Salinity Probe

Expansion modules and attachments
Post Reply
ucez
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 5:58 am

Salinity Probe

Post by ucez »

I added relay expansion, power control expansion, and salinity expansion. Having 2 issues 1) salinity probe calibration stability and 2) both the salinity probe and ph probe seem to be oscillating between on/off same period, same length of time...Trying to figure out #2 before sorting out #1. If you look at web chart it's really obvious. File is attached.
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (35.55 KiB) Viewed 8439 times
ucez
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 5:58 am

Re: Salinity Probe

Post by ucez »

Any ideas?
binder
Posts: 2871
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: Salinity Probe

Post by binder »

have you tried isolating the expansion modules? like just add 1 at a time and check how it does. so remove the extras and just put the salinity probe in and see if everything still oscillates the same.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
ucez
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 5:58 am

Re: Salinity Probe

Post by ucez »

A new pattern has emerged, salinity still oscillating, but pH is now off (reading 1). I disconnected all the expansions, but pH is still not working.
ucez
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 5:58 am

Re: Salinity Probe

Post by ucez »

I tried going back to original set up and old code. No luck, pH reading 1. Tried different pH probe as well.
ucez
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 5:58 am

Re: Salinity Probe

Post by ucez »

Saga continues, salinity oscillating, pH not working at all. Maybe I have the connections wrong. Here's what I've got...

RA to main relay
main relay to expansion hub
expansion hub to relay box 1
expansion hub to power control expansion
expansion hub to salinity expansion
The power control expansion power is from the main relay
The salinity expansion power is from the power control expansion.

Below is my code.

Code: Select all

#include <ReefAngel_Features.h>
#include <Globals.h>
#include <RA_Wifi.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <Time.h>
#include <DS1307RTC.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_NokiaLCD.h>
#include <RA_ATO.h>
#include <RA_Joystick.h>
#include <LED.h>
#include <RA_TempSensor.h>
#include <Relay.h>
#include <RA_PWM.h>
#include <Timer.h>
#include <Memory.h>
#include <InternalEEPROM.h>
#include <RA_Colors.h>
#include <RA_CustomColors.h>
#include <Salinity.h>
#include <RF.h>
#include <IO.h>
#include <ORP.h>
#include <AI.h>
#include <PH.h>
#include <WaterLevel.h>
#include <Humidity.h>
#include <DCPump.h>
#include <PAR.h>
#include <ReefAngel.h>

////// Place global variable code below here

// Define Relay Ports by Name
#define Return_Pump     1
#define Extra1          2
#define Skimmer         3
#define Heater          4
#define Fuge_Light      5
#define GFO_Pump        6
#define SaltMixPump     7
#define PowerCtlExp     8



//Define Relay 1 Ports by Name
#define FragHeater      Box1_Port1
#define FragPowerhead   Box1_Port2
#define FragLED1        Box1_Port3
#define WaterChange     Box1_Port4
#define FragLED2        Box1_Port5
#define FragFilter      Box1_Port6
#define BrutePump       Box1_Port7
#define SaltUV          Box1_Port8

//Define Power Control Expansion Ports by Name
#define SalinityExp     Box2_Port1

////// Place global variable code above here


void setup()
{
  // This must be the first line
  ReefAngel.Init();  //Initialize controller
  ReefAngel.Use2014Screen();  // Let's use 2014 Screen 
  ReefAngel.AddSalinityExpansion();  // Salinity Expansion Module
  // Ports toggled in Feeding Mode
  ReefAngel.FeedingModePorts = Port1Bit | Port3Bit;
  // Ports toggled in Water Change Mode
  ReefAngel.WaterChangePorts = Port1Bit | Port3Bit;
  // Ports toggled when Lights On / Off menu entry selected
  ReefAngel.LightsOnPorts = 0;
  // Ports turned off when Overheat temperature exceeded
  ReefAngel.OverheatShutoffPorts = Port4Bit;
  // Use T1 probe as temperature and overheat functions
  ReefAngel.TempProbe = T1_PROBE;
  ReefAngel.OverheatProbe = T1_PROBE;
  // Set the Overheat temperature setting
  InternalMemory.OverheatTemp_write( 869 );


  // Ports that are always on
  ReefAngel.Relay.On( Return_Pump );
  ReefAngel.Relay.On( FragPowerhead);
  ReefAngel.Relay.On( WaterChange);
  ReefAngel.Relay.On( BrutePump);
  ReefAngel.Relay.On( FragFilter);
  ReefAngel.Relay.On( GFO_Pump);
  ReefAngel.Relay.On( SaltMixPump);
  ReefAngel.Relay.On( Extra1);
  ReefAngel.Relay.On( PowerCtlExp);
  ReefAngel.Relay.On( SalinityExp);
  ReefAngel.Relay.On( SaltUV);
  ////// Place additional initialization code below here


  ////// Place additional initialization code above here
}

void loop()
{
  ReefAngel.Relay.DelayedOn( Skimmer,10 );
  ReefAngel.StandardHeater( Heater,750,790 );
  ReefAngel.StandardLights( Fuge_Light,21,0,11,0 );
  ReefAngel.StandardLights( FragLED1,12,0,21,0);
  ReefAngel.StandardLights( FragLED2,15,0,18,0);

  ////// Place your custom code below here

  //if Display Water Level Sensor Active, then turn off Return pump
  if (!ReefAngel.HighATO.IsActive()) ReefAngel.Relay.Off(Return_Pump);
  else ReefAngel.Relay.On(Return_Pump);
 
  //If Skimmate Water Level Sensor Active, then turn of Skimmer pump
  if (!ReefAngel.LowATO.IsActive()) ReefAngel.Relay.Off(Skimmer);
  else ReefAngel.Relay.On(Skimmer);

  //frag tank heater control with T2 probe
  if (ReefAngel.Params.Temp[T2_PROBE]>790) ReefAngel.Relay.Off( FragHeater );
  if (ReefAngel.Params.Temp[T2_PROBE]<750) ReefAngel.Relay.On( FragHeater );
  
  //Enter feeding mode to correspond with automatic feeder at 11AM and 2PM
  if(hour()==11 && minute()==0 && second()==0) ReefAngel.FeedingModeStart();
  if(hour()==14 && minute()==0 && second()==0) ReefAngel.FeedingModeStart();

  ////// Place your custom code above here

  // This should always be the last line
  ReefAngel.Portal( "xxxxx" );
  ReefAngel.DDNS( "yyyyy" ); // Your DDNS is xxxx-yyyyy.myreefangel.com
  ReefAngel.ShowInterface();
}
Is there a way to "reset" the RA to start fresh? Note I already tried removing all the new expansions and loading the old code. pH was still dead...
binder
Posts: 2871
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: Salinity Probe

Post by binder »

to reset to a fresh start, inside the arduino app, there is a restore preloaded code option that will do just that.

i would also suggest trying to not have your expansion power devices plugged into the ra, just in case there is some sort of interference. so plug your salinity module into the wall or another power strip (this is what i do).
now i have had some intermittent issues with my salinity probe, so if you haven’t calibrated it, you could try that again.

as for the ph probe, look at the probe and make sure it’s not damaged or broken. probes wear out over time and need to be recalibrated or replaced (i’m sure you already knew that but i’m just stating it again).

that’s all the suggestions that i have. maybe someone else has more ideas.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
ucez
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 5:58 am

Re: Salinity Probe

Post by ucez »

It's definitely not the probe, tried 3, all read 1.00. I restored the preloaded code and plugged the salinity expansion into a power strip, no change. pH is still reading 1.00.
ucez
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 5:58 am

Re: Salinity Probe

Post by ucez »

Plugging the expansions into separate power strip seems have stabilized the readings. pH slowly climbed from 1 to 5.1, still off, but at least it's reading...will try to recalibrate and see what happens.
binder
Posts: 2871
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:20 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: Salinity Probe

Post by binder »

that is interesting to know.
ucez
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 5:58 am

Re: Salinity Probe

Post by ucez »

pH has definitely stabilized, so that's good. However, salinity is still variable, bounces from 26 - 36. Is this typical?
Post Reply