Help with ORP

Basic / Standard Reef Angel hardware

Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 9:50 pm
Location: Golden, CO
PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 7:45 pm
Trying to bring my ORP expansion back online. When I first plugged it in everything seemed to be working (not 0) but the probe was jacked up so I ordered a replacement. I had to go out of state and just left the jacked up probe and the ORP module operating.

Now that I am home ORP is reading 0. I assumed it was due to the probe so installed the fresh one. Still 0.

Interestingly enough the graph feature shows data, even though the display and UAPP show 0.
Image

Searching the forum it looks like using the i2c scanner is one of the first steps. Exactly, how do I do this with the Star controller? The RA Arduino program doesn't list the Star.

Also, I have had this module a long time, I don't recall getting a BNC Terminator but it's been so long I can't tell, It was one of the first ones you ever sold... Is this something I can order or is there a specific one I need to order?

Also... Is this ORP probe good? I don't remember what they looked like but recall it looked different than the PH probe...

Image

Thanks for any help!
Image

Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 9:50 pm
Location: Golden, CO
PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 8:38 pm
Also, if I short the BNC connector and try to calibrate it reads 0...
Image

Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 9:50 pm
Location: Golden, CO
PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 9:03 pm
Nevermind... Just like my Expansion Hub, I decided that even though there was no corrosion or visible ingress to wash the circuit board in rubbing alcohol with a toothbrush. Dried on top of a HVAC vent. Works just fine now... :?

Whatever works I guess :lol:

I need to get some ORP calibration solution. Any recommendations?

Is shorting the BNC an acceptable replacement for the terminator while calibrating?
Image

Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 9:50 pm
Location: Golden, CO
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 9:52 pm
Well... it worked for a week. I guess I need to get a new module.

How do you use the i2c scanner with the star controller?

Is there anything that can be done to troubleshoot it?
Image

Posts: 12525
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 11:42 pm
The terminator is nothing more than a short on the center pin and the outer shell of the port.
You can use a paper clip.
To use the i2cscanner, you need to add this to setup() of the i2cscanner code:
Code: Select all
  DDRH|=(1<<2); // Port PH2 output (Exp Bus Power)
  cbi(PORTH,2); // Turn on exp bus power

RA+ and RA* have the same microprocessor, so just use RA+ as board.
Roberto.

Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 9:50 pm
Location: Golden, CO
PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2019 9:01 pm
Thanks, the ORP module is connected and actually working.

I put the terminator back on and its reading. I think the new probe is faulty.
Image

Return to Standard

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Trevenator and 5 guests