Our DDNS service

Related to the Portal

Posts: 12200
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2014 8:50 am
Hi everyone,

As many of you may have experienced, the problem with noip affected a bunch of us that use or used their DDNS service to resolve ip addresses.
Due to this issue, I decided that it was time to research for our own solution and I'm glad to report that we will be resolving ip addresses now :)
I've implemented our own DDNS service that is integrated with your controller and Portal.
This service will be available to anyone that owns a Reef Angel at no additional cost. Yay!! Free DDNS service that is easy to use :)
I have patched our libraries and this implementation will be pushed in the next upcoming libraries update 1.1.1, but I'd like to have a couple people test it before it is released. So, if you would like to test it, grab the latest dev branch from github.
All you will need to add to your code to enable the DDNS service is this line either in setup() or loop(), but setup would be preferred.
Code: Select all
ReefAngel.DDNS("subdomain");

Where you can change "subdomain" to whatever you choose to make it a unique to you.
Next time your controller sends data to the Portal, it will also create/update the DDNS record.
Your DDNS record will be your forum username with a "-" and the "subdomain" word you choose above followed by .myreefangel.com
For example, if I were to choose the word "home", my DDNS record would be rimai-home.myreefangel.com
Please let us know if you get to try it and how it works out for you.
Roberto.
User avatar
Posts: 2732
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2014 9:07 am
This is an excellent idea. I think it is fantastic and will work out great for people!

I fully support this. 8-)

On a side note, I will still be maintaining the alternative DDNS domain name for people to use who cannot run the latest libraries due to their limitations of their controllers (ie, standard RA's).

In true RA fashion, we have multiple options to go with now. Pretty awesome! :mrgreen:
User avatar
Posts: 5343
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2014 9:40 am
Yes very nice. And also good for people who may be setting up tanks where they don't have anyway to run a DDNS client, etc.

Great job!
User avatar
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2014 10:18 am
Great Idea Roberto.
I can't wait for the 1.1.1 libraries to come out.
Between this and the server authentication, some cool stuff happening.

Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 7:58 pm
PostPosted: Sat Jul 12, 2014 4:08 pm
Sigh... Another reason to upgrade to plus
User avatar
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL
PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2014 6:21 pm
DDNS has been working great until the power went out today.
The wireless router and internet are all back up and running and the portal does show I'm connected with a different IP address then before, expect anything the used my DNS name set up here is not working.

The Android, U-App and my IP Camera will only connect with the internal IP address or the current external IP address, but not the DNS name.

It shouldn't be an issue with the new IP address propagating thru the internet. That's the point of the DNS name, it's already propagated thru the internet and when it gets a new IP address from the WiFi unit it makes that change automatically.

Reeftronics is still showing my dns name as having and IP address of 65.3.96.176.

Again I;m sure it's something over her, I just don't know what.
I've rebooted about 3-4 time and no difference.

Thanks for the help.
User avatar
Posts: 5343
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2014 7:05 pm
Sounds like the ttl for the records arent set correctly.
User avatar
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL
PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2014 5:36 am
It's working now. So either Roberto fixed the issue or it took some time to make it's way thru the internet.
I hope Roberto fixed it because waiting a 1/2 to full day for an IP change to make it's way thru the internet shouldn't have to happen.
User avatar
Posts: 5343
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2014 6:33 am
Doing a query on your hostname, the TTL is set for 3600 which is 60 minutes.
User avatar
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:25 am
Location: Davie, FL
PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2014 6:54 am
So there should only be a delay in finding the new IP address for 1 hour.

Bot it certainly seemed like longer than that.
Next

Return to Portal

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron