Dimming Expansion Tab

Related to the Portal
Post Reply
divingdon
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 8:35 pm

Dimming Expansion Tab

Post by divingdon »

From the Internal Memory Drop down the dimming expansion tab is only displaying 4 out of the six channels so I cant make adjustments to the last two channels, but from the dashboard I can see all of them and their % power. How can I correct this issue?

Thanks
fckgravity
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 5:11 am

Re: Dimming Expansion Tab

Post by fckgravity »

I have the same issue did you ever get this sorted?
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: Dimming Expansion Tab

Post by lnevo »

You can write to the memory locations directly. I don't have the files in front of me, but you can find all the definitions in Globals\Globals.h

The syntax is

http://reefangelwifi:2000/mbXXX,YYY

Where xxx is the memory location and yyy is the value.

Replace mb with mi if the value is an integer (Mem_I_something)

Replace reefangelwifi with your ip if the dns does not work.

You can leave off ,YYY to query the current setting
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Dimming Expansion Tab

Post by rimai »

Did you try a different browser or decreasing the font size?

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 4
Roberto.
fckgravity
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 5:11 am

Re: Dimming Expansion Tab

Post by fckgravity »

Yes just tried Firefox, Internet explorer and Safari. Firefox and IE both get 4 channels two show (regardless of font size) and Safari on my Iphone gets 3.
fckgravity
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 5:11 am

Re: Dimming Expansion Tab

Post by fckgravity »

lnevo-

I am totally new to this, is there any way you can explain a little more on writing to the memory location?
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: Dimming Expansion Tab

Post by lnevo »

rimai wrote:Did you try a different browser or decreasing the font size?

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 4
I've only seen 4 max...
User avatar
lnevo
Posts: 5430
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am

Re: Dimming Expansion Tab

Post by lnevo »

fckgravity wrote:lnevo-

I am totally new to this, is there any way you can explain a little more on writing to the memory location?
Won't be able to for a bit...maybe someone else can explain it before i get home..
binder
Posts: 2871
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: Dimming Expansion Tab

Post by binder »

When the apps send commands to the controller to update/write the values to the internal memory locations, there is a certain structure that needs to be followed: (see this link for more info on all the commands: http://forum.reefangel.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1541)

Like was stated earlier, when writing the values, you must specify the memory location and it's size (either byte or integer). An example would be to change the standard lights ON hour:

Code: Select all

http://YOURIP:2000/mb204,8
This command changes the ON HOUR for the Standard Lights function to 8am. The location is 204 and it is a BYTE sized location.
Byte locations only take up 1 memory space.
Integer locations take up 2 memory spaces.
The amount of space it takes up determines the value that can be stored. Byte locations can store a value from 0-255 and integer locations can store a value from 0-32767. As you can see, Integers can store larger numbers.
The memory locations are based on their functions. There's no reason to take 2 memory spaces (Integer size) to store the value for the Standard Lights ON Hour because that value can only be from 0-23. If we used 2 spaces, there would be wasted space/memory.

Yes, it does get a little confusing, however the memory locations are clearly labeled in the Globals.h file. There's an I in the name for Integer (meaning 2 spaces) and a B in the name for Byte. Also, my Java Status App has the memory locations referenced in it as well as my Android app.

Now, back to the commands...
All the applications use the same URL formatted string to update/write the memory locations. I previously showed how to set a BYTE variable. It was:

Code: Select all

http://YOURIP:2000/mb204,8
To set an INTEGER variable, such as the Wavemaker 1 Timer, you would do this:

Code: Select all

http://YOURIP:2000/mi208,500
As you can see, the INTEGER command is an /mi and the BYTE command is an /mb.

Hopefully that helps out a little more with writing memory locations.
rimai
Posts: 12881
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm

Re: Dimming Expansion Tab

Post by rimai »

I fixed the width of the Portal.
When I added the DC Pump section, it became too small to fit everything.
Roberto.
fckgravity
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 5:11 am

Re: Dimming Expansion Tab

Post by fckgravity »

Thanks for the help everyone, its all good now.
Post Reply