrade in stability.
Image

Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 3:46 am
PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2018 1:40 pm
Can the eagle files be uploaded to the website for the star as well as the other missing modules? Looking forward to reviewing them. Thanks!
User avatar
Posts: 5343
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2018 8:59 pm
tkeracer619 wrote:I still have one so hopefully it will work. Since I already have a plus I may use it to develop my new setup and switch over to the Star once I am ready and confident I have it all working. At that point I can just use the Plus for the display to control the lighting and the vortechs. I like the idea of having a hardwired controller. The Wifi module was always flaky for me. Though, that could have been routing issues, i've since moved on to Ubiquiti network hardware which was a massive upgrade in stability.


The RF module still works with my MP40WQD. One thing to note though is that for the QD I had to sync first with the older driver then switch the wireless module back to the QD. The sync software did not trigger anything on the newer driver. Once it was sync'd though, it works great.

Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 9:50 pm
Location: Golden, CO
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2018 10:32 pm
lnevo wrote:
tkeracer619 wrote:I still have one so hopefully it will work. Since I already have a plus I may use it to develop my new setup and switch over to the Star once I am ready and confident I have it all working. At that point I can just use the Plus for the display to control the lighting and the vortechs. I like the idea of having a hardwired controller. The Wifi module was always flaky for me. Though, that could have been routing issues, i've since moved on to Ubiquiti network hardware which was a massive upgrade in stability.


The RF module still works with my MP40WQD. One thing to note though is that for the QD I had to sync first with the older driver then switch the wireless module back to the QD. The sync software did not trigger anything on the newer driver. Once it was sync'd though, it works great.


Good tip!
Image
Previous

Return to Standard

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron