Connection Status:Unreachable Address & WiFi problems

Related to the Portal

Posts: 12166
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 9:14 am
It has to be a routing problem when the traffic reaches SA.
Here is a tracert of the packet from here to your RA:
Tracing route to xxxxxxx [197.228.xxx.xxx]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 69.198.171.165
2 4 ms 5 ms 4 ms 172.28.141.148
3 6 ms * 6 ms 192.168.67.94
4 6 ms 6 ms 6 ms 209.49.249.93
5 26 ms 7 ms 7 ms ae1d0.mcr1.fremont-ca.us.xo.net [216.156.1.69]
6 12 ms 10 ms 11 ms vb1500.rar3.sanjose-ca.us.xo.net [216.156.0.137]
7 7 ms 7 ms 7 ms 207.88.14.226.ptr.us.xo.net [207.88.14.226]
8 7 ms 7 ms 7 ms 129.250.9.65
9 8 ms 7 ms 7 ms 129.250.5.52
10 81 ms 79 ms 79 ms 129.250.4.102
11 171 ms * 162 ms 129.250.2.145
12 164 ms 170 ms 163 ms 129.250.2.159
13 167 ms 166 ms 166 ms 81.20.67.226
14 372 ms 374 ms 372 ms tpr-ip-esr-6-pos-6-0-0.telkom-ipnet.co.za [196.43.26.46]
15 377 ms 370 ms 377 ms telkom-sa-mcnet-gw.telkom-ipnet.co.za [196.25.49.74]
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 2206 ms 594 ms 539 ms 8ta-228-32-06.telkomadsl.co.za [197.228.xxx.xxx]

Trace complete.


The packets start to get dropped when they reach SA, especially when it gets to your router.
I've seen this happening once in the past and it was related to 3G router connection.
The person was in Thailand, not SA though, but I think it is the same problem.
I think in his case, he confirmed the connection problem when he took his RA to someone's house and used a different internet provider and things started working.
Roberto.

Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:14 am
PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 9:38 am
Packet loss could be the isp shaping your line. Common practice in sa. I have noticed the internet very sliw the last few days.

Sent from my GT-I9500 using Tapatalk
User avatar
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 2:19 am
Location: South Africa
PostPosted: Sat Dec 21, 2013 3:33 am
Roberto, I think there is a problem with my WiFi Module.
If I ping the mode I get time outs
Image
Image
User avatar
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 2:19 am
Location: South Africa
PostPosted: Sat Dec 21, 2013 3:42 am
This is what I get when pinging the WiFi module...
Image
Image
User avatar
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 2:19 am
Location: South Africa
PostPosted: Sat Dec 21, 2013 3:46 am
I don't get any packing lost when pinging other devices on my WiFi network... its only the WiFi model...?
I updated the WiFi module too but it still does the same...

Attached is the tera term macro file I use to update and program the chips.
To execute, open tera term and go to menu Control->Macro

Or manually, try these commands:
set ftp address 198.175.253.161
set dns name www.reefangel.com
ftp u
save
reboot

Connect again and use this:
set w j 1
set i r 80
set i f 0x06
set s t 0x10
set u m 2
set i p 2
set c s 1420
save
reboot
Image
User avatar
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 2:19 am
Location: South Africa
PostPosted: Sat Dec 21, 2013 4:12 am
Image
Image
User avatar
Posts: 5339
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Sat Dec 21, 2013 6:43 am
Your picture links are all broken. The packetloss described was between you and your isp, not on your internal network.
User avatar
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 2:19 am
Location: South Africa
PostPosted: Sat Dec 21, 2013 9:15 am
Weird I can see the pictures... I get packet-loss if I ping my RA WiFi module...
Image
User avatar
Posts: 5339
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Sat Dec 21, 2013 9:22 am
The images are from another forum and they only work if you are logged in to mysaltyforum.com

If you can't ping your module than the ip may have changed...is your module blinking green or blue. Blue is not good.

Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:14 am
PostPosted: Sat Dec 21, 2013 9:45 am
I can see the pictures.

Sent from my GT-I9500 using Tapatalk
PreviousNext

Return to Portal

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest