Alternate Portal

Related to the Portal

Posts: 12272
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2014 8:50 am
And you said that it does the same thing when using an internal ip as well?
I just want to eliminate the loopback issue.
Did you try sniffing the network traffic to see if the server is getting any connection at all, even if it is broken?
Roberto.
User avatar
Posts: 2743
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2014 9:49 am
rimai wrote:And you said that it does the same thing when using an internal ip as well?
I just want to eliminate the loopback issue.
Did you try sniffing the network traffic to see if the server is getting any connection at all, even if it is broken?

Correct. internal and external ip yields same result. not a loopback issue. my router handles the loopback appropriately.

no, i have not sniffed any network traffic yet. that will be the next step. i was also going to try to use the wifi utility to reprogram my wifi module thinking that may help. i will see what i come up with today.
User avatar
Posts: 2743
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2014 1:01 pm
I figured out my problem and got things working. I used the wifi utility to program my module so I could see how the defaults were set. Turns out, I was only doing half of what I needed to do in regards to getting it to update. Now I haven't tested this more because it is working, but this is what I needed to do. I needed to change the host ip to my public ip and my host dns name to my public domain name.
Code: Select all
set ip host XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX
set dns name my.domain.name

I'm sure I could have set things to be based solely on my internal network but I opted to go this route. I will have to test more in the future. As soon as I plugged the module back into my controller and started viewing my webserver logs, I could see the requests and commands coming through just fine. So I know that works now and that I can receive the data from the controller. On to pulling the data from my database..... :ugeek:
User avatar
Posts: 2743
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2014 7:31 pm
success!!!

i now have my own portal logging my data for me. i can receive the data from my controller and i can pull the data from it using my android app (i have it tweaked to work with my portal specifically though for testing).

i don't have anything being displayed on the webserver for my portal other than listing what devices are connected and giving a form to add a new device. this can be fixed in the future though.

the good news is everything works and can be deployed easily for people. so you could run your own custom portal/data logger on something like a raspberry pi (hence my internal name raPiPortal). i have to continue to tweak the main page and the settings and everything but it's looking pretty good and working fairly well for me so far. this could be great for those with multiple devices (like a fish shop or dealer or something) or someone who wants to keep all their data "in-house" and do other things with the data.

anyways, just thought i'd share my progress. :geek:

Posts: 12272
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2014 7:44 pm
Awesome!!!
Roberto.
User avatar
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 2:52 pm
PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2015 10:24 am
Just wanted to stick my head in this and announce I'd be very interested in this feature, even if it required some legwork.

I'd be much more comfortable in the security of my tank if I could have the WiFi module communicating with a webserver on my LAN, behind my firewall, to avoid the port-forwarding and the reliance on basic HTTP auth to protect my tank from unauthorized tinkering.

If you were willing to share the changes you made to the libraries, the configuration you passed with the WiFi utility, and the code running on your webserver, I'd be very grateful.
User avatar
Posts: 2743
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2015 7:33 pm
joshlawless wrote:Just wanted to stick my head in this and announce I'd be very interested in this feature, even if it required some legwork.

I'd be much more comfortable in the security of my tank if I could have the WiFi module communicating with a webserver on my LAN, behind my firewall, to avoid the port-forwarding and the reliance on basic HTTP auth to protect my tank from unauthorized tinkering.

If you were willing to share the changes you made to the libraries, the configuration you passed with the WiFi utility, and the code running on your webserver, I'd be very grateful.

sure thing.

i just pushed the webserver code to my github account:
https://github.com/curtbinder/rapiportal

i added comments to the README file on how to set it up. hopefully i got all the steps in there. i haven't really messed with this since last year. i was going on my comments and code.

this is just a bare basics start. my php skills are very limited. i also have not updated the database code to reflect the newer fields in the database.

also, i believe you need to create the "device" in the database first. the "device" is the name you use inside the Portal("username"); command. Typically that is your portal username but this custom portal will allow you to have multiple devices all sending data to it. so you can create your own names and such.

feel free to look around the code and test it out and all. i may add in more comments about setting it up and possibly fill in the missing database fields for it to handle....just depends on what all i have going on this weekend. if i get the backend working good, then the main thing would be to get a simple frontend created for displaying the data. i know it sends the data out just fine when queried because i had it working with my android app.

anyways, let me know if you have questions.

Posts: 411
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 5:02 pm
Location: CT, USA
PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2015 6:30 am
following..

Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 3:16 am
PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2018 10:16 am
Is this ready to be used? I am getting a raspberry pi and would love to be able to log all of the data and make graphs over time.
User avatar
Posts: 2743
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2018 7:18 pm
dlplunkett44 wrote:Is this ready to be used? I am getting a raspberry pi and would love to be able to log all of the data and make graphs over time.
I haven't worked on it in a while. it needs to be updated to handle the newer commands. It also does not have any specific interface for it. I didn't have a lot of time for it and there didn't seem to be a lot of interest in it either.
Do you have any coding experience? would you be able to help?

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
PreviousNext

Return to Portal

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron