Unreachable Address in Portal

Related to the Portal

Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 6:38 pm
PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2015 7:53 am
Hi,

I finally got my wifi up and running (almost killed me...old guy not up to speed on the tech stuff :)) but now my portal says unreachable yet i can access and control via my ipad/iphone. how is this possible and how do i set up the portal?

Thanks
Image

Posts: 12270
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2015 9:36 am
You need to make sure to setup port forwarding in your router.
If your router is one of those provided by your internet provider, they can help you with that.
Or you can call the manufacturer of the router too.
All routers are set by default to block any incoming access and assume they are all malicious.
Port forwarding will tell the router that any traffic coming in a specific predefined port is not malicious and should be forwarded to your wifi attachment.
So, when you call them, make sure to tell them you want to setup port forwarding and this is what they will need:
Protocol: TCP
Port: 2000
IP Address: the same ip address you are using on your iphone/ipad.
While you are at it, ask them to setup a dhcp reservation by mac address on your router too to avoid the ip address to change.
This way, even if your router looses power, it will always assign the wifi attachment with the same ip address and you won't need to call them again to setup port forwarding again.
Roberto.

Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 6:38 pm
PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2015 9:48 am
thank you Roberto, i will call them.

Cheers
Image

Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 6:38 pm
PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2015 10:09 am
apparently, port forwarding is not an option with my service provider! is there an alternet method or am i out of luck?
Image
User avatar
Posts: 1426
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City
PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2015 10:20 am
What kind of router?

Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 6:38 pm
PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2015 10:45 am
not sure, its from my service provider and they aren't too helpful. I will poke around.

Thanks
Image
User avatar
Posts: 1426
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Oklahoma City
PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2015 12:37 pm
Look on the bottom of the router. It should have a manufacturer and model #.

Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 6:38 pm
PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2015 1:00 pm
got it thanks!!!

Now id like to figure out how to add custom fields next to the ports on iphone app? Can you help with that Reef Angel gurus? :)
Image

Posts: 12270
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2015 4:59 pm
You can change them in the portal and download in the phone app.
Roberto.

Posts: 173
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 6:38 pm
PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2015 5:36 pm
thank you
Image
Next

Return to Portal

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron