water level sensor pipe diameter

Expansion modules and attachments
User avatar
Posts: 2628
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:35 am
i’m gonna work on my own dosing containers and i plan on using the water level sensors. i know the 1/2” pipe is recommended but i wanted to use something different. i was hoping to use like a 1/4” or 3/16” tube with the air hose connected to it, so i have a small footprint in my container. will this work or not? i haven’t had time to test on my setup so i figured i would ask first and i didn’t find anything concrete on here.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Posts: 11929
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 9:28 pm
It doesn't work.
There is not enough pressure in a such small tubing.
You would need a custom module with more sensitive sensors.
Roberto.
User avatar
Posts: 2628
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 5:21 am
ok. good to know. so the minimum pipe diameter that will currently work is the 1/2". thanks!

doing something like this with the more sensitive sensor could be something that might be of interest to people...might be something to look into pricing for it. just a thought.

anyways, thanks for the info!

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

Posts: 11929
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 11:29 am
It is very expensive for a more sensitive sensor :( It costs 3 times more.
I think it would be cheaper to use etape.
Roberto.

Posts: 11929
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 11:37 am
etape is even more expensive :(
Roberto.
User avatar
Posts: 2628
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 6:28 pm
rimai wrote:It is very expensive for a more sensitive sensor :( It costs 3 times more.
I think it would be cheaper to use etape.
holy cow! oh well, thanks for checking! I've got an idea for what I can do and it will just require using the 1/2" pipe.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
User avatar
Posts: 5337
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 5:48 pm
would a wider diameter work better and give us better granularity for deeper measurement? or wouldn't do anything different?

Posts: 11929
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 6:40 pm
For deeper measurements, you actually need the opposite.
The wider the diameter, the more displacement of air and thus more pressure you are going to generate.
You need a sensor that will read more pressure.
The one we use now is 0.57psi. For deeper measurements, you may create more pressure than that and for small tubing, you don't create not nearly enough pressure.
But, if you use a lesser diameter for a deeper measurement, it may work good for you with the current sensor.
Roberto.
User avatar
Posts: 5337
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:42 am
PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 8:09 am
Hmm so maybe a John Guest 1/4" -> 3/8" and a 3/8" rigid tube?

Posts: 11929
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:47 pm
PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 9:39 am
It should work.
Roberto.
Next

Return to Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron